We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mini vacation”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

To celebrate our friend's and my husband's birthday we stayed overnight at the Parkside in downtown Victoria. Our friends live in Richmond, B,C, so they came across to Vancouver Island on the ferry and we picked them up. We got a two bedroom condo at the Parkside and parked our car and just enjoyed! The condo was wonderful and it had a large balcony that overlooked the surrounding lovely area.

We took advantage of walking uptown to eat, swam in the pool, used the exercise room and just enjoyed our time . The hotel has a magnificent lobby and is central to everything you would want. The staff were nice and the price was very reasonable. We only stayed one night but it seemed like a two night stay because we just hung out. I would recommend this place as a great get away for even people living in Victoria ...try it!

Room Tip: The higher you can go the better and to ask for a city view. We overlooked St. Ann's Academy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so happy we could be a part of your birthday celebrations! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the view from our large balconies, our three-storey indoor Atrium lobby, and our central location. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    464
    128
    69
    43
See reviews for
741
659
59
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here about 10 times.

I like: the beautiful, modern decor of the lobby and rooms. The amenities in the room (two flat screens, fireplaces, heated floor, kitchen facilities). It feels like a show home. Very clean every time. I like the location and the view. Much more comfy and relaxing than a "regular" hotel room.

Needs improvement: reservations-disconnected calls and/or longer wait than I would like. Sometimes no one at reception when you arrive. Elevator and/or room keys malfunction an inordinate number of times. Staff seem stretched to provide service (I have never been treated rudely but there have been quite a few times where they seemed to need more staff to meet the guests' basic needs). Others have said they find the walls thin/noise issues.

Obviously I have overall found this to be a great choice since I kept coming back. I keep meaning to check out the pool and movie theater, the latter being a very unique and welcome option. Have not tried the on-site cafe yet.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you, Richelle, for writing this review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so glad that you enjoy the hotel’s relaxing, comfy, and clean suites. We appreciate that you keep coming back to stay with us and thank you for your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways we can improve and go above and beyond expectations. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I'll start out with one small criticism...the suites could be a bit more sound proofed, but that being said, the building is quiet and the pool & jacuzzi make up for hearing your neighbors' dishes clink as they're eating dinner. You also can't knock the kitchenette, as you can save tons of money with an eat in breakfast. The hotel runs movies every night in their private theater and the lobby is so lovely you can just sit around and enjoy it for a couple of hours. I visited the spa and had a fabulous experience...I recommend it highly. Request a room that doesn't face Blanshard Street or is on the upper floors, if you want to avoid street noise. The hotel is well situated for enjoying everything Victoria has to offer.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the three-storey Atrium and spa. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great resort hotel in down town Victoria with great amenities. Spent two nights there in a one bedroom suite. Within walking distance to the harbor and tourist sights of Victoria. The weather was sunny and warm. The room was very well appointed with two TVs and two gas fireplaces.Worth staying at .

Room Tip: all rooms are one or two bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDREW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much, Andrew, for writing this review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location as well as our cozy fireplaces. Hopefully you can stay with us again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel over the weekend.What a fabulous suite hotel.The rooms were well appointed with firm but comfortable beds.They were outfitted with nice quality sheets and pillows.We found the room very quiet with very little noise transfer side to side or floor to floor.It had a large balcony with table and chairs which we used every evening for a drink before dinner.The staff were pleasant and professional.We met several staff members and all were smiling and looked you in the eye when addressing you,what a pleasant experience.We go to Victoria for a break usually once or twice a year and have mostly stayed at the Marriott on the same street but we will always stay at the Parkside from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwoodMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review of The Parkside. It is great that you enjoyed the quality furnishings in our modern suites, as well as the balcony overlooking the city. We are especially pleased to hear that our Guest Services team impressed you. We look forward to having you back on your next getaway to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Parkside for a week in the summer of 2012 and had a great experience! The hotel is fairly new, so all the furniture and fixtures in the room were stylish and in great condition. It was a great value for the price paid. The room was very spacious, with our own fully equiped kitchen, separate bedroom area, two bathrooms and huge tub. Also loved the balcony with great views of the harbor. It really felt like a home away from home. I also enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and fitness center. The location of the hotel was also great - just a 5 minute walk from main attractions. Only negative was the weak wifi signal, but other than that, big thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Erika. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay -- including the modern decor, large suites, free-standing soaker tubs, and a few of our amenities. We hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire at the last minute - a bit of a risk - but since I was only staying one night and planned to spend little time at or in the hotel, I figured what the heck. I arrived early (noon-ish) expecting to have them hold my luggage until early evening. I was pleasantly surprised when told they had a room available immediately. Once I entered the room I immediately began to regret that I would only stay one night and spend little time in the hotel. The room was a mini-apartment with an eat-in kitchen, living room with fireplace, French doors to the bedroom with a king size bed and another fireplace. The balcony of my room overlooked a garden area. The plush terrycloth robe was a nice touch and the bed was quite comfortable.

Just a few blocks off the inner harbor (something I might have originally thought was a minor negative turned out to be quite positive when I realized those on the harbor would be getting fog horns all night due to the weather). The atrium was stunning, the staff were efficient, capable and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAK_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, we are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised by your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our full-suite accommodations, our beautiful three-storey atrium, and our excellent guest services staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing