We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and excellent staff:)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and excellent staff:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice now and both experiences have been great. The rooms are extremely convenient with in room laundry, and spacious. Lots of parking, and a great swimming pool. I found the staff very friendly, and would definitely would go back. It was a very quite and peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you, Alli, for returning to The Parkside Hotel & Spa for a second time and for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our spacious home-away-from-home suites, or 25-metre ozonated pool, and our friendly Guest Services team. We definitely welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    436
    124
    65
    41
See reviews for
697
624
58
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is fabulous Hotel. It is in the centre of Victoria and within walking distance of the harbour. We had a balcony with table and chairs. The room was fitted out with a kitchen area and had a washing machine. Great for towards the end of a wonderful trip for getting the washing done. The hotel has a lovely breakfast area but does not do other meals. It has a snack bar. It also has free wi-fi - an added bonus so far from home. The hotel is very environmental friendly and is home to some lovely goldfish. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All are great, any one will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat44007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location, our free wi-fi, and our indoor/outdoor koi fish ponds. We would love to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enjoyed Parkside last summer and are currently enjoying it again. Our two bedroom unit is beautiful, and the views of the beautifully lit Parliament building at night are gorgeous. We particularly enjoy the swimming pool and the fitness center as two of the very fine amenities. If you are a swimmer, you will really appreciate the pool and the opportunity to swim laps for exercise. While we don't take advantage of the free movies each night, the theater is comfortable and convenient.

We appreciate the beautiful orchids and other vegetation in the atrium and foray. It is always fun watching kids watch the koi in the pools.

We find all the staff very helpful and friendly.

We are here in July and do not find it at all uncomfortable. Air conditioning has not been needed. Others have identified the lack of air conditioning as a problem in their Trip Advisor reviews, but we haven't found it so.

The location is so convenient to everything in Victoria, especially to all the events such as the recent Buskers festival in the Inner Harbor. And there are so many good restaurants in the area!

Room Tip: We really enjoy our corner suite--lots of windows and lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Parkside Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor again, Kathy. Your feedback is very appreciated. We're so happy to hear that you made good use of our 25-metre ozonated pool, enjoyed the beautiful plants in the Atrium, and had great experiences with our Guest Services team. We hope to have you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I LOVED it. I really enjoyed being there and I will make sure to stay there next time. It is luxurious, good price, swimming pool and spa and the lobby is astonishing and relaxing.

They have garden floor and great coffee shop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayef8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for providing TripAdvisor readers with your feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed our 25-metre ozonated pool, The Parkside Spa, and our indoor Atrium lobby.

We hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this location. It was a very comfortable place in the center of Victoria close to the Inner Harbor. The place had a very romantic cafe for some unusual food selections. We were there when it was quite hot in Victoria. We were informed there was no air conditioning but we did not miss it, we left our windows open at night and throughout the day we kept the curtains closed to keep the sun and heat out. There was a wonderful 50 m. swimming pool as well as a fitness center. We had a 2-bedroom apartment - we needed a 3rd bed which was avalable as a folding bed in the living room area. No complaints about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for going out of your way to share your positive experience at The Parkside Hotel & Spa! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, our 25-metre ozonated pool, and our fitness centre. We certainly hope that you will return to The Parkside in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We needed two beds. So I would have to upgrade to a two bedroom suite. One bedroom suites only come with one bed. My wife has physical challenges, disclosed at booking. No accommodation of those needs. The Disabled parking is near an elevator but the doors do not have power operators. Got the feeling this place is going to convert to a condo. The room had a one bedroom condo feel. Good bathroom, Good Kitchen and well appointed. Just didn't want to spend $200 more per night for an added bed.
To access the Spa you walk through an Atrium with all the other non guests.

If they wanted to this could be four or five stars.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Blue Fox. Lunch at Red Fish Blue Fish. Eat at 10 Acres as many times as you can, an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canad_ian1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Parkside Hotel & Spa and for providing your genuine feedback. We are an all-suite hotel, so we do not have traditional hotel room style units with double beds. However, our One-Bedroom Suites all come with a queen or king-size bed as well as a pull-out double sofa in the living room. Our Two-Bedroom Suites have two beds in separate bedrooms, as well as a pull-out sofa. An upgrade to a Two-Bedroom Suite has never been as high as $200, it is generally well under $100, so we apologize for any miscommunication surrounding the upgraded price while you were here. Regarding the accommodation of your wife’s physical challenges, the Parkside does have fully accessible suites and we will always book guests into those suites if requested to the hotel directly.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our unique condo-feel. Guests of The Parkside enjoy the luxuries of home -- such as open-concept living and dining rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, and contemporary bathrooms with heated tile flooring. We hope to have you back again in the future. Please call our reservations line and we would be happy to discuss your stay, and book you into an accessible room for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Way too uncomfortable with no air conditioning. Street noise is too bad to be able to leave my windows open. Agree with other review. Calling it a hotel is misleading as no room service, no assistance with luggage, no room service and no newspapers delivered to the rooms

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 888patrici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize for the discomfort you experienced while staying with us. The Parkside Hotel & Spa prides itself on being a sustainable hotel targeting LEED Platinum Certification. With the beautiful weather that Victoria has been enjoying this summer, we assure you that we are actively taking measures to cool suites down while remaining environmentally friendly. Guests can also request a fan from our Guest Services team to be delivered to their room. Thank you, again, for providing us with your feedback as we will be taking all of your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing