We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel recently. I booked it through Hotwire, and thus did not know "what I got" until after the transaction was completed. I must say it was a very pleasant surprise! I expected a room in a decent hotel, and ended up with a one-bedroom suite (it s a time-share place). My suite was modern, clean and nicly appointed with a good sized fridge and freezer in the kitchenette, which also had a microwave, and a small cooktop. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had heated floors :)

There were amenities available at Parkside which I did not use so cannot comment on - gym, theatre, hot tub, etc. The building itself is "green", which is impressive, and it has a lovely atrium.

I only stayed one night, but service was efficient and friendly at check-in and check-out. Secure underground parking is available at an additional charge.

I noticed that some posters complained about noise...you *are staying right downtown* in Victoria, and there is going to be the noise you can expect to hear in a city! You are just minutes' walk from restaurants and Victoria's Downtown and Inner Harbour.

I would give it a full five points, but there were two very minor issues, which are easy fixes. When I stay in a good hotel, I assume that in addition to soap, the other little extras will also be provided - shampoo, shower cap, etc. there was only soap. Expecting "the usual", I did not bring my own stuff. Also, the shower knob on the bathtub faucet did not work. I don't mind baths personally but I expect both options to be available, and I am sure this would have made other folks unhappy.

Overall, my stay was great and I would certainly stay there again. It was great to get out and walk all over Victoria's beautiul downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    450
    126
    68
    43
See reviews for
716
639
58
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent three nights in a two bedroom suite and would return and recommend this hotel. Check in was not friendly nor helpful - no greeting when I reached the front desk despite three staff and only myself at the counter. My greeting of hello was met with a cold response of "I'm busy right now." Further dealings with staff went well but the first impression had already been made.

Rooms were large and very clean with a full kitchen which helped with meals for the two grand kids. Street noise was bothersome with buses and a busy corner right out the window. Maybe an inside room would be quieter - that said, you are right downtown and that comes with noise.

The Royal Museum, the Bug zoo and the harbour are all within a 10 to 15 walk. Lots of restaurants in the area and a 7-11 just around the corner. We had a car rental and grocery stores were a few minutes drive as was fishermans wharf. Beacon Hill park is a few minutes away with great walking areas, a nice playground for the kids and a petting zoo. The hotel has a nice pool, a nice little cafe attached, a movie theater where we were the only family and got to pick the movie - grand kids thought this was amazing.

A great room, nice amenities, great location .... Worth every dollar.

Room Tip: Try an inside room to avoid street noise unless you really want the balcony to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with 6 other female friends for 2 nights in early May. This hotel is beautiful! The room was very, very clean with a small kitchen with everything we could need for a weekend get away. The only thing we didn't like was in the one suite (we had 2 adjoining rooms) the bathroom off the bedroom had no door, however there was 2 baths in that unit. The lobby was beautiful with a peaceful water feature. One evening we went and watched a movie in the "theater" which was a fun way to spend the evening after visiting Buchart Gardens earlier in the day. A comfortable waking distance to the harbor. The first night we wanted to watch a movie a friend had brought only to find out that the only DVD player was in the bedroom. The "handyman" did come and put one in the living area...but it took him a while to figure out attachments and had to put the DVD player on a chair. It is a beautiful place and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

5 stars for what we need during our 2 nights stay (deluxe one bedroom)
- good size fridge to keep our food
- all the kitchen necessities we need for cooking - a blender, tea kettle, toaster
- large size fitness room and pool with hot tub
- location ( walking distance to the harbour)
- well lit and secured underground parking garage.
- arrived @ 3:30 PM, they gladly check
3 stars for:
- the room temp was always warm even with windows open
- no A/C. So, I wouldn't suggest this hotel during summertime
- noise level. Pick a room not on the street side if street noise bothers you.
- very expensive parking fee ($18)

Room Tip: pick a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elac655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in 1 bedroom unit with full kitchen and 2 baths.Lots of space and very clean and quiet. Nice large fitness room with lots of weights and machines. Large pool with hot tub. Front desk staff was helpful. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was the worst hotel stay of my life! The hotel has great potential but customer service is awful. Our suite was missing the washer and dryer and had Broken tiles and after we told front staff about it the front end supervisor told us we could pay to upgrade to something else. The problem could have easily been solved but it was the way we were treated, like we were just a hassle. We wrote an email to management and after a week received an email just saying she looked it the situation and she wanted me to see it from the hotels point of view. Last time I checked it was usually customers point of view that mattered. Cleanliness was a big issue in this hotel the rooms are not cleaned well and dont smell fresh, and if there are any parties dont plan on sleeping because the walls are really thin and you hear everything. I could write a novel on all the things that was wrong with this place.I didn't feel like dealing with this company anymore and just agreed to disagree but would not let my dog stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lmccbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived the Hotel past Midnight April 3th 2013, due to a delay by our Airline. Our experience was horrible and very unpleasant. from the start. We booked preferred view and paid for it in advance. We were given a wrong room, not the room we booked. I had booked a preferred view, and phoned in 2 weeks earlier to remind the Hotel.

The reception informed us the room allocated was what he gave us and the mistake will be rectified, he was very polite but we had no choice. In the morning, we went for late breakfast in Victoria and came back to see out things being moved......our privacy was violated. No one packs and moves your bags from your Hotel room without your consent....they broke the law.

We were informed to stay in the hallway with our belongings on the bell till the new room is cleaned. In addition, they have to clean the room we slept, hence our things were moved to the hallway. We felt disrespected, violated and very embarassed. It was really awful.

Since they packed our belongings, we had to go back to the room 3 times to pick items they forgot when packing our bags. I was gravely disappointed at the quality of service we received. I was very disappointed and gravely embarrassed at the quality of service we received from the start. We have stayed in hotels and resorts all over the world.

We never received any apology for their mistake, we booked April 2rd to April 9...8 nights, no apology, no mistakes acknowledged. I surprised. I mentioned when I went to settle our bills the last night that I was not very happy with thir quality of service and I do reviews. It was then I got a call for a quasi-apology. Not genuine, just because I mentioned review.

Your room is never given out to someone else, if you don't show and don't cancel, the fee for one night is deducted automatically. Parkside Victoria resort and Spa DID NOT honor their end of the contract. My family - wife and Children were very embarassed, it was a VERY bad experience.

The hotel did not make anything up to us, no compensation, no apology, no kind words. I WILL NOT recommend this hotel for their quality of service. We were not respected, we did not receive good service, they have the amenities, good rooms and building and location. It was a nightmare for us, we did not feel welcomed AT ALL. Our privacy was violated, we were disrespected. Customer service in my rating is ZERO or MINUS 1.

NB: Please get in touch with me if you need more information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
8 Thank Dr. Niyi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing