We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was the worst hotel stay of my life! The hotel has great potential but customer service is awful. Our suite was missing the washer and dryer and had Broken tiles and after we told front staff about it the front end supervisor told us we could pay to upgrade to something else. The problem could have easily been solved but it was the way we were treated, like we were just a hassle. We wrote an email to management and after a week received an email just saying she looked it the situation and she wanted me to see it from the hotels point of view. Last time I checked it was usually customers point of view that mattered. Cleanliness was a big issue in this hotel the rooms are not cleaned well and dont smell fresh, and if there are any parties dont plan on sleeping because the walls are really thin and you hear everything. I could write a novel on all the things that was wrong with this place.I didn't feel like dealing with this company anymore and just agreed to disagree but would not let my dog stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lmccbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    458
    127
    69
    43
See reviews for
729
650
58
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Sk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived the Hotel past Midnight April 3th 2013, due to a delay by our Airline. Our experience was horrible and very unpleasant. from the start. We booked preferred view and paid for it in advance. We were given a wrong room, not the room we booked. I had booked a preferred view, and phoned in 2 weeks earlier to remind the Hotel.

The reception informed us the room allocated was what he gave us and the mistake will be rectified, he was very polite but we had no choice. In the morning, we went for late breakfast in Victoria and came back to see out things being moved......our privacy was violated. No one packs and moves your bags from your Hotel room without your consent....they broke the law.

We were informed to stay in the hallway with our belongings on the bell till the new room is cleaned. In addition, they have to clean the room we slept, hence our things were moved to the hallway. We felt disrespected, violated and very embarassed. It was really awful.

Since they packed our belongings, we had to go back to the room 3 times to pick items they forgot when packing our bags. I was gravely disappointed at the quality of service we received. I was very disappointed and gravely embarrassed at the quality of service we received from the start. We have stayed in hotels and resorts all over the world.

We never received any apology for their mistake, we booked April 2rd to April 9...8 nights, no apology, no mistakes acknowledged. I surprised. I mentioned when I went to settle our bills the last night that I was not very happy with thir quality of service and I do reviews. It was then I got a call for a quasi-apology. Not genuine, just because I mentioned review.

Your room is never given out to someone else, if you don't show and don't cancel, the fee for one night is deducted automatically. Parkside Victoria resort and Spa DID NOT honor their end of the contract. My family - wife and Children were very embarassed, it was a VERY bad experience.

The hotel did not make anything up to us, no compensation, no apology, no kind words. I WILL NOT recommend this hotel for their quality of service. We were not respected, we did not receive good service, they have the amenities, good rooms and building and location. It was a nightmare for us, we did not feel welcomed AT ALL. Our privacy was violated, we were disrespected. Customer service in my rating is ZERO or MINUS 1.

NB: Please get in touch with me if you need more information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
8 Thank Dr. Niyi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stay here with 3 adults. Great 1 bedroom design for the room. Pull out sofa bed is already set up with linen so ready to go as you enter the room. The staff are very accommodating with our request. I would recommend the hotel if you don't mind having to walk a little to the harbor area. The trade off is well worth it.

Room Tip: The room with a den is very big with 2 sofa bed in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

With a gorgeous indoor "rain forest," luxurious rooms with TWO fireplaces, heated floors and super modern bath and kitchen, this hotel has it all. Oh, did I mention the delicious food at the café, top-quality gym, lap pool and a hot pool big enough for two families? We walked to all the Victoria hotspots from here with no problem. Very central!

We visited this hotel on a Groupon, so it was an incredible deal. Highly recommended, with or without the discount.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and my 2 girls (13 and 9) were very impressed on how the place looks amazing in and out.

When we checked in, the lady was very helpful on giving us the great possible room with a view. And she did try her best to accomodate us and we really loved the room it!

We will return here and would certainly recommed to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesymmetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, wa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

we were upgraded to a room with a den, which had a sleeper sofa in it and its own fireplace and T.V., the living room also had a sleeper sofa, fireplace (gas) and T.V. and the master bedroom. It was all very spacious for three adults and warm and comfy, especially since when we were there it was very cold and rainy outside. Houskeeping brought up some additional tea's for us that I had requested after a particularly freezing day of walking around sightseeing, they were very gracious. There are heated floors in the bathroom, which are fabulous after a shower. We liked everything about this hotel, It is a "green" hotel. The front desk staff tries very hard, but seem a little frazzled sometimes, eventually they come through with flying colors though, just have a little patience,they are all incredibly sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtotwoteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We reserved 3 Delux bedroom suites for our family group. We arrived via Clipper Ship on a Friday morning. We stored our luggage until our rooms were ready by 4 pm. We all walked to Crepes De Paris on 1313 Douglas St. but could not find the place so we back tracked and went up to 708 View St. to a less than a week old Itami Sushi place! The food was great! There was something for everyone from 2-5 year olds to grandparents! The lunch specials were very good.
Afterwards we went next door to the Dutch Bakery for treats! Mocha tart was delish and so were the Easter cup cakes!
We then walked around to the Bay Mall (Purdys!) and to the park. Then on to the hotel for unpacking and a swim and hot tub.
The hotel was very clean and the place was all in good order.
My only comment was that on the day we left at 4pm we had to sit for two hours and wait in the lobby for all the group to catch up and Taxi to the Clipper Ship. The Lobby was very cold (wind from large doors opening) and there were no sitting tables to play cards or a TV to pass time.
We did not take advantage of the kitchen only the fridge and microwave but next time we will.
The hotel was conviently located to walk to places such as High Tea at the Empress etc.
In our rooms we had two cozy warm fireplaces and two large TVs. The main room had a kitchen and a dining room table and a large living room.The bedroom had wonderful beds ...we slept so soundly!
The bathroom had heated floors and all was very clean.It had a door to the kitchen area and one to the bedroom area.
We had two doors to a small balcony and an adjoining door to one of the rooms where one group of our family stayed.
It was all very nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing