We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$278
$234
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zed(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$141
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$178
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,231)
Filter reviews
2,231 results
Traveler rating
1,461
509
137
75
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,461
509
137
75
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondwashing machinerooftop gardenfull kitchenluxury suiteliving roombc ferriesbeautiful hotelsoaker tubheated floorshome away from homedowntown victoriawithin walking distanceflat screengreat amenitiesbeacon hill parkcorner suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,955 - 1,960 of 2,231 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We landed here accidentally as the hotel we were booked at was oversold due to Dragon Boat Festival. We were pleasantly surprised their one bedroom suite was bigger than the apartment we currently live in. I liked that it was only 5minutes from the hustle bustle of downtown. This room has a full kitchen so is good for long stays as well as people with kids. Has a pool and a gym. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: I believe there are websites that sell the rooms for 100 dollars a night. If you book direct if is very expensive
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This review is almost 3 months overdue but I thought I should write my thoughts! My boyfriend and I attended a wedding in Victoria and spent the full week at the Parkside Victoria. We purchased the flight/hotel combo through Expedia and I must say we were very pleased with this hotel. We stayed in a Luxury 1 bedroom suite and it was gorgeous. It was very spacious and the amenities were amazing. It was so nice to come back to our hotel each night as it was such a great apartment/hotel. The kitchen had everything you needed - fridge, stove, toaster, cutlery, dishes, blender, etc. There was a TV and fireplace in the bedroom and the living room, there was also washing machine/dryer combo in the room, and 2 bathrooms. One equipped with just a big tub but the other had a tub and shower.

We used the fitness centre every day and it was equipped with everything one could need - cardio machines and weights. My boyfriend tested out the pool a few times as well.

The only concern going into the hotel was that there was no A/C and we were staying in August. Being from Toronto, that is a concern as we have crazy humidity. But, this wasn't an issue at all because of the constant breeze. We requested a fan just in case but really didn't need it much at all.

There is a coffee place in the hotel that we frequented to get a latte and a muffin. I think they have much more to their menu, and they serve cocktails in the evening as well.

There is a spa but we didn't take advantage of it. And also there are also 2 movies screened each night in the theatre which we didn't get a chance to go to either.

The location is perfect. We were maybe a 5 min walk to the water and there are plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. in the area to enjoy. There are also a couple of car rental places nearby that is very convenient. And also a scooter/bicycle rental south of the hotel as well, which we took advantage of.

The staff was great. They were very helpful with taxi and public transit questions, as well as recommendations on bars/restuarants.

I would highly recommend this hotel! And will stay here again when we visit Victoria again!

Room Tip: Luxury One Bedroom Suites are wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reese6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We got a really good deal for a 2 night stay at the Victoria Resort and Spa. The reservation desk staff were very hospitable, and patient with us, as there was some confusion on our reservation dates, because we had to change them several times.
Check in is at 4pm. We had asked for an early check in but could not get one, but they did let us leave our bags in a secure room, until our room was ready.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom City Club suite. These corner suites are quite private, and are located on higher floors with nicer views then other suites.
They are nicely laid out, very spacious, and have a homey feel about them.
There are 2 washrooms, one which is close to the kitchen, with a shower, toilet, sink. The other beside the bedroom, with a old fashioned looking deep soaker tub.(so bring your bubble bath and rubber duck) It also has a toilet and sink. No bathroom door though. Oh and i cant forget to mention the heated floors !!!
There is a Full kitchen, with all the apliances, and items needed to cook as well. And there are 2 free bottles of water.
The Living room has a comfortable couch, a 42 inch flat screen, wall mounted TV and a gas fireplace.
The bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed, 32 inch flat screen wall mounted TV and a gas fireplace.
A washer and dryer is located in a closet close to the kitchen. You will need to ask for laundry soap from the front desk.
The suite has lots of floor to ceiling windows, and a nice balcony.
There is a good size pool and a fitness centre.
If there is nothing good on tv in the evening......you can enjoy watching a free movie or 2 in the Movie theater located in the hotel. Beverages and food are allowed in the theater.
The hotel is in a great location..close to everything. Including all the tourist attractions.
If you are travelling by Pacific Coach bus , the bus depot is about 5 min walk
If you need groceries, there is a grocery store - 15 min walk
Feel like a coffee? There is a Starbucks - 10 min walk
Or there is a small cafe in the resort, that serves meals and alcholic beverages.
If you need directions.....just ask the front desk, they have a great map of the city.
We would like to Thank all the hotel staff that helped find and mail an item which we left in the suite, when we left. THANK YOU :)
All in all this is a great resort.....
The only suggestion I have for the resort is that they should have 2 staff on at check out time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubberducklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We got a fantastic deal on this - it was a rainy mid-October weekend. The room was fantastic, with a lovely bedroom, great main area, and large kitchen that was great for enjoying leftovers from the many yummy restaurants nearby. The front desk offered a great dinner recommendation, and the spa was lovely (I got a great massage). The only issue we had was the first night, the pipes sounded like they were going to pop. We called the front desk and they troubleshot that it was likely the heat, and suggested we use the fireplace for heat and flip the heat breaker until they could get someone out to fix it. We did that and it was fine. We actually didn't need to use the heat either, which brings up my one caveat: I can see that it likely gets really hot really quickly without AC in the summer. I'd probably limit stays here to October-March.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suites are fantastic. We could hear the church bells on Sunday morning (we were facing the nearby church), but other than that there was no outside noise getting in. I'm a light sleeper, so I really appreciated that.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asuzannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Parkside from Oct. 11-15, 2012. We were in a two bedroom, two bathroom suite. The suite had a full kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. All the items needed to cook as well.
The suite was nicely decorated, clean and spacious.
There was complimentary bottled water on the first evening, but we had to ask for it the following two nights, but on the fourth, I just let the front desk know that the weekend staff had neglected furnishing us with toilet tissue, kleenex, water and washclothes. They were accomodating and offered to bring it immediately.
We had a bit of an issue with the heating system (noise) however, it was corrected and we were not disturbed by the noise again.
The parking was usually easy to find, but on one evening we found ourselves backing in and out of areas because we couldnt find a stall and you are not able to drive through the parkade. I had a small car, but if you had a larger vehicle, you might choose the street-side parking instead. Also it was an additional 15.00 per night.
The small cafe off the lobby is rather sweet and has nice desserts.
The lobby is beautiful as is the rooftop garden.
We were not able to access the Theater room.
The pool is a standard hotel pool with a whirlpool.
We have stayed in many Victoria area hotels and properties. This was on the cusp of downtown, but rather noisey with transit and traffic noise from the street. Lots of windows, but not ventilation fans that can be operated by the guests. It can get kind of muggy and opening the windows during a rainy weekend does little to help with the muggy feel.
The lights are quite dim, and with all the gloomy weather we encountered, we found that we were feeling a little glummy without brighter lighting by the end of our stay.
The staff are friendly for the most part and are willing to do what they can to see that you are comfortable and happy. It is a nice property, perfect for small families.
I was able to secure a good rate on Hotels.com, if I was to pay rack rate, it would not be worth it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the atrium, the side street is very noisy and if that bothers you, you will be very disappointed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews