We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to remember the basics” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs to remember the basics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Lots of things about this hotel that I loved - the atrium, rooftop garden, and movie theatre included. But customer service was not up to par and there were a few "odd" features about our suite. We reserved a 2 bedroom suite when my sister and I took my mom to Victoria for 2 days and a night of browsing shops etc to celebrate her 80th birthday. The website says the 2 bedroom suites have king size beds. That's not true - only one of the rooms does. We found this problematic, as my sister and I have difficulty sleeping in the same bed and definitely wanted a king. When we called the front desk we were advised that it was our fault because we hadn't specifically requested two kings. Why we would specify something that was listed as standard on the website is beyond me. We were told there were no suites with 2 kings available. It was only after complaining first on the phone then in person at the front desk that they offered us a voucher for breakfast to make up for the inconvenience. I appreciated that but the initial response still irks me.
When you arrive at the hotel, there is absolutely no place to put your vehicle without blocking the underground parking. You can't get into the underground without checking in. The design of this area is very poor - my sister had to keep circling the block while I attempted to check in.
The suite itself is lovely with the exception of the fact that only one of the 2 bathrooms had a shower, and one of the bathrooms had no door. This means you have to keep the drapes closed in the bedroom, and if you're sharing with someone, you have to kick him/her out of the bedroom to have some privacy in the bathroom. Not good. The door to our bedroom squeaked and didn't close easily, so I woke my sister up when I tried to sneak out in the morning. The shower stall has no shelf to put shampoo, a razor or other items on, and there are no hooks in either of the bathrooms for your clothes or pj's or even to hang your bathing suit. It seems like they were so excited about the movie theatre they forgot about bathroom doors and shelves.
I really liked the cafe - had the chicken and eggs for breakfast and my sister had the beans and eggs - both delicious - if you're on a low carb or slow carb diet, this cafe is an excellent choice and still has all the usual baked goods available.
The swimming pool is great for swimming lengths - it is narrow and long. Perfect for me, but a family with children may not enjoy it as much. The pool was too cold for my mother. The hot-tub needed more water and more jets.
If I was going to stay in Victoria for a week and was traveling on my own, I'd definitely stay here again. I wouldn't stay here again and attempt to share a room with someone, the bathroom thing was just too weird. The toilet isn't even tucked around a corner, it's just right there.

Room Tip: Specify the bed size you want and ask if the bathroom has a door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    435
    124
    65
    41
See reviews for
695
624
58
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

arriving with 3 children ...no room ....we had booked a superior suite. They insinuated we used expedia & that was why no room was available. The cost of this suite is considerable , so you think you would be treated well. NO WAY!!! We had to wait in a room as they spoke to some "superior in the sky". We were given the "Show suite" and told this was the only thing left & that they were giving us a great deal. Contrary ...it was not. We paid for additional breakfast which was the same. No one ate the bran cereal or other items & when we suggested substitutes...none are available & when we asked for no breakfast & remove it from our bill...They said impossible..therefore-DO NOT PAY FOR ADDITIONAL BREAKFAST-save your money & use a nearby cafe!!!! NO AIRCONDITIONING & NOISY VERY EARLY. Really disappointed that no one cared to rectify any of the problems. NOT MEANT FOR HOTEL STAYS!!!

Room Tip: only utilize in cool temps otherwise, too hot & too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday670325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here while in Victoria, B.C having arrived on a ferry via Anacortes, WA (just north of Seattle) to Sidney, B.C. (about 25 miles north of Victoria). As always, my wife found this. There are so many places to stay in Victoria including BBs, historical hotels (Empress), and many new constructions like this one.

This is a LEED platinum property. It shows it throughout. Super modern living, all with a flair towards energy conservation. If you're into LEED (for professional, or perhaps your own home), this hotel is a course-in-living. They give near daily tours of the facility, explaining all the LEED aspects from bathroom floors you program to heat up in the morning and evening, placement of windows to promote natural convection, a pool that is "oxygenated" to eliminate chlorine, and everything earth-friendly (no VOCs used in anything).

I was a bit paranoid about the LEED thing. I was thinking "cold showers", dark interiors, and everything small. Quite the opposite. The automation in this place works. The showers were hot, rooms bright, comfortable, and spacious.

The place sells condominiums for all-year living, is part of the RCI for vacation exchanges, and has hotel rooms for short stays. We stayed in a 1-bedroom, with 2 baths, a full kitchen, dining, living room, and balcony. Be sure to avail of the "government discount". I brought my US ID badge (which says Dept of Energy)on it and we saved about 50$/night for a nightly rate of around $150 which was a ridiculously low price for a place like this.

The kitchen appliances were as best as I've seen. Radiant, ceramic stove tops, stainless appliances, microwave, coffee maker with really good coffee. Even the sugar, creamer, and tea (tea is big here). Bathroom amenities were Aveda, i.e., top-notch also. One very large, LCD TV in the living room; one smaller one in the bedroom. No in-room safes. Also, in room washer/dryer/dishwasher/dishwashing soap. No laundry soap though. Also, check with the staff on how to use the combo washer/dryer. Cleans well but dry-cycle is terrible. There is a very nice, well-lite, basement for parking at ~$9/day with security code and elevators, not that you need it. The area looks about as crime-free as being at Walt-Disney.

I loved the heated bathroom floors. This was real luxury. The pool and gym were also as best I've seen. One of the pictures below shows the pool area, the gym is 1-floor up via the spiral staircase. Excellent equipment. I worked out each day I was here, solely for the gym, it's equipment, the locker/spa area, and pool. You could spend your whole time at the resort (with the exception of food) and have a great time. I forgot to mention: they have a real movie theater with comfy seats and a widescreen playing movies at 7 and 9 PM each night. My wife and I made popcorn and went down to watch 3 movies on 3 nights in our sweats just because it was so cool to do this while "traveling".

The ONLY problem was the lack of an onsite restaurant other than a small bistro. The latter is open early (7AM) and stays open till I think 9-10 PM. Good for coffee/tea/lattes/sandwhiches/fruits/booze. Not really for dinner, though it does in a pinch. No room-service. Not a problem. Restaurants within 2 blks are plentiful.

This place is about 2 blocks from the inner harbour which is the MAIN tourist area. Great restaurants (salmon, oysters, crab are specialties). DO NOT FORGET Barb's Fish & Chips. Walk to the harbour. Take a harbor taxi (a small boat) to a place called Fisherman's Wharf, and have your salmon, halibut, flounder, etc deep-fried (yuk), grilled (yes!) with the best chowder in the area. We also used take-out, brought it back to the resort, and had dinner in their outdoor, on-the-roof, garden terrace.

Victoria is the place most would like to retire to, but it's too expensive for us I'm afraid. I figure the cost-of-living is about 1.5 times what it is here in Denver (a good 1-bedroom is going for about 300-400K; the tour bus driver said this was closer to 500K!). Beautiful parks, coastal areas, neighborhoods, gardens, coastal areas (again).

Some things we did on this trip: Butchart Gardens for half-a-day (a must), a miniatures museum (in the Empress), afternoon tea at the Empress (dress nice), feeding seals at the marinas, sleeping in the park at Beacon Hill, driving up the coast (very friendly auto access; rent in Seattle, ride the ferries to and from Victoria), going on a "ghost-walk", visiting Chinatown, taking the "hop-on hop-off" bus tour (not necessary at the price their asking), going to Craigdarroch Castle to see how the robber barons lived, and like I said earlier, working off all the calories in the gym.

Room Tip: Street traffice (buses, cars) are kind of high here and it continues very late (i think buses run al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheZipMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Mostly a great place due to accommodations: beautiful rooms, amazing furniture, including beds. Our issues were: laundry machine & staff.
We stayed a full week so we used the laundry machine-CAUTION it ruined some clothes. Thankfully it was my husbands undershirts and not our shirts and pants. It turned them a odd yellow color. When I called the front desk, I was asked if I had washed anything brightly colored with the white shirts in hot water? Of course i had not. Then i asked if i had read the directions? Believe it or not I had read the huge confusing directions. The attitude was very much: you must have done something to cause this. I decided to call back and I got the same young lady at the front desk who then went on to say they have a "grave yard" of the machines in the basement and they can't get parts because they're made in Europe. ?????

Now I'm upset, so I ask for the manager. I proceeded to tell the manager the above story for which she was reluctant to say her staff could have handled things better. I asked if there was anyway we could get a few things laundered and she said yes, if I could bring the clothes to front desk. So I did: now I assumed those things would be sent out and laundered-no they were sent to housekeeping to do. So a few hours later we get our clothes laundered-still somewhat damp, laying on a pile quite wrinkled. When I asked for compensation for my husbands shirts she said there would be. We did receive a $50.00 gift card for the cafe downstairs-however we were leaving the next morning and could only use a portion of it.

This is a gorgeous hotel- we loved the room. I didn't expect staff to make a huge fuss, but geez we didnt get an I'm sorry or the gracious attitude one expects at a hotel of this stature.

One more thing: I would highly advise avoiding this place during warm weather. It's warm when it's 65 degrees.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3isperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

There were 8 of us wanting to rent in Victoria in a location close to the city centre and with a feeling of luxury that we enjoyed. We also wanted this to include 2 - 2 bedroom condos with kitchen and 2 bathrooms. I found this resort and have to say that it completely satisfied all of us and our wants and needs. Even though this was our last stay in Canada for 4 nights and we all had laundry that we wanted to do, we discovered the washer/dryer was not useable, the resort, took our laundry and washed and pressed it and returned it within 24 hours. WOW we were all impressed. From the beds, the decorating, the bathrooms, the kitchens and the amazing service, I would say this resort is a 5 star resort at a lower price. The staff were wonderfully accommodating and friendly and helped us with everything we needed and wanted. I would not hesitate to stay here again and in fact, am planning another vacation at that resort within the next year. Thank you Parkside Resort and Spa for fulfilling our wishes and expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redwinefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights - Sept 2 and 3. I have to agree with many of the other postings. Being a very light sleeper at time of reservation I requested a room away from traffic noise. The room assigned was on the corner of two very busy streets. Obviously no effort was made to fullfill my request. Lots of traffic and bus noise and early morning gabage trucks. I phoned front desk to request a room change. Was told the hotel was full that night. So I ask "what about tomorrow". The front desk clerkput seemed put off by the request says, "we can't tell, call us in the morning". Terrible attitude and service. If a hotel cannot accommodate my request for a quiet room and especially if they, as this hotel's staff did, seem offended by my request, I will never stay there again.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. One bathroom without doors. As commented by others, this is just weird. Who wants to sit on the throne in full view of others. So we used the other bathroom by the kitchen.

On the positive side, the pool and hot tub are very nice. The room was nice. And as others have commented the cafe downstairs is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel's reservation system is appalling. I reserved a room at 10 p.m. directly through the hotel at a matched expedia rate. At 9:00 a.m. the next morning I still had not received an email confirmation despite being told I would. I went on line to get the hotel's phone number again and noticed that the price for the type of room I reserved had dropeed overnight by $18. I called to see if they would alter my rate and the reservation clerk said she could but then after playing around in the reservation system, she not only couldn't rebook under the new reduced rate, but she also lost my original booking which specified a certain (quiter) building and . She also told me that if I wanted to stay the extra night which I had originally had set aside (I was told I would have the option of staying a second night if I wanted), I would now have to switch rooms! So in my attempt to get the better rate that was offered less than 24 hours after my booking I got completely screwed. I don't care what experience I have once I get there, which I am now very doubtful will be very positive, I will never stay at this hotel again. Most decent hotels honor expedia rates or atleast warn the guest that they risk loosing their original booking if they try and alter it. The girl should also have known ahead of time whether she could or couldn't change the rate! It was just unacceptable p.r. service.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzywhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We apologize for the confusion in your reservations process. Much like fares in the airline industry, hotel rates fluctuate based on demand. We can make the necessary adjustments to ensure that you do not have to change suites after your first night. Please contact Guest Services Leader Andrea Farkas at 250.940.1200 Ext. 8411.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing