We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lovely room, nicely furnished, nice balcony to sit on and enjoy a glass of wineand a peek a boo harbour view. We had a great sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraverler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,035 - 2,041 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very stylish, up-to-date comfortable condo type hotel. It's walking distance to most everything. We found most of the staff to be super friendly and helpful, told us where the good restaurants were. My one sort of negative comment was that the master bathroom didn't have a hairdryer. Not a huge deal but I found that weird. I was on a girls weekend type holiday so we definitely needed more than one hairdryer and we all had to go into the one small bathroom to use it. For what it would cost for two hairdryers I'm kind of surprised that they would splurge on another one, particularly in the master bath. Also, there was no fan in the small bathroom so it got super hot, and the washer dry did smell a bit, on the other hand, we did have a washer and dryer, so how bad could it be? Over-all I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momthetravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Got this place for $92 per night from Hotwire. Booking directly with the hotel was $200+ per night. At that low price the place was a bargain, and I wish I had stayed more than 1 night.

It's a modern and upscale chic type of place with indoor pools through the lobby and tall ceilings with lots of glass and natural lighting. We walked from the hotel over through the residential area to a small pizza place that was excellent - Pizzeria Prima Strada.

Be sure to use www.betterbidding.com to decipher which hotel you're going to get from Hotwire BEFORE you press the "buy" button.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Parkside screams its "green" image at you from the start. The most green we found was in our shower stall. We paid for an upgrade to a luxury suite. The room smelled when we checked in & had to call for floor fans. When we objected that the clothes washer/dryer was not working we were told that there was no alternative & they would launder our clothes overnight. When we found mold in the shower they finally found an alternative room. The rooms are sparsely furnished with no bath/bedroom privacy in the master bedroom. Request fans in order to move the stale air that results from the "green" construction plan.

Room Tip: Check the room thoroughly before unpacking your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMikeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

While environmental responsibility is an important part of Parkside—both from design and operational standpoints—we do not attempt to “push” a green image to our guests. We have 10 Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®) posters set up around the hotel in order to educate guests about Parkside's most notable environmental features and how they fit into the green building rating system/guest experience. The posters are incorporated into green building tours, which are available by request.

We apologize that you had difficulty with air circulation during your stay. Since all suites have kitchens, the smell of cooking is sometimes noticeable. To counter this, fans are available and all suites have operable windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Parkside is a short stroll from the harbour. Great location! You feel like you are living in the city, not staying in a hotel. It is also near a beautiful park for strolling and running and viewing Olympic National Park across the water. It is a very modern, green building, with a lovely accomodating spa. (Selections that were less expensive for teens) The pool is big and the hot tub is relaxing, especially after a bumpy whale watching ride. The washer/dryer combo was a bit of a challenge to operate, but convenient. The beds and pillows are super comfy. No AC in this LEED certified hotel, but we opened the doors and windows and slept great...until the wedding party at the hotel starting yelling and rocking out, or an ambulance passed. Another downside; $15 per night parking..should be free. And finally, you can smell the neighbors food cooking and some balconies face each other so there is a privacy issue in some of the rooms. But overall first class.

Room Tip: They match internet rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTripTroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in July 2011. We loved the bright spacious apartment-style rooms and luxurious en suite bath in our 1-bedroom, 2 bath suite. The hotel is quite new and very clean.

Other strong points: central location, large swimming pool, spa on site, gold fish ponds (kid vote), balcony with table and chairs, nice linens.

Interesting: this building sells itself as green. This means that most cooling is by opening your window. This was fine during the day, but our light sleeper found vehicle noise to be an issue at bedtime.

Downsides: Paying $15/day parking. Hot tub was broken. There was no laundry in our room, despite the fact it was advertised as part of the room specifications. When I brought it up at check out, the reply was "YOU should have told us when you checked in if it was important to you." I thought this was rude and out of line considering it is part of the room description, not a special request on my part. So if it's important to you....

Room Tip: Confirm room specificiations at check in. Another guest booking last minute on HotWire paid half wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinyHappy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

We apologize that your suite did not have a washer/dryer as expected and you were not notified during check-in. While we usually have machines in all suites, some of our washer/dryers were undergoing necessary repairs during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Very nice, luxurious rooms. Full kitchen and within walking distance to all of Victoria's attractions. I always book through expedia and get a lower price for the rooms. We have stayed here 3 times, and it is great! Nice big pool and a spa there as well. Note parking is $15 a day.

Room Tip: I like to book the luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famiyoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,146 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,085 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 47 in Victoria
1,932 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $118 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing