We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian refinement in a Victorian setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Italian refinement in a Victorian setting”
Reviewed March 15, 2007

This is an exceptional country inn situated in the surprising tranquility of Victoria's Rockland area. (Victoria, it goes without saying, is one of Canada's prettiest cities!) No "Victorian" kitsch here. Everything is carefully chosen, yet simple and elegant in design. Modern furnishings blend with the antique and the garden is astonishing. We had the ground floor room, which, like the other three rooms, is really like a suite. The attention to detail is manifest: flowers (hyacinths, daffodils) growing in the bathroom, candles in sconces, scented soaps, a fireplace in our room, sherry and chocolates in the library (where there are lots of books too, even a volume of Horace's carmina for this Latin teacher!) et cetera, et cetera! And in the morning, a delightfully inventive four-course breakfast in the aptly named "Orangerie". Liam, our host, certainly deserves kudos for giving us one of the best non-hotel hotel experiences of our travels--and we have travelled extensively in France and Italy. Stay here and pine later as you reminisce...

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Rynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
183
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2006

We were expecting a "run of the mill" B & B. Much to our surprise, we were met with tranquility, opulance, and grace. Although not able to spend as much time there as we would have liked, the morning was met with wonderful music, an absolutely divine culinary breakfast,and the longing-ness to stay for another day of pampering. All we can say is "AHHHHH!" and of course....Thank You! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 19, 2006

In Victoria, there are numerous Bed and Breakfast's vying for your attention and I have stayed in quite a few as Victoria, BC is a gem of a city. The Villa Marco Polo rises above all other accommodations in the city and is worth every dollar. It provides a romantic and home away from home in a historical mansion with a spectacular garden. Eliza and Liam are amazing hosts that made me want to plan my next trip to Vancouver Island as soon as I stepped off the BC FERRIES. I highly recommend this property to anyone who wants the perfect accommodation while visiting this amazing city!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2005

I found this B&B during an on-line search. I am amazed that no one has recently written about this wonderful find! It is situated in a quiet neighborhood, within a few blocks of the Government House. (We spent our time in the gardens of the Government House instead of paying $22 per person for Butchart Gardens.) Liam was wonderful. As soon as we were settled, he asked us if we had dinner reservations. Of course we hadn’t yet, and he booked us at Café Brio for dinner that evening. (Food was excellent.) Breakfast here was amazing…four courses. During breakfast, all the guests were gushing about what a wonderful place this was. And the rooms… I can’t give them justice. Check it out online --------. We stayed in the Zanzibar suite, which was on the second floor and overlooked the beautiful gardens, ocean, and mountains. It was filled with beautiful furniture and Italian pottery. The fireplace was also a wonderful touch. There was no television in the bedroom, but if you must watch tv, there is a lovely library that has a comfy sofa and television. But with the french doors and the view from the room, you won’t be watching television long. I only wish we stayed longer. It’s a little pricey, but well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina_Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2003

This is the most luury bed and breakfast you will ever stay at. The rooms are unbelievably elegant with antiques, fine linens, and jacuzzi tubs. A bottle of champagne is waiting for you upon your arrival and the gardens (view) are beautiful. Breakfast in the morning is divine (four courses) and a special time to get to know the other guests. Yes, this bed and breakfast is a little pricey, but it is SO worth it! We've been there twice and can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
9 Thank TravelingGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing