We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re opened and worth the wait!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Re opened and worth the wait!”
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We arrived to fresh baked orange polenta sugar cookies and Persian Tea.....our dinner reservations were arranged and our soaker tub filled....as we requested in an email earlier.
A slice of Heaven in Victoria!
Our breakast the foollowing morning was amazing, and my husband cooks! Fresh blened tropical smoothies, hand prepared fresh fruit. Parmesan and procuitto souffle and candied fench toast....
The new spa on the top floor is going to be a total pamper palace oolala simply devine, I can't wait to return!!

  • Liked — service, food, rooms
  • Disliked — having to leave the Villa!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dteatreauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
183
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2007

The food is delicious and a work of art. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are especially comfortable. From the library, to the other common areas and the grounds we found rest in an aesthetically pleasing environment. The Villa Marco Polo is one of the finest Bed and Breakfast establishments we can imagine.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jdconsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We fell in love with the inn on their website, and found the reality even better. The house and grounds are gorgeous, our room was even more beautiful than the photos online.....comfortable, spacious and spotless.
Breakfast was divine. Each morning the guests would happily compare notes on their days activities and dining experiences, most of which were arranged or suggested by Eliza and Liam.
The perfect place to stay in Victoria!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
442 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We have stayed at many B and Bs throughout the world and rank Marco Polo among the very best. To begin, the friendly staff helped us with all restaurant reservations, featuring only local places of high quality and reasonable prices. The inn itself was spectacular. Every detail finished to an impeccable standard. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. The mattress was firm and very comfortable. Common areas were spacious and well appointed. Outside featured a well attended garden. Breakfast could not have been better. Each course prepared and presented to perfection.... an absolute delicacy each time. We traditionally have used Karen Brown as a source for our accomodations. This is one she (missed and) would love.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Villa Marco Polo redefines the bed and breakfast experience. Nestled in a beautiful, garden-like setting, the Inn offers everything the weary traveller could hope for: gourmet breakfasts, palatial rooms and charming, dedicated hosts.
What a wonderful experience!

Karen B.

  • Liked — Spectacular breakfasts and stunning rooms
  • Disliked — A little removed from downtown
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThunderbirdsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto and the world
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We had our wedding ceremony and celebration at the Marco Polo.

From top to bottom, it was an excellent experience. Excellent host, decor, and food.

Easy parking, ensuite bathrooms, a den for lounging, fireplace, as well as walking distance to downtown, the water and Oak Bay.

I grew up in Victoria and there are not enough places like this B&B in town that offer elegance with modern style.

  • Liked — Comfortable, stlish, delicious
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay longer because we had a flight to catch
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elspethandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We loved Villa Marco Polo. The hospitality was warm, inviting and lovely. The food was out of this world. The inside of the home is luxurious and reminds us of our other favorite place...Italy. The grounds are beautifully maintained and designed. Our room, the Persian, spioled us as we came home to a much smaller and less decorated room!

We give this an outstanding two thumbs up!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank laborobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,626 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing