We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Complete Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Complete Gem”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Villa Marco Polo on several occasions and each time I stay it just keeps getting better and better. Liam, Danusia and their staff are some of the best I have ever encountered. The attention to detail and personal service is unmatched. The property itself is amazing, with different places to sit and read the morning paper or enjoy your breakfast. The rooms are always impeccably clean, with such attention to detail. The beds and linens are top notch and amenities exactly what you would want to find (including bath salts that have been enjoyed more than once in the beautiful, large tubs available). The location is easy to find, quiet and yet central enough to downtown Victoria to walk. It took me about 1/2 hour to walk downtown along lovely, quiet streets. If you are coming to Victoria, I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Honestly all of the rooms are fabulous. You can't go wrong with any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaradaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
177
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful mansion style B&B in a residential area of Victoria. It was a 30 mins walk to the centre, we got a taxi back!

Room was lovely, nice touch with the iPod pre loaded.

Breakfast was a 4 course feast and each course really fresh and enjoyable.

We wanted to stay another night which is the best way to leave somewhere-thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisshort82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The inn is beautifully decorated and the garden is beautiful. Our room was so tastefully done and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a soaking tub for two. Breakfast was served in an elegant dining room. Everything was delecious. Liam was a wonderful and thoughtful host. He packed us a beautiful breakfast to go since we had to leave at 7am. Danusia gave us a very warm welcome and her restaurant recommendations were right on. We will definantely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella102473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice inn. The room we stayed in was the Alexandria Room, featured a jetted therapeutic tub for two, and a nice king bed. My husband and I were only there for two nights, but we got the overall sense of the 19th century Italian vibe, that which was expected. Accompanied by wonderful breakfast, a walk through the stunning backyard with eclectic decor all around. One of pur greatest pasttime while stating here was being able to escape the busyness of life and work by browsing through the books in the Victorian-style library room. This Inn is absolutely the gemstone in the rock. The host was very polite and helpful with our needs and we will be returning perhaps on our next anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amar_and_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The neighborhood is quiet, you can hear some noise in the house from upstairs. We had a room who was a little bit dark with a firewood place - you could smell the old fire (silk room). The room was nice decorated. Breakfast was great - 5 dishes and every handmade. Breakfast starts for all guest exactly at 08.30 and you have to be there if you want breakfast. Everybody is sitting on one table - good for conversation - but if you don't like it - a little bit to much if it is full house (arround 10 guests). Service is excellent. You could have a lot of spa options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papillon062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

So often a place that's "top-shelf" with regard to elegance misses the mark when it comes to the basics. Marco Polo is great in every way. The setting and amenities are so beautiful, and the facilities are dialed into so that they add up to all-around comfort. I think the highlight of our stay was the enormous, beautifully set breakfast table where *all* the guests mustered every morning at 8:30, because the food was that good. It was so fun to compare notes with travelers from all around the world and hear stories about their far-ranging travels. I'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Persia" room, which was expansive...with a giant tub and beautiful pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Villa Marco Polo Inn for two nights in August, while visiting from Colorado. When we arrived, we were greeted by Danusia, who made us feel right at home. I liked the way she sat down with us and gave us some orientation, using a map of the local area, as well as recommendations for restaurants. What a beautiful mansion this is! We were also very pleased with our room (Alexandria), which has a jetted tub in the bathroom. I have to say something about those breakfasts: they're absolutely delicious, and inventive! Both Danusia and Karolina (sp?) did a great job and we appreciated their friendly service. We highly recommend the Villa Marco Polo Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildWestCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Beaconsfield Inn
#9 of 93 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing