We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Fairholme Manor Inn”
Review of Fairholme Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairholme Manor
Ranked #4 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Fairholme Manor Inn”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved the Fairholme Manor Inn from the moment we drove up the lane. It looked amazing both outside and in. The grand staircase, the breakfast room, even a glimpse of one of the other rooms. We were greeted and offered an upgrade to a beautiful 2 bedroom suite (The Rose Room) with a kitchen and balcony. It was so clean and so neat. Just loved it. The place was so peaceful and a wonderful ending to our few days in Victoria. We only stayed one night but should have stayed longer. The owners, Sylvia and Ross were wonderful hosts and so accommodating. They even altered the breakfast menu for us. Breakfast was amazing, all freshly made - fairholme granola, pancakes, white chocolate scones and raspberry jam. Recipes taken from Sylvia's own cookery books. I bought both cookbooks and am looking forward to trying most of the recipes in them. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone as it is truly charming.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarina1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
159
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Imagine everything you'd want if you were making up the ideal bed and breakfast; immense bedroom bay windows overlooking a garden filled with flowers through which deer scamper, with king sized bed, working fireplace and adjoining, your private jacuzzi tub large enough for two and a separate double shower. Across the street, the lieutenant Governor's mansion with a beatiful, 30 acre public garden for a morning stroll. Then add breakfast, not a skimpy 'continental' or overdone bizarre frou-frou pancakes from hell but fresh, home made blueberry scones, and fresh baked bread with butter, a sideboard heaped with rasberries, blue berries and melon slices topped off with a main course egg or pancake dish which taste like they came straight out of a 1st rate cookbook which just happens to be the case since Sylvia ,the gracious owner, manager and greeter just happens to be a first rate cook who has written not one but two cookbooks dealing with breakfasts.
Now, stop imaging, get on the phone and make a reservation.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that have more amenties than the others. Check the website. The only drawback is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DowntownAby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying for 5 nights at this elegant location and all aspects exceeded our expectations. The quality of the entire facility was exceptional and our room/suite was amazing. The breakfasts included an outstanding array of offerings to fully satisfy anyone's appetite. The friendly service and hospitality was great. Sylvia and her staff were very accommodating and experienced at making sure you had a great stay. They just know how to get it right and truly make you feel at home.

The location was just a short walk to the downtown area or alternate shoreline hiking trails. We could easily walk to one of the several dining locations within 20 to 30 minutes each evening without having to worry about taking our car.

We regularly stay at B&B's on our vacations and Fairholme Manor sets a standard by which we will judge others in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recently stayed at Fairholme Manor B&B in Victoria BC on my honeymoon and had an absolutely wonderful time. Sylvia is an extremely gracious hostess who makes every effort to make her guests happy and comfortable. The house is stunning, the views are magnificent, the food is outstanding, the setting is perfect. It just couldn't be better! The grounds have lovely gardens, the rooms are clean, light and elegant, the staff is friendly and helpful. Everything was absolutely perfect.

We stayed for a few nights, went to another town for a couple nights and then returned for one more night before going home. When Sylvia learned that out other B&B experience wasn't so great, she promptly upgraded us to her best room. She made us a lovely breakfast early the next morning so that we could have a nice meal before catching the ferry. I just can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the end of July in this elegant b & b run by Sylvia Main and her husband. This Italian style Victorian house has an excellent location above the city of Victoria, next to the Lieutenant Governor's residence - where one has free access to the 30 acre garden from dawn to dusk. Our welcome was warm and we were shown to a beautiful first floor room - huge bedroom leading to a small sun porch leading on to a balcony with views over the city and sea to the mountains of Washington State in the distance. The bathroom was large and well appointed with a plentiful supply of sparkling white towels. The breakfasts were outstanding served in the gracious dining room, or outside at a a small table on the verandah which we preferred so as to take advantage of the warm sunny weather. We were given excellent advice regarding places to go for dinner and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Fairholme to anyone.

Room Tip: First floor room facing the garden and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

we had the time of our lives at fairholme manor! sylvia, the owner, is absolutely amazing and took great care of us. everything about our stay was perfect - the rooms, the decor, the breakfast...all of it was fantastic! we are looking forward to being back there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan0190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Elegant property on estate grounds right in Victoria's most historic neighborhood with views of the water...the most comfortable beds....and breakfasts worth the stay....all local and organic ingredients artfully prepared and served in a sumptuous dining room...it was hard to leave....

Room Tip: Ask for the Penthouse suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,178 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholme Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholme Manor

Property: Fairholme Manor
Address: 638 Rockland Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholme Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairholme Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing