We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic stay”
Review of Fairholme Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairholme Manor
Ranked #2 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Idyllic stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely 2 nights at Fairholme. The owners are very friendly, the house has plenty of character and the homemade breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious! We warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
163
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My sister and I return to this B&B every year to enjoy a great night's sleep in a beautiful room, a delicious breakfast and a pretty walk to downtown victoria, all at a competative price. I am already looking forward to next year!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed in B&Bs in all parts of the globe. Some as good, but none better than the Fairholm. Sylvia is a gracious hostess, a superb chef, and the rooms are very tastefully decorated, with extremely comfortable beds. We were there with another couple, and they too were delighted. Walk off Sylvia's magnificent breakfast by strolling through the beautiful gardens around the government building just a block away. Not as extravagant as Buchart (what is?), but well worth a morning stroll...with camera. The Fairholm website gives you a thorough and accurate picture of what you can expect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMoredocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just stayed at Fairholme for two wonder days and cannot say enough about this B&B. On every level--quality of accommodations, service, location--it absolutely excelled.

At the heart of its successful is the owner Sylvia who was very welcoming and helpful. We arrived early to Fairholme to find our keys thoughtfully taped to the door with a welcome note. Whether at the inn or not, she was always accessible and helpful via cellphone, which we called a couple of times for last minute restaurant guidance.

We stayed in the Grand Olympic Suite, which is the single most spacious room I've had the pleasure of experiencing in my B&B travels. Fireplace (ready to go), great views, sun deck, comfortable and well-appointed bathroom--all arranged with a terrific eye for detail. Wireless worked perfectly, which was important as we had to work for the first day.

Moreover, the location between downtown Victoria and Oak Bay was perfect. Quite a bit to see walking out Fairholme's door right in the immediate residential neighborhood of stately homes. Indeed, this place is literally next door to Government House, which (as an American) I came to discover is the official residence of the Queen's representative to British Columbia. Several acres of beautiful gardens to enjoy and photograph right on your doorstep.

Also need to share a plug about breakfast. Very thoughtfully laid out in a two-course arrangement, with delicious fresh fruit, yoghurt, and muffins presented as course one, with full hot breakfast beautifully served and prepared as course two. Forget about lunch (which shouldn't be a problem). Your next meal will be dinner.

Thank you Sylvia for providing so comfortable and inviting accommodations.

Room Tip: Olympic and Penthouse suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent one night at this delightful B & B. We were in the Tuscan Garden Suite which I believe was the most affordable available. It was more than adequate, quiet, peaceful, looking out onto the back garden. It included a living room with a comfortable sofa bed, a small eating area, a galley kitchen, a medium sized bathroom, and a bedroom with a queen sized bed. It felt like having your own small apartment in an established character neighborhood. The B&B is right next to Government House with extensive gardens to explore and to smell the flowers. It is also within walking distance to the Castle and the Victoria Art Gallery. It is very centrally located in Victoria in general, although the claim to be within walking distance of the harbor, I felt, was a little far fetched.

The breakfast portion was really lovely. It is held in the dining room of the main house. It featured fresh fruit, granola/cereal, and freshly made scones. Then came the main course, which was pancakes and bacon served to you at your table. The breakfasts change daily.

We toured some of the other suites which were more spacious, luxurious, and had great views, but found that we were more than happy with this suite since we were only staying one night. Next time, maybe we'll upgrade if we plan to stay longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite since the location is off the main street. Second floor rooms have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There we were, harried parents of two young children in search of a peaceful and romantic get-away. We left the kids with the grandparents for a couple of days, took a 3 hour flight from LA and thankfully found our peaceful nirvana in Fairholme Manor. It was our first time staying there, we aren't typically the B&B sort, but thoroughly enjoyed the DELICIOUS food, clean (and well decorated) surroundings, the fresh flowers in every room, the incredible view from our 2nd floor suite, and the interesting discussions with Sylvia. We achieved our goal and found rejuvenation in Victoria!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We just spent (early Sep, 2011) 3 nights at this gorgeous B&B. It’s only a few minutes from the famous Craigdarroch Castle and there’s a beautiful garden almost right next to the inn, where we saw one mommy deer and 4 small baby deer (fawn, I thinks) nibble on plants 

This is my first time to Victoria, B.C and my first time staying at a B&B, but wow, what a treat! Every morning we woke up to the delicious smell of freshly baked scones, lemon ricotta pancakes or muffins.

The breakfast was served in the dining room that’s decorated with many stunningly beautiful, big white orchids. Each dining table also had a center piece of huge, vibrant dahlias. As an appetizer (yes, before an eggs Benedict or a bagel with smoked salmon), there are fresh fruits, vanilla yogurt, granola and chilled orange juice on the table for you to nibble on. There’s PLENTY of food to keep you full and satisfied for hours (and great rich coffee, too!).

The hostess, Sylvia, was so wonderful. I had bad sea sickness after whale watching, and she offered to brew me fresh teas all that day that helped relieved my misery. It was so nice to be taken care of when sick during a vacation. Both my husband and I highly recommend this beautiful inn. We certainly will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholme Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholme Manor

Property: Fairholme Manor
Address: 638 Rockland Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholme Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairholme Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing