We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience!”
Review of Fairholme Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairholme Manor
Ranked #2 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our stay at the Fairholme Manor could not have been more perfect. From Sylvia's delicious breakfasts (including scones and breads fresh out of the oven!), her infectious energy and generosity, and the incredible beauty of the house and gardens, it doesn't get better. You must try the Fairholme if you are in Victoria. The location is quiet and non touristy, yet convenient to
everything. Definitely catch a sunset from the Government House gardens literally right next door. Thank you Sylvia for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueDevils99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
166
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have always had some reservations about B&B's from previous stays in places in Portand, ME, and elsewhere, where the bathrooms, rooms and breakfasts and owners were totally underwhelming. Because of Sylvia Main's Fairholme Manor, I am now converted.

We are now both true believers that this is the only way to enjoy life on our travels: a stunningly beautiful 8-bedroom/suite home, with a gracious, personable, extremely well-informed and amazing hostess. This is a one-up, completely singular creation of Sylvia Main, owner/concierge/advisor/hostess, who is the most charming and personable hostess we have ever met. She is totally Viennese, down to the crepes for breakfast, and each room and suite is a study in perfect Feng Sui. When i called her initially, I was debating between two rooms/suites, and asked her where she would stay herself. Her recommendations were spot on. When we arrived in Victoria, I called her to say we were sending on our baggage before arriving at her place, and I asked where to go for lunch. She asked where I was considering, and she ticked off the two places to try, and exactly what to expect. Amazing woman!

She crafts the amazing breakfast, which is served until late AM in a large, very comfortable living room, sunfilled, with flower arrangements gracing every corner. We were about done with the cold items, when we were informed of the hot entrees we could order...so on it went. You can also have breakfast on the porch, where you have a view of her impeccable gardens during summer months.

Before leaving for you day's outing, Sylvia sticks around to answer questions, fill you in, see where you're going that day, recommend the best places for dinner (she knows all them on first-name basis). She easily shared what it took to put the place together, how the two gardeners take care of the entire place, and that three days are the amount of time to spend around Victoria for a full experience. She even has a breakfast cookbook she recently published, that has sold over 15,000 copies.

Sylvia --- We love your warmth, high concept aesthetics and amazing attention to every detail. We are true believers and will send all our friends and relatives to you, and come back when we can next be close!

Room Tip: Consult with Sylvia - she will steer you straight on which of the 8 total rooms/suites are right for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Fairholme Manor is situated in a quiet, gorgeous neighborhood a short drive from the Black Ball ferry line and busy shopping area in town. Sylvia and her husband are wonderful hosts. Her breakfasts are amazing. You will want to buy her cookbook, Fabulous Fairholme. Gorgeous parks are within a close walk as are some fabulous restaurants. The room we stayed in was well appointed and very comfortable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibliotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Beautiful rooms, lovely place to stay. Sylvia and Ross were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in early July 2011. The Olympic Grand Suite is indeed a "grand setting" for a relaxed, romantic getaway. Sylvia & Ross are the perfect hosts. We highly recommend the "Lemon Ricotta Pancakes" for breakfast, but every meal served was divine. The hospitality was exceptional and the guidance on restaurants, places to see, and things to do made our visit most enjoyable. We look forward to returning to Fairholme Manor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I must begin by stating that it is not only the delicious food and comfortable sleep that motivates my return to this place, but it is because of the gracious welcoming and warmth shown by host and hostess, Ross and Sylvia. These two were continually entertaining and informed our every request from a reasonable priced local pedicure to a delicious meal with European atmosphere and within walking distance. We were impressed by the incredible beauty of the gardens and tranquility of this area. I was even met by a deer nibbling on the plants outside our room before breakfast. We appreciated how the modern conveniences in the room were artistically combined with the historical decor and character. Can't wait to return for another stay. Thanks Ross and Sylvia.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesutherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

What a beautiful place to stay. Wonderful rooms, pretty garden, quiet location (about 20 minutes from downtown) delicious breakfasts and such lovely hosts. Atttention to detail was amazing and everyone made to feel so welcome. Lots of great tips for eating out and things to do in the area. I loved it here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmds1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,678 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholme Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholme Manor

Property: Fairholme Manor
Address: 638 Rockland Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholme Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairholme Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing