We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and food”
Review of The Black Hat by Bistro28 - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Black Hat by Bistro28
Cuisines: International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Same owners as Bistro 28 in Victoria
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely meal in nice stylish setting. The service was great! I had the halibut which was nice and the cocktail selection was great. I would go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Better than "Average," not quite "Very Good."”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've been to Bistro 28 a number of times and have always enjoyed the food and found the service good. This was our second visit to The Black Hat and overall I'd have to say that we were a bit disappointed. There was nothing wrong with the food but I simply can't rate it in the "very good" category, though to be fair it probably deserves something a bit better than "average." (The quandry of the rating system.) We were more disappointed in the service than anything. Although the room was less than one-third full, our server was more than a little bit inattentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Move on”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Given the prior reviews we were surprised with the quality of food. We are not really picky and I have not had more than a couple of poor meals from nice establishments in my life, however this was one of them. The service was also bad do to a new undertrained and overwhelmed waiter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Uwmatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab Food!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited this restaurant twice while in Victoria. (We rarely do that, but enjoyed the first meal so much we had to go back.) The charcuterie board is scrumptious, especially the liver pate. I know it doesn't sound good. I don't even like liver, but I loved this! The dry ribs were out of this world! They have a good selection of beers and wine as well, and friendly wait staff. Prices are generally reasonable aside from the $12 salads, which are not entree salads, but they were very good as well. Atmosphere is "casual fine dining".

Loved it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Food in modern setting”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband, myself and my niece who was visiting from N.B. decided to try this new restaurant on a Sunday night. All the wines by the glass are $7.00 and that is a very good thing. We were greeted at the door and sat pretty well right away. The restaurant was not very busy so we did get all the attention. It is a new decor of open concept with open kitchen and easy on the eye colours. Music was soft and varied which is very good. The service was good and the food was quite enjoyable. I had the duck breast and a ceasar salad before. It was quite tasty but a bit different with the lettuce being blackened on the grill. The other two with me had the sockeye salmon and they said it was very good. The dessert were nice but nothing unusual. It was not what I was expecting as far as atmosphere. It felt dull and cold. Perhaps because the main floor was so empty. It is really very pricey even with the wines at $7.00 per glass. The atmosphere was not there but I hope they liven up at a later time. I would give it another try though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Hat by Bistro28 also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing