We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Vientiane - CLOSED

Lao Vientiane
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: New restaurant (open only two weeks) Thai and Laotian Cuisine.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went to the Lao Vientiane at 5:45 on a Saturday night. We were greeted promptly and sat right away. Drink orders were taken and they arrived quickly. The restaurant was quite quiet when we got there, but by the time we finished our appy's the place was filling up (6:15). Our dinners arrived in a timely manner and they were exactly as described in the menu. Absolutely delicious food! Everything was fresh and colourful.The veggies in the dishes were still crispy instead of cooked to a mush.The portions were perfect. We ordered 4 dishes to share amongst the four of us and we were all full. We left nothing on our plates! We did notice several tables around us waiting for drinks and food. The two staff were run off their feet. I think they could use an extra hand or two on a busy Saturday night. We would definitely go back again, although we would go before 6PM for better service and to beat the crowds.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best Laotian and Thai Food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place serves freshly prepared food and the dinner servings are so big that one order will serve two people. Lunch menus are nicely sized for one person. I have been many times and have never been disappointed with the food. Sometimes your server may not have a good command of the English language so be sure to be clear on what you are ordering. The place is situated in the northern part of the city but you can get there by bus if you do not have a car. Decor is basic and simple.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Must try the Green Curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have been a few times and this is quickly becoming one of my favourite spots for delicious food in Victoria. The portions are large and designed to share while the prices are very reasonable. The new menu is very colourful and easy to navigate through the numerous dishes.

Salad rolls are a delicious start, served with finger-licking peanut sauce and the lettuce wraps (Salad Hoo) are great to share as well. The papaya salad is a flavour explosion and my new discovery is the 'Yum Woon Sen' (Salad)-- glass noodles with prawns, ground pork, cucumber, cashews and all the best flavours of S.E. Asia (cilantro, lime & chilies).....soooo good!

It is impossible to visit without ordering the Green Curry---incredibly rich and flavourful.

I could go on about the food, but so far it is all delicious and consistent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FunkySocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant has a very basic decor nothing fancy but the food is amazing. I love chinesse food but use the basic crap you see on buffets. This was all very fresh and very taste. I will be back!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlossingQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
201 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch with ample seafood (Laotian and Thai food)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Enjoyed lunch here service was very good and the seafood portions were ample

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapitanVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Vientiane also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing