We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a good Indian place in Victoria”

Amrikkos Tadka Lounge
Ranked #407 of 1,189 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are Open 7 Days a week from Sunday to Thursday 11:00 am to 3 pm then we open at 4:00pm and close at 9:00 pm Friday and Saturday 11:00am to 3 pm then we open at 4:00pm and close at 10:00 pm Lunch Buffet All 7 Days 11:30 am to 3 pm
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finally a good Indian place in Victoria”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Better then any other place downtown, not counting Cafe Ceylon, which is an upper end place. This is great inexpensive place with good size menu. All that you may want is there, tandoor, flat breads, butter chicken, various curry dishes, great, thumbs way up for Amrikko's

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndreiFedorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barinder S, Manager at Amrikkos Tadka Lounge, responded to this review, September 5, 2015
Dear Andreifedorov,

Thank you so much for such motivating words and we strive towards offering even better services.

Thanks for your time and kinds words.
We look forward to see you soon.

AMRIKKO's FAMILY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A waste of money for bad tasting food”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband I went to Amrikko's in View Royal, Victoria last week.
All I can say is: Save your money & don't eat there!

We ordered the VEGGIE SAMOSA to start, nothing wrong with the taste, but we have had exactly the same ones in Calgary so they are obviously not made in house.
For the main my husband ordered BEEF KORMA and I odered ALOOGOBI.
To our surpise (and disappointment) it was the same sauce on both the dishes!

I always get the ALOOGOBI when ordering Indian food & I have never had one tasting so different & so bad! The meat in the BEEF KORMA was fatty and sma eaweful sauce!
Could not even finish the meal & I can tell you we did not want to bring any left overs with us home!

Save your money & do not visit Amrikko's!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenskasmulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barinder S, General Manager at Amrikkos Tadka Lounge, responded to this review, July 24, 2015
Dear Svenskasmulan

First of all thank you for your time. We highly appreciate your reviews.

You are definitely correct that curry sauces for both Aloo-gobhi and Beef Korma are different.
Aloo-gobhi is tomato base and Korma is cashew-nut sauce. We apologize for your bad experience.

We would like to inform you that Amrikko's is under new management from July 2015. Kindly give us another chance to serve you.

Once again your comments are precious.



General Manager

Amrikko's Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fabulous meal and value”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I went here for dinner tonight and were really impressed.
We were greeted as soon as we entered and shown to a booth.
The waiter was very helpful as this was our first visit there.The wine was very reasonably priced and a good English beer on tap.
The meal was delightful. The Lamb curry was delicious as was the Bombay Shrimp.
Mixed vegetables were a delight to eat as was the Nann bread.
Plain rice was just right.
Service and food were first class. Will definetly return

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaJohn1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barinder S, Manager at Amrikkos Tadka Lounge, responded to this review, September 5, 2015
Dear VicoriaJohn1946,

Thank you so much for such motivating words and we strive towards offering even better services.

Thanks for your time and kinds words.
We look forward to see you soon.

AMRIKKO's FAMILY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food on Vancouver Island”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a sister restaurant to Amrikko's in Nanaimo; the Nanaimo location used to be the best on Vancouver Island but it is now 2nd to Amrikko's in View Royal (Victoria). Main courses are atound $11 to $15; sides such as Naanbread are $3 or so. Amrikko's is licenced and has Indian beer on offer.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daninvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barinder S, Manager at Amrikkos Tadka Lounge, responded to this review, September 5, 2015
Dear daninvictoria,

Thank you so much for such motivating words and we strive towards offering even better services.

Thanks for your time and kinds words.
We look forward to see you soon.

AMRIKKO's FAMILY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amrikkos Tadka Lounge also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Amrikkos Tadka Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing