We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast place”
Review of Bubby's Kitchen

Bubby's Kitchen
Ranked #50 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Busy restaurant with wholesome West Coast cuisine that your grandmother (Bubby) would be proud of, located in charming Cook Street Village.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast place”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Worth the walk over. The wait was very manageable and they just took our cell number and called when the table was ready which was great. We had a yummy benny and a scramble and they were both great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    88
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food At A Reasonable Price”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went to Bubby's for a pre-Christmas get together with some friends who wouldn't be here for Christmas. It was crowded and it is suggested that if you are intending to visits Bubby's that you book. There is a patio out front with heaters although at this time of the year and especially in the evening it would be a bit cool.

All the food is from local (BC) producers - whether it is wild Pacific salmon, short ribs, duck or veggies and everything tasted fresh.

The wine list while not extensive is very good and the prices most reasonable for a restaurant. All wines are available by the glass. There was a good selection of bottled local craft beers and a couple on tap. Which I can state were excellent.

Our table was ready when we arrived and the service throughout the evening was attentive without being "in your face". We were not rushed in any way which made for a very pleasant evening. Our server was helpful and knowledgeable about the menu including the wine.

This was a great experience and as it is in our neighbourhood we will be going back. We want to work through the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were told by our Inn that we would have good food here. The staff kindly allowed us to take places at the bar when the cafe was full. The food was very good and we even had space for dessert.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty food, well priced in vibrant cafe”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice variety of tasty food. Hubby had a bison burger voted one of the best ever had. I went for veggie burger which was very tasty. Place was buzzing and good value compared to downtown tourist traps. A nice find and well worth seeking out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good organic menu with nice atmosphere”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are looking for a relatively romantic quiet atmosphere I suggest you arrive early or late. This restaurant obviously is a hit with the local crowd, being fairly busy mid-evening. The food is different from the normal menu, very good, portions ample and reasonably priced. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DNvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubby's Kitchen also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Bubby's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing