We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, but go early”

The Village Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 1,186 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Breakfast & Brunch Victoria, BC V8R 2S6(250) 592-8311www.thevillagerestaurant.caHours:Mon-Sun 8 am - 3:30 pmGood for Groups: NoAccepts Credit Cards: YesParking: StreetAttire: CasualPrice Range: $$ Good for Kids: NoTakes Reservations: NoDelivery: NoTake Away: YesWaiter Service: YesOutdoor Seating: YesGood For: Breakfast, BrunchAlcohol: Full BarWheelchair Accessible: Yes
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, but go early”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had lunch here with a friend and because the restaurant is a little small, we decided to go early. We got there at 11:30AM for lunch, which was just perfect. We were seated right away and bought our tea and coffee while we reviewed the menu. By the time we left at 12:45PM, the place was just hopping, with a line-up to get in. The food was very good, some interesting/different options which is nice to see. Everything was very fresh and flavourful. The portions are a little small and the prices are on the higher end for a soup and salad, but worth it. Service was great, very friendly. I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Finally Oak Bay has a breakfast place. The previous owners were rather mean and clueless, but the new owners obviously know what they are doing. We've been three times and have sat both inside and out. Food is great. Some unique choices. Love the Benny's on latkes! Very nice serving staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, noisy, a trifle dear”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Six of us sat down for breakfast. All the plates were nicely presented, colourful, and the food was really quite tasty. My Italian Benny was impeccable - perfect eggs (for me) on top of portobello mushrooms then on top of a sizable latke with fresh fruit tidbits on the side; the 4 small portions of my wife's blintzes were tasty but would definitely not be enough for the average appetite.

Now the coffee - wow - thankfully NOT burnt coffee but a reasonable quality - and huge mugs - perhaps 8 or more ounces each - refilled if you stuck your mug out. Trouble was, the coffee got cold before you were half way down - perhaps smaller mugs would be a good option?

Servers were "bland" - not even a simple welcoming smile but they did their work. If you enjoy a peaceful breakfast or meal, think twice - the place echoes and the screaming children detracted from our enjoyment. The bill for 2 was $36, a trifle high for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrietbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly and Delicious!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Checked out "The Village" for the first time on one of their busiest days of the year -- the Times-Colonist 10K Run day. But that didn't phase The Village. Even though they were shorthanded (a server called in sick), the cheerful, efficient hostess who was dealing with the line up took our name and produced a table for five for a birthday brunch celebration. Great service, really delicious potato latkes, blintzes and bennies. The place was hopping and happening. We'll be back!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Love this place! It is situated away from downtown in beautiful Estevan village. Food is always fresh, amazing, love their Benny's and had the feature salad today-wow! Child friendly and always busy-for a reason. You'll find oak bay's older folk, new moms with babes and everything in between. For a local experience, I'd recommend it. 2 blocks from the ocean. Service gets four starts because although efficient and courteious, I wish they had a few more smiles:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank botenika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing