We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Sandman in Victoria for one night. I live further north on Vancouver Island and come to Victoria periodically. I thought I'd try somewhere new (and near to my destination). The hotel seemed quite clean and well kept. Staff was friendly. What disappointed me was how NOISY the hotel was. I returned after dinner to find that the bar was full and very loud (a Friday night). The noise followed me into the hotel and to my 3rd floor room. After settling in, I could still hear noise from the stairs, elevator and surrounding rooms. The headboard on my bed was not attached properly and banged everytime a door opened or closed, or the people upstairs walked. I could clearly hear voices in the next room (well enough to understand their conversation). This continued until 3am and I was woken again at 6am by people coming and going. The bath tub also did not drain properly, and filled up while I showered.

I won't be staying here again. I shouldn't have to move rooms after already unpacking and settling in. This hotel needs to be updated with better sound proofing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room far away from the elevator and hope that it's quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with me regarding your most recent stay with us. I do apologize that you encountered some noise concerns during your stay with us.

This weekend you are referring too was a sold out weekend for us. We did have a number of teams staying with us and was also an event night at the Shark Club. We do enforce strict policies to our teams that are staying with us. Each team must fill out and sign a team conduct agreement that lists the hotel rules and policies regarding quiet times etc. We also have security that patrols the hallways and property to ensure rules are being adhered too. We did have no noise complaints brought to our attention on this specific weekend. Again we always want to ensure our guests enjoy a quiet and memorable stay.

We have addressed the concern with the headboard and the shower drain and have corrected these issues, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I can assure you that we would welcome the opportunity to have you back to stay with us. I would be more than happy to speak to you directly regarding your past stay. I can be reached at (250) 388-0788

Again thank you for your feedback and I am most certain your next stay will be a pleasurable one.

Kind Regards,

Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    60
    20
    10
See reviews for
40
44
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
diessen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

when we arrived at the hotel,we thought we could easy walk to the centre. Well it's ok during the day but i wouldn't recomend it later in the evening. The hotel is ok, The room was big and clean but next time i think we will get a hotel closer to the nicer part of victoria.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our centrally located hotel. Most of our guests prefer our location to the inner harbour area as we are centrally located and 20 minutes walk to the inner harbour. The hotel itself is also centrally located to Mayfair Mall, Uptown Mall and many of Victoria's wonderful tourist attractions. It really depends on what you are looking at doing while your in the Victoria area. An added bonus that we offer compared to any inner harbour hotel is FREE parking for all of our guests.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is a long way from the centre and the walk is along a busy main road with furniture showrooms and car dealerships.

Beware of the pet friendly policy as you may end up with a barking dog in the room next door. We did and had to move rooms - hotel did this readily but nevertheless it was hassle forus.

Rooms were large and clean and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefultraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is a real mix of good and bad, and which side wins depends on what's most important to you. My travel plans changed pretty late in the game, and I had to change hotel plans, as most of the Victoria hotels were full. I was staying several days and needed a place with a kitchen, and the Sandman delivered. For $149/night, I got a room with a small-but-serviceable kitchen - small fridge, 2 burner stove, MW & CM, with basic dishes, flatware, and cooking pans in good shape. The room, bed, bath, living room, and temperature control were all comfortable, though a bit old fashioned and worn. The room was quiet, even though it is on a busy street. But... it was only relatively clean (though not horrible), the daily cleaning service left a lot to be desired, there were white deposits on the drapes (everything that I can imagine these stains to be is gross), both TVs were old and the signal reception poor, and the staff very inconsistent - they were friendly until you asked anything of them, then they were rude. They would not let me check in early. My big problem, though, was that the hotel is not in a very good area. It is in an industrial mix, and I was bothered several times by panhandlers in the hotel parking lot. There is a liquor store adjacent to the parking lot, which is nice if you want to make a purchase, but is undoubtedly one reason that they have problems with bums. When out walking, men in cars would pull over and wait for me to pass by; it was quite disconcerting, and later my colleagues said that the hotel is in an area frequented by prostitutes (though this was NOT a problem in the hotel). There was no pleasant place to take an evening walk from the hotel. I didn't try either the bar (which was busy and noisy) or the breakfast. On the plus side, though, the hotel is within a 15-minute walk of The Moon Under Water Brewpub, and another 15 minutes to the main tourist section.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyFromTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value the feedback of all of our guests. I am sorry that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We strive on quality and satisfaction for all of our guests.

In regards to your comments regarding our rooms, we are in the process of upgrading our hotel and our rooms. Over the last year we have installed flat screen tv's in half of our hotel rooms, added new carpet to many guest rooms, and are in the process of adding new bedding to all of our suites. We will also be adding new furniture to a selection of our guest rooms. All of these upgrade will help to enhance the guest experience for all of our valued guests.

We have discussed your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and can assure you we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and will ensure that all of these housekeeping concerns are rectified immediately.

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your early request on check in, however we were a full house the night before and were unable to get you in to your room at your early arrival. We do guarantee the check in time of 4pm. In our peak season we do our best to try to accommodate these requests, however we can't guarantee it.

I have also noted your comments on the area of the hotel. We are located downtown and as in any city we do our best to prevent incidents like this from happening on hotel property. We do have regular security patrols that take place of the interior and exterior areas of the hotel to keep any instances such as what you encountered to a very minimum. Unfortunately as in any city these instances are beyond our control but we will and always do our best to prevent this from occurring on hotel property.

We are also located close to many wonderful parks, one of my favourites is a nice walk along the Gorge.

I always want to ensure that our guests are satisfied and comfortable when staying with us. As this seems to not be the case with your recent stay I would be more than happy to discuss this with you in more detail. I can be reached at the hotel directly and look forward to having the opportunity to further discuss your stay with us.

Again thanks for your feedback and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and do our best to exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Super great service. Very accommodating. It was much quieter than I thought it would be considering the location and locale of our room above the Shark Club. Room was very clean, but a bit tired. Bedding and décor were old-style. Some freshening up to the décor would be a huge improvement. Beds were comfy and seemed quite new.
Very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at the hotel during a week in July and once again in August. This is the "high" season for rates (and tourists) in Victoria but was able to get a good rate via their 1-800 reservation line (along with a call by them to the manager to get the best deal). Both times stayed in the King suite (with kitchette - didn't really use that). Rooms were clean and large enough for my use. Underground parking was nice (not many use it, kept car cool and bird dropping free), pool looked nice (but never used it) and Sharks Club was a good bar with really good food (had the steak sandwich which was the best I have had in a while). Cleaning staff were always friendly, front desk were helpful (and if there was an issue with the room they promptly had it fixed - TV had reception issues, so they replaced with new TV). Location is just outside of downtown area so parking is free, but you are close enough with a short drive, bus ride, or 15 min walk. Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicTraveler_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights a the Sandman Hotel Victoria on August 2-4, 2012. We were pleasantly surprised at the price $119.00/night and were given a suite which included a second tv, kitchenette and pull out sofa. My only slight disappointment was the front office staff. Upon checking in we asked for directions to Butchart Gardens (being a major attraction in Victoria, British Columbia) for the morning. Unfortunately, the staff wasn't sure where it was located, actually pulled out a map and gave us incorrect directions. We were surprised that the hotel staff living in the city of Victoria wouldn't know how to direct us to such an important attraction that millions of people visit yearly. Thankfully with WIFI, we looked up the gardens ourselves and found our way.

Room Tip: Great Price for a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonProud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Tally Ho Hotel
Tally Ho Hotel
#41 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#42 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Victoria

Property: Sandman Hotel Victoria
Address: 2852 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful capital city of British Columbia, Victoria is one of BC's most popular tourist destinations. Filled with amazing history, architecture, and a vibrant arts scene, Sandman Hotel Victoria is ideal for long restful vacation stays and short business trips. Whatever your reason for taking a trip to the sensational city of Victoria, Sandman Hotel Victoria will make sure your stay is absolutely flawless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing