We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could eat here weekly!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skinnytato - CLOSED

Skinnytato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Polish, Eastern European, Central European, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to our restaurant! We are a family-run Polish influenced restaurant, whose food is cooked with, above all else, love and care. All of our dishes are made by hand, from scratch, and the majority of these by our mama, Katherina. We offer many gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan slow-cooked options for the health-conscious customer. Our specialties are deliciously stuffed potato pancakes, tender pierogies, hearty soups, fresh salads and Polish beer not available in any other restaurant in Victoria! Whether it's dine-in or take-out, we look forward to serving you in our home-style atmosphere!
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wish we could eat here weekly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our first trip to Victoria, and we strolled by Skinny Tato. My boyfriend is Polish and grew up with his grandma cooking and speaking Polish. This restaurant is so genuine, quaint, friendly. Katerina could not have been more open with us. Truthfully, we would have returned a second night, except the owners were going on holiday. We started with pickle soup. How does anyone make anything this tasty? Not one drop left in my bowl, not even a half-drop. Mark had a stew-type dinner with potato pancakes. Licked the plate clean. I opted for beet salad. Unique. Delicious. We live in Florida, but indeed, hope to return to Skinny Tato in Victoria, BC!
P.S. Return customers waited in line, to be seated!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRuchotzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Homestyle Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We happened upon Skinny Tato on our 2 night visit to Victoria. My family is Polish so the food is familiar to me and my husband loves Polish food. This restaurant did not disappoint. It reminded me and my European husband of being in a European eatery. The server was the cook who was the owner. She and her husband were very friendly and offered suggestions. It made you feel at home. The food was wonderful. We had the stew and the sample platter. We started our meal with a bowl of borscht which was to die for! We then had apple cake for dessert which was delicious. And my husband enjoyed the Polish beer. The prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area and the portions were very generous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting but not a 'return to' restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I think once you've been to this restaurant once you won't need return for a 2nd time.

The night we went to this restaurant, we were the only people there. That should have given us a clue……..the food was 'home' style and while OK, wasn't anything special. We ordered the sampler plate. It comes with a cup of pea soup, which we didn't particularly want, but was it was good - in fact, it was the best part of the meal.

Included on the sampler plate is sausage, a huge cabbage roll that was mostly rice and some perogees - that's all - no veggies or anything else on the plate. Then they charge you an extra dollar if you want a little spoonful of sour cream!'!!! It all just seemed kind of chintzy (and a bit irritating) when you're paying almost $20 for a plate of food to charge that extra dollar.

Our server was very good - but then she only had the 2 of us to serve so she had plenty of time to see that we had all we needed. The tables are very close together so you wouldn't have much privacy (or quiet) if the place was full.

It was OK but there are much better and more interesting places to eat in Victoria.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhughesehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ate here while our cruise ship was in port in Victoria. Food had a homemade authenticity and tasted great. Service was friendly, but since it's a mom and pop restaurant, the server didn't come around often enough. Would definitely eat here again though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small but mighty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's a tiny hole-in-the-wall spot and slightly off the tourist beaten path, but worth looking for if you like Polish food. With 16 seats if you're on a schedule, call ahead. Delish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmjives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinnytato also viewed

Victoria, Prince Edward Island
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing