We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pierogi ever! short walk from the Inner Harbour”
Review of Skinnytato - CLOSED

Skinnytato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Polish, Eastern European, Central European, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to our restaurant! We are a family-run Polish influenced restaurant, whose food is cooked with, above all else, love and care. All of our dishes are made by hand, from scratch, and the majority of these by our mama, Katherina. We offer many gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan slow-cooked options for the health-conscious customer. Our specialties are deliciously stuffed potato pancakes, tender pierogies, hearty soups, fresh salads and Polish beer not available in any other restaurant in Victoria! Whether it's dine-in or take-out, we look forward to serving you in our home-style atmosphere!
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best pierogi ever! short walk from the Inner Harbour”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant of five tables was full by 6PM on a Tues night.The owner and his wife run the restaurant featuring authentic Polish food. I found this restaurant on TripAdvisor but the townspeople may know it well because it has been featured in the local paper. My husband had the hunter's platter and I the vegetarian platter. Both were excellent. My favorite was the beet Polish salad, latkes, and pierogi which were wonderful and great for vegans. The restaurant also features alcoholic drinks and dessert. The coconut crepes looked good on the dessert menu but we were so full that we could not partake. The owner made it a point to talk to all the customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find! Delicious and affordable”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had dinner here during a two-day trip to Victoria and it was our favorite restaurant. We chose it for convenience (walking distance to Inner Harbour) and because of the number of vegetarian and gluten free options. We started with the pickle soup, which came with each meal and was absolutely delicious. We then ordered stuffed potato pancakes, which came with four salads (beet, cabbage, potato) - a healthy serving of food for a great price! Everything was wonderful. Despite being completely satiated by our meals, we couldn't resist the coconut crepes and ice cream, and we weren't disappointed! The owners were friendly and the food came out quickly as well. We hope to have another opportunity to dine here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Polish food in downtown Victoria”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is some of the best Polish food I've eaten, hands down. Having lived in Poland on a number of occasions, I can say that what Skinnytato offers is authentic, and representative of that nation's fine (though not fancy) cuisine. Simple but tasty staples like pierogi, bigos, placki, kielbasa, and golabki are offered in substantial portions, making the mouth water and satisfying a healthy appetite. Wash it all down with a Zywiec (or Tyskie, if you are so inclined) and you've just had one of the best meals you'll find in Victoria!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Their latkes (potato pancakes) and pierogi (stuffed dumplings) are delicious. The place is small, the service is great, the prices are fair and they accommodate vegans and vegetarians. Try their pierogi, seriously. You won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMoniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food, good prices, friendly service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food is incredible. You feel like family while you're there. Make reservations If you can as the restaurant is on the small side and fills up quickly

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurseashwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinnytato also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing