We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once more we stayed at Abbeymoore Manor and marveled at such quality accommodation. Ian, Ann and Michelle are are warm hosts who genuinely care about the comfort of their guests. We return each fall and are welcomed as family!

Room Tip: We love the comfort of garden suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    37
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
127
764
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our third stay at Abbeymoore. Same great hosts, delicious breakfasts, interesting other guests, and a relaxing time. And, a delicious bottle of port in the lounge for a late night sip. Location is beautiful situated in the old treed part of Victoria. Just walking around in the neighbourhoods is reinvigorating to the soul. And only a short walk down to the coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertageophysicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Is that possible, a number of you might ask? Yes!

I really wanted to stay at the Abbeymoore when we visited Victoria (we had the option to stay at the Empress) as I am always intrigued by hotels/B&Bs that have been given so many excellent ratings by reviewers.

Everyone seems to rate the service very highly - I didn't, because I felt that the staff were just trying too hard and the result is that the service does not feel genuine but forced.

From the moment I arrived, I felt uncomfortable. I was not allowed to cross the threshold without the formal welcome starting. There were clear stages that one had to go through before being shown to your room (introductions, presentation of map of Victoria, questions about plans during stay, formal visit of communal areas, demonstration of coffee/tea amenities) when all I wanted to do was to go to my room, shut the door and chill out after a 5 hour drive. I mentioned this several times during the "routine" but my needs were not heeded - the set routine had to continue. And that is the difference between genuinely good service and a contrived one.

Nor did I enjoy the "breakfast ritual". Much was made of the multi-course breakfast. But I would have preferred most of the "courses" to be brought at the same time then I could have eaten them in my preferred order. But we had to wait for each "course" to be delivered following enquiries as to how we had enjoyed the previous course. Again, everything felt forced. The routine breakfast enquiry if we had any plans for the day really jarred as it was made by the same person who had booked our whalewatching tour the previous evening! A good hotelier remembers such details about their guests, makes them feel unique, not just the recipient of the ritual.

Having such a good track record must put hoteliers under a lot of pressure and in my mind the result is that something that was probably of a genuine high standard in the beginning has now become a requirement to deliver.

I have still given a very good rating, because when I was left to my own devices, I actually enjoyed staying at the Abbeymoore - it is a comfortable house, with a lovely historic charcter and it is clear that someone has paid great attention to detail. My advice would be for the staff to relax a little and be less formulaic...!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham Manor, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our stay here was perfect—a sensual experience.

Breakfasts were superb. Each of our 3 breakfasts, consisting of a 1st course and main course, was a culinary treat—artfully presented, creative and delicious (e.g., a perfectly-timed poached egg crowned a Creole crab and prawn cake). Our first-rate culinary experience was augmented by the staff’s attention to service detail. We chose the outside porch seating which afforded views of the Rockland neighborhood’s natural beauty.

Sunlight poured into the Master Bedroom illuminating the room’s stately elegance. The leather reclining chairs were soft to the touch and invited the body to relax. Ultra comfortable bedding lulled us to sleep. The newly renovated large bathroom was gorgeous—our baths were soothing and the showers invigorating.

Anne, Ian and Michelle (innkeepers) and other staff made us feel special; we appreciated their professionalism, sensibilities, warmth, expertise and extra touches. Their suggestions enhanced our visit to Victoria.

Book now. Experience the grandeur, comfort and culinary delights of the finest B&B. Discover why, in our opinion, Abbeymoore Manor unequivocally sets the gold standard for B&Bs. Can you tell we loved it?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The only regret we have about our stay at Abbeymoore Manor is that it was too brief! We were really passing through Victoria on our way from Tofino back to Washington. What a mistake!

The Manor is elegant, spacious and quiet, but without pretense or grandiosity. Perhaps this is because the innkeeper, Ian, is such a gracious, knowledgeable, helpful host. He did everything to make our brief visit feel unhurried, yet full. We were directed on a lovely neighborhood walking tour that included the Government House gardens and Craigdarroch Castle, then sent to our reserved, garden table at the excellent Cafe Brio, followed by a nightcap in the Abbeymoore living room. Ian also made sure we knew how and when to arrive at our ferry the next morning, so we were able to enjoy a peaceful, sumptuous breakfast before our reluctant departure. What a perfect retreat in a lovely neighborhood. We shall return.

Room Tip: The front room with porch is a lovely treat. All rooms are quiet and sparkling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A three day break in Victoria,and Abbeymoore Manor was a great base. Following a personal recommendation we arrived and received a great welcome from Stephanie. Following settling in we asked for somewhere for an evening meal. The best was to come though. We were booked into the Rose Room - the King Size Bed, Shower Room, chair and sofa to relax on - the room was well appointed.

Then came the Breakfasts - pictures attached from the three mornings (and the menus). Whether it was the Tuna Omelette, Eggs Benedict or Garden Fritatta, each day a great breakfast. To add to this was the view out of the window and the humming bird feeding.

In the evenings, the pantry was a nice added touch. The mugs for tea/coffee were also available for sale. I collect mugs - so two duly bought and now exported back to the UK.

From the initial welcome from Stephanie, to the breakfast welcomes from Michelle, Maren, Ian and Anne, through to the final goodbye and checkout with Stephanie we were made most welcome.

Would we go again. Most definitely.

Room Tip: The images on the web site do not do the rooms justice, they are far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pencefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

A really warm and friendly B&B; the owners were so welcoming and helpful, including sightseeing tips and restaurant recommendations that all were great. The breakfasts were incredibly good.
And the house in directly across from the grounds of Government House; the British royal family's abode when the come to Victoria. The grounds are beautiful and a must-see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1470 Rockland Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relax in the historic Rockland district of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Abbeymoore Manor offers romantic heritage bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet residential setting. We offer B and B rooms or self-contained suites at ground level and a penthouse suite with ocean and mountain views. Located across the street from the Governors mansion, near Craigdarroch Castle and the Art Gallery, we are a five minute drive to all downtown Victoria's attractions, US ferries and four blocks to the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbeymoore Manor b&b Inn
Abbeymoore Manor Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing