We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes Please”
Review of Wannawafel

Wannawafel
Ranked #4 of 41 Dessert in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are very proud to say that Wannawafel inspired and changed the way Canadians think about waffles after appearing on the very popular CBC show Dragons'Den. Now waffles can be an all day snack, no it doesn't always need Maple Sirup. We bake them fresh, it is fine to have a waffle without a topping. Lets try it. In our business it is all about the waffle and the people who serve them, all for you.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yes Please”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Good service was given to our table and the food was presented nicely. The taste was excellent and the quality was high as well. We liked our experience and the food very much and will return for sure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    28
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Light, flaky, delicious”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

These waffles are vastly different from the average waffle you get in North America. It does not feel heavy at all, even when you put ice cream on it, it feels light. The liege waffle has a great texture and sweetness, and the Belgian waffle melts in your mouth.

Will visit every time I am in Victoria.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything is so good there!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Presentation, atmosphere, the food tastes great. Staff are friendly.. Most of them are cute college guys!! <3

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgianwafel, Owner at Wannawafel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Sorry but this waffle shown was not one of our products, not our shape and style. Can I ask you kindly to remove this image and attach it to the right business.
Appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“These waffles are AMAZING”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place clean, well run, and the owners are incredibly friendly. But all that is just a bonus - the waffles are absolutely amazing. I've been a few times, but my son and I just had the Liege waffles with vanilla ice-cream and Belgian chocolate sauce. The warm waffle and cold ice cream were perfect together. My advice - save at least one piece of waffle for the end to swirl around and soak up all the intermingled ice-cream and chocolate!

It isn't cheap, but you are paying for top quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosewoodTamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome treat!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We first came across Wannawafel down by the harbor. They had a cart set up making waffles fresh as you order. The smell was great and too tempting to pass up. We were not disappointed. The waffle was hot, kind of sweet and very tasty.
The next day we wanted another, but to out dismay, the cart was gone. After researching online, we found that they had a little shop in a quaint area called The Market Square. A tiny little shop off the beaten path, but well worth the effort to find, so we could have another delicious waffle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icoupontosavemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wannawafel also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Wannawafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing