We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Enjoyable Experience”

Tally-Ho Carriage Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.18*
and up
Horse-Drawn Carriage Tour of Beacon Hill Park
Ranked #31 of 106 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tally-Ho Carriage Tours is Victoria, British Columbia's original horse-drawn tour company that has been creating unforgettable memories since 1903! Fall in love with our beautiful horses while allowing your professional, friendly and fun-loving tour guide to show you our fabulous city, reveal its rich history and amuse you with funny anecdotes. Allow us to pick you up at your hotel or restaurant, and on cool summer evenings snuggle into comfort with our soft, faux-fur blankets.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and thought this would be a nice romantic tour. We decided on taking the waterfront tour as we enjoy the character of the heritage homes. The tour was great and out guide was incredibly helpful, not only answering question in regards to the tour but as well as other parts of the city. It is a shame that I cannot remember her name as I would love to give her the credit she deserves. Keep up the great work guys!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    12
    9
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
827 reviews
343 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Booked a carrage tour to top off our visit to Victoria. It was great. Took the 1 hour tour and got a lot for the money. Driver was very knowledgable and obviously enjoyed her job and her city. Went through the historic area and the park with lots of insight into the history and the direction the city was going. Great views of the park. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Carriage ride August 5, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a wonderful evening carriage ride - the horse was Michael and we were impressed how well he followed commands. We took the 30 minute historic tour which was interesting and our driver had some nice anecdotes and gave us plenty of attention. It was a little chilly and the warm blanket provided was nice! I highly recommend this as a must-do in Victoria.
I was wondering at what age a horse can become a carriage horse.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandiSS6391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallyHoTours, Owner at Tally-Ho Carriage Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Generally, a horse could start learning to pull a cart or carriage when they are 4-5 years old. However, most of our horses are more mature (older than 7 years) before we introduce them to traffic and the noises of downtown Victoria as they must be 'ready' for what will be required of them. Before they are introduced to the streets of Victoria, they learn the ropes of carriage work in a more rural (subdued) setting. Not all horses are meant for carriage work - it takes a very special horse and we are so very fortunate to work with these amazing animals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“So relaxing and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My mom and I came to visit Victoria for the first time this weekend. We'd always wanted to do a carriage ride and thought this was the perfect opportunity. The horses looked well cared for and comfortable. We did the hour long Deluxe Tour with Kate (Katabo) and horse, Nick around 4:45pm. I highly recommend his time of day in the summer as the temperature was perfect for sight seeing and picture taking this time of year (August). It was the most relaxing and fun thing we've done in a long time! Kate was a great tour guide with an easy going personality and super nice. She had fun facts and we loved the neighborhood street houses, sea front, and park that she and Nick took us through. She spoke kindly to Nick, more like she would a partner, than "just a horse." So fun and defiantly worth the money!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very little narration - driver was too busy texting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I visited Victoria as the last stop on an Alaskan cruise. We had a great day visiting Butchart Gardens and exploring the city. We thought that a carriage ride tour of Victoria would be a great way to finish our trip and chose the 60 minute tour which was $185. We paid by credit card in advance and were asked if we would like to tip the driver which we declined saying we would tip appropriately after the tour. Our 'tour guide' was a young lady who seemed very disinterested and proceeded to text throughout our tour. We hit the curb twice, one time actually riding over the curb which she blamed on the horse (Bud). The only time we received commentary was when we asked questions and the couple of times she did point out anything was when she looked up from texting and we had already passed them. At the conclusion of the tour we were approached by the dispatcher/owner(?) who asked how our tour was. We felt it appropriate to give him some feedback but before giving us a chance to fully explain our experience he interrupted us and immediately wanted to confront the 'guide'. We did not want a confrontation so we walked away. A very disappointing experience and not the finish to our day that we had hoped for - we got more unsolicited information about the city from our taxi driver earlier in the day on our way to Butchart Gardens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallyHoTours, Owner at Tally-Ho Carriage Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We apologize you did not have the experience we strive to create for each of our guests. In our business, the tour guides do their best to 'read' each customer and adjust their tour/spiel accordingly. I would encourage anyone who is not having a fantastic time to politely voice any concerns or raise questions to your guide - they want you to leave happy!

Our drivers carry cell phones in case of emergency. Cell phones also enable our ticket salesperson and carriage drivers to communicate via short texts in an effort to ensure carriages are on time and not running late when back-to-back tours are booked (as is almost always the case in our busy tourism season). As we are dealing with live animals and traffic, this communication is essential to our ability to uphold our excellent customer service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tally-Ho Carriage Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Tally-Ho Carriage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing