We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious tradition since 1894”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Murchie's

Murchie's
Ranked #1 of 42 Dessert in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Southeast Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A delicious tradition since 1894”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A great place for coffee or Tea anytime. Great food no matter if its Breakfast, Lunch, or Afternoon Tea. It's quick, easy, fresh, and very reasonable! Choose what you want from the long glass display counters. Once you have completed your order, it will be assembled on a Silver Tray for you. Indoor and Outdoor seating ( I like the Tea Salon). There is also a large shop for your tea, and coffee needs. Locals and visitors have been enjoying Murchie's since 1894.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    221
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place for tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

They have lots of tea to choose from. They also have lots of yummy treat to choose from and savory stuff you can have for lunch or a snack.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMac17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast & English Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Easy to reach along the Government Street, this restaurant was so ideal for our breakfast. There were always lots of choices and we tried both the London Fog & Victoria Fog on two consecutive days; superb English Tea found nowhere in the City. Sandwitches, salads, pastries and desserts displayed in the window were so lovely but easily filled your stomach that we could hardly try them all within our three days stay in Victoria.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_HKSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must-visit in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I Love this place!! The atmosphere is bright and bustling- the tea is wonderful and served up on cute little trays- the desserts are amazing and everything is priced decently. We have to come by DAILY when we are visiting for tea and dessert or lunch. The attached shop provides for some fun tea and accessory shopping and is certainly worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m0mma23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dental Plan Not Included”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Murchie's is a tea house/dessert spot in downtown Victoria. It is always busy and a little cluttered. Finding a seat can become a bit of an elbowing contest, but the desserts are good and the coffee/tea is just fine. The bread pudding I ate was awesome, but I could feel my heart beginning to clog with each bite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whenissummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murchie's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Murchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing