We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Murchie's

Murchie's
Ranked #1 of 42 Dessert in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“always visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I always love a trip to Murchies while I am in Victoria. Has a true teahouse feel and delicious flavors and a to die for dessert case! The only downside is there is always a line!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    221
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Victoria landmark for good reasons!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A visit to Murchies is a must-do any time we get to Victoria. The quality of the coffee, tea and food is consistently high. Murchies does not over roast it's coffee, so it makes a nice break from Starbucks. The food is essentially lunch fare, and the pastries/cakes/cookies are amazing. The service is cafeteria-style, but the staff are capable and friendly.

Atmosphere is pretty lacking. The business is located in a heritage building, but the interior could really use a refresh. The attached Coffee/tea/condiments store looks great; the food/bev side not so much.

That said, this is a no frills place to get a great coffee or tea and a solid lunch or snack. It holds up over time and delivers quality in a low key fashion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Borrego1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was this tea or a lab specimen?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have enjoyed their tea and pastries for years, but after my last visit I'm not encouraged to return. I lined up for about ten minutes to get a simple cup of tea; the two young servers were sullen and uncommunicative; and although I'd ordered Irish Breakfast (about the fullest-bodied tea you can buy), the stuff that came out of the spout three minutes later looked like, well, a lab specimen from someone who'd just chugged two litres of water. I can only conclude the bag had seen previous use. I didn't want to line up again to make my complaint to a couple of girls who clearly didn't care, so I left.

Helpful?
2 Thank jennyamberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Restuarant With My Favorite Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of discovering Murchie's Tea when in Vancouver 14 years ago. (My favorite tea is the CBC Blend and I highly recommend it). The restuarant and tea shop were lovely and the food was great. Hope to go back soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaK-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Always a good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Whether you are looking for a place for a good lunch or a delicious pastry treat, this is the place. A great meeting place with friends or peruse that new book. Order one of their glorious rich sinful chocolate cakes for that special event. I am licking my lips over the memory of past purchases. And don't forget their strength: they have world wide selection of teas with knowledgeable staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blue Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murchie's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Murchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing