We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night as we had just finished a cruise in Vancouver and were heading North on Vancouver Island to Parksville. Felt a bit depressed as we arrived as the property looked a bit run down and there was a large skip in car park. Staff were friendly on check in and explained they were in the process of renovating. We had a lot of luggage and our room was on second floor, there was no lift....however, the man on reception kindly offered to carry our bags. We got a pleasant surprise when we got into our room, quite spacious and very clean. Bathroom was adequate for our needs for the night and also spotless. Went to bar for drink and felt a little uncomfortable for a few minutes as the few people in there stared at us...they all seemed to be locals. We sat by the window and a waitress came and gave us a menu...we explained we only wanted a drink but then my husband spotted something with prawns on the menu and ordered....when they arrived the waitress brought us an extra plate as she guessed I would want to try them....they were delicious! Before we had finished our drinks and food the karaoke began....we are not a lover of karaoke so decided to finish our drinks and leave. I dont know why, but we stayed a bit longer....and longer and had a fabulous evening! The place was packed by 11pm and everyone seemed to come to sing and all seemed to know each other and all were friendly towards us and made us fee part of something...great experience. The following morning we had a delicious breakfast (charged extra but worth it) and the staff gave us lots of info on thing to see and do around our final destination. A very surprising stay and proves one should make assumptions. Will stay here again if passing through Victoria...thanks for the great tme

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jazzyquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 941 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June and were pleased with how nice the hotel was. It looks a bit shabby from the outside, although it seemed to be having renovations. Our room though was very well kept - we got upgraded to a room with a kitchenette (although they locked away the kitchenware..) and very comfortable. There is a little bit of the normal noise from the rooms next door to deal with, but not the road noise I thought we'd get given we were close to the front of the hotel.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The pool was decent enough for a quick dip, and it was nice to have the option of some basic gym equipment and sauna although we didn't use them. The wifi signal was a bit pathetic by the time it got to our room - much better if you hover near reception! Nice to have a safe in the room, as we were travelling with passports, cash etc..

The location of the hotel isn't great if you want to walk downtown - when the site says minutes, it means by car! Busses run regularly from just outside the hotel, but the walk is about 30 minutes at least and not through a very nice area of town (prostitution and drug deals both sited when we walked!). We taxi'd back after dinner! Overall though, a good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank FranW52
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 49 in Victoria
804 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
224 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Victoria Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Victoria Uptown

Address: 229 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Victoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $68 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Victoria Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden City is yours to explore at our Victoria, BC hotel Enjoy a beautiful seaside getaway and warm energy when you choose our Days Inn Victoria Uptown hotel. Located in the heart of scenic historic uptown Victoria, and minutes from the Inner Harbour area, our pet-friendly Victoria, BC hotel offers easy access to Victoria International Airport (YYJ), as well as our fair city's many delights. Add thoughtful amenities that include two on-site restaurants, free WiFi, well-appointed guest rooms, and warm hospitality, and your stay at our hotel in Victoria is assured of ultimate comfort. Enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and two on-site dining options Among Victoria, BC hotels , ours is well-equipped with amenities that ensure satisfaction. Break a sweat in our fitness centre, swim a few laps in our indoor pool, and relax in our sauna. Our spacious guest rooms feature free WiFi, mini-refrigerator, 43-inch flat-screen TV, and coffee maker, and kitchenette suites are also available. We also offer a business center and airport transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Victoria Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Victoria Hotel Victoria
Travel Lodge Victoria
Victoria Travelodge
Victoria Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing