We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It should be made clear that this Travelodge is a motel not a hotel. If you''re looking for place to sleep where price is your main concern then then this Tavelodge might be for you. Would I stay at this hotel again? No. Would I recommend this hotel to friends? No. This is a 2 star motel at best. If I could describe the motel in 2 words it would be dirty and old. But the motel is very inexpensive so it really is a case of you get what you pay for.

The rooms are very small compared to a standard hotel room. The rooms are also very dated and worn. There was an empty fridge in our room. There was also an iron, small ironing board, and hair dryer in our room. The room also had a digital safe. Our room and bathroom were clean, sheets were clean, and the linen was clean. Our tub did not drain properly - after a couple minutes in the shower, water was up above my ankles.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, even in your room. There is also one computer by the front desk for guest use that has Internet access.

The hotel does have a restaurant in it that is open for breakfast. There is also a bar attached to the motel that has an outside deck. You don't want a room close to this as it was quite loud.

The motel is completely smoke free. This means that the smokers hang outside on the balconies smoking. The result is that there are cigarette buts scattering the ground.

I have uploaded some photos of this hotel to help you.

If you found this review helpful please let me know by clicking the helpful button thank you.

Room Tip: Stay away from front of motel as the bar is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, we are a motel style property. However, we have many of the traditional comforts and amenities of a standard three star hotel including a restaurant, indoor pool, saunas and fitness centre. We couldn't agree more that if someone is looking for a clean place to sleep and price is the primary concern, we are most definitely the place to stay. Our brand promise is "Nice Rooms, Great People" and we aim to deliver that to every guest at incomparable value. Having said that, we cannot be everything to everyone and if you are looking for a more upscale product with higher end amenities, we will not meet your needs. We are a budget family-friendly hotel featuring clean, up-to-date rooms and the comforts of home.

While our building is older, our maintenance and housekeeping staff have done a tremendous job of maintaining the condition of the property and numerous hotel inspectors will attest to this. Recently, our housekeeping staff were awarded the Travelodge Best Housekeeping Award for 2012 reflecting our commitment to clean rooms. We are also a Travelodge Quality Excellence property meaning that we rank in the top 10% of all Travelodge properties in Canada for our high standards of service and cleanliness.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Some of our standard guest rooms are on the smaller side. However, we do offer a variety of room options. There are larger standard rooms in the hotel that can accommodate guests requiring extra space. Our staff are always happy to provide complimentary upgrades based on availability to those who are not satisfied with their room. I am unclear why you felt the hotel was dirty as you did state that the room, bathroom, sheets and linen were all clean. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and will use this in our on-going efforts to improve the levels of quality and service that we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 964 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

stayed for 1 night on holiday, room was basic but clean with large comfortable bed. You can either walk into Victoria centre or free buses are provided by the hotel at certain times of day. We did find the hotel quite noisy and so our sleep was disrupted by people walking above us, I dont think the people were being particularly noisy but the walls/ceilings may be quite thin. Would still stay here again if looking for a budget hotel in the area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location offers many convenient options for the short commute to downtown from the leisurely waterfront walk along the Galloping Goose trail or a ride on our free shuttle or the Victoria Harbour Ferry. Getting to and from our hotel is often half the fun! I am sorry to hear that the room was noisy. This is not a routine occurence in our hotel and do please bring this to the attention of our staff if this happens in the future so that we can rectify the issue immediately. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice clean rooms and quiet surroundings for the budget minded. Perfectly situated for walking the urban trails of Victoria. Don't miss out on the organic coffee and baking at Fol Epi bakery on your morning walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all that our location has to offer including the quiet, family friendly neighbourhood and our great access to the nearby Galloping Goose Regional trail which provides guests with a waterfront pathway straight to Victoria's downtown and inner harbour! There are indeed many great stops along the way! Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked a last minute room for labor day weekend. We really liked the room and water view. There was the kitchen in the room but we didnt use it. The only thing i didnt like is the heater. It is not possible to set a temp in the room, it can only flow same hot air continously which makes the room very hot. I prefer it stop when it reaches a temp. Any way great hotel. close to downtown and we park down town and walk to all the places.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms and spectacular views of Victoria's Upper harbour. Our air-conditioning units are older models but as we continually upgrade, we will install units that enable better climate control. We apologize for any inconvenience and look forward to being of service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's often hard to find a place to stay that is truly pet friendly and works well. We were traveling with our beagle who can be a bit nervous in hotel rooms. We were given a ground floor room with direct outdoor access with a small park across the street. And better yet, there are extensive walking trails a block away.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank LookoutChilliwack_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our truly pet friendly accommodations. From luxury pet beds to welcome treats at check-in, we do everything we can to make your pet feel at home. With our pet friendly location, waterfront dog park, nearby walking trails and convenient exterior entry to guest rooms, it's no surprise that we are in a pet owner's paradise! Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your four legged friend again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My room was exceptionally large, nice quiet location but still close to downtown. Staff was very courteous, lots of parking and close to the water. I will definitely stay here again. I usually only book travelodge for short overnight stays but this one I would stay at longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our location suited your needs. Our location is ideally suited for extended stays with our convenient location, quiet neighbourhood atmosphere, kitchen suites, waterviews, indoor pool and on-site guest laundry along with several other amenities. Combine all of those amenities with our signature family-style service and we'll have you feeling at home in no time! Thanks for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay on your next visit to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

our family of three stayed here for several nights at end of July in a one bedroom kitchenette suite.

Very clean, sufficiently equipped for light meals.

housekeeping staff friendly and helpful, front desk staff very pleasant and well informed.

excellent value for money - we would certainly come here again.

minor quibble - for these old bones, pool could have been a couple of degrees warmer - didn't seem to be a problem for the kids, however.

Room Tip: no elevators - may want to book first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Victoria! Our one bedroom suites are indeed ideal for families. Many of our guests appreciate the opportunity to reserve a kitchen unit for a minimal additional charge which helps to save on meal costs. We pride ourselves on our ability to cater to families by offering affordable rates, great value, and many free amenities - all located in a family and pet friendly environment. I am sorry that the pool temperature was not to your liking. As you can imagine, all of our guests have varying preferences for pool temperature and we do our best find a temperature that appeals to all. But unfortunately, we can't please everyone. I am glad that your kids did not seem to mind. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
813 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 47 in Victoria
225 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 47 in Victoria
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Victoria Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Victoria Uptown

Address: 229 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Victoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $56 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Victoria Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden City is yours to explore at our Victoria, BC hotel Enjoy a beautiful seaside getaway and warm energy when you choose our Days Inn Victoria Uptown hotel. Located in the heart of scenic historic uptown Victoria, and minutes from the Inner Harbour area, our pet-friendly Victoria, BC hotel offers easy access to Victoria International Airport (YYJ), as well as our fair city's many delights. Add thoughtful amenities that include two on-site restaurants, free WiFi, well-appointed guest rooms, and warm hospitality, and your stay at our hotel in Victoria is assured of ultimate comfort. Enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and two on-site dining options Among Victoria, BC hotels , ours is well-equipped with amenities that ensure satisfaction. Break a sweat in our fitness centre, swim a few laps in our indoor pool, and relax in our sauna. Our spacious guest rooms feature free WiFi, mini-refrigerator, 43-inch flat-screen TV, and coffee maker, and kitchenette suites are also available. We also offer a business center and airport transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Victoria Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Victoria Hotel Victoria
Travel Lodge Victoria
Victoria Travel Lodge
Victoria Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing