We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveler rating
280
298
117
29
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
298
117
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationgatsby mansionincluded breakfastunderground parkingan older hotelclipper ferryinner harborwithin walking distancefirst floorhot breakfastbreakfast roomstay there againold world charmfisherman's wharfblack ball ferrybed was comfortableenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 748 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband, young son and I stayed at the Huntingdon Hotel & Suites in September 2012. We were staying in Victoria for a day and chose the Huntingdon for it's location and what we saw online. It appeared to be a clean, newer more modern style hotel. Well looks are deceiving. The hotel in reality is NOTHING like the pictures online. First and foremost. Its old, and the rooms are smelly. There is a lack of ambience and the front desk staff were just "ok". When we opened the door to our room, I noticed that room had a very unpleasant odour, stale and dirty. I inspected the room to make sure that it was at least clean. I was very disappointed to see that the bed duvet/cover was stained all over. This was unacceptable. I was later informed that they had no other duvets available. They offered us another room but after already being somewhat settled in, we didn't want to move everything over into another room. I told the front desk staff to just take the dirty duvet out of the room. Next was the crib they provided. How disgusting. DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY! How can any hotel feel good about providing a crib/playpen in that state? There were so many stains on it , it didn't look as if it was cleaned in months or even at all. I would never let my child sleep in that kind of filth. The hotel should really be embarassed for providing such mediocre amenities. I understand the place needs updates and I have been to hotels that are not exactly "new" but at least keep the place clean. The windows, the curtains ..dirty dirty dirty. How can you enjoy and relax in a hotel like this? I think as the manager of this hotel I would make CERTAIN that the cleanliness is up to par! People work hard for their money and when they save up to go on a holiday they should at least be greeted by a clean room. Not comforters that are stained. gross. At least upon check out we were given a parking credit of 30 dollars after this unsatisfactory stay. I do hope that this hotel improves because the location is really good and convenient. Don't show nice pictures on line and be something different in reality. MK

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your honest comments, we appreciate your feedback.
I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences you and your family encountered while our guests. Your concerns and observations have been discussed with the Housekeeping and Front Desk Departments to ensure these kind of occurrences will not happen again.
Please feel free, and this if you are planning to visit Victoria again, to contact my office when making your next reservation.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was small but comfortable and clean. The bed linens and towels were white and stain-free. We were able to walk to all the local downtown attractions very easily. (Parliament Building, The Bay Centre, Info Centre, Empress Hotel, water front, Beacon Park & shopping) We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraLACanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
I behalf of all of our employees we thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Victoria.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully near future and remain
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately the room was very dated and old. Could really use some new room decor. The lobby and public areas looked fine and historical, but rooms haven't been renovated for some long time. It would be nice if they were kept in the historical theme when they do them up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jreardigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
While our ownership is committed to be renovating this property within the next few months, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Victoria.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully near future and remain
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Huntingdon Hotel on 3 occassions during our visit to Vancouver Island in August and September. First impressions on arrival were "dated" but very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent on the Inner Harbour and walking distance to downtown Victoria. Gardens to relax in and free internet access. We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no hestitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaWilson51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
I behalf of all of our employees we thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Victoria.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully near future and remain
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good retro 80's decor feel.This hotel needs an update and fresh look. Neat and tidy otherwise. Noisy aircon, sweaky fan, broken oven door - does not close properly. Incomplete cutlery and utensils for 4 guests, no wine glasses or cork screw. Front desk had a bad unfriendly attitude upon requesting these.

Good location.

Room Tip: Choose room with a balcony for good flow of fresh air. Room 337 has one king bed in loft and a double bed in living area, which works well for two couples.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaLillooet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. It is our goal to improve the physical appreance of the property and the service levels in all departments.
The new ownership is committed to renovating the property within the next few months
We sincerely hope you will be returning and staying with us in the future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews