We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best to avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have travelled to many places and stayed in many different hotels - I don't recall coming across one that is worst than Huntingdon. The room was not vacuumed for whole 3 days we were there (despite personal request to front desk), the bed was not made properly, the coffee pot was not cleaned, and the room smelled stuffy. Although the front desk tried to do the right thing and compensated us with breakfast coupons, they were frustrated with their own cleaning crew. My kid usually long for going back to hotel after a long day -- in this case he didn't want to go back to the room in this hotel. About the only good thing is its location, but we won't go back to this hotel anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Straits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of our employees, and particularly here Housekeeping and the Frontdesk, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
Your comments and concerns have been addressed with both Departments to ensure a similar experience will not occur again. Again, our aplogies.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    201
    94
    25
    21
See reviews for
164
203
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel has a good location and is cheap, but for just a few dollars more you can find something much better. The room was very dated, the linens were poor quality, the hot water was spotty, and-- worst of all-- nothing seemed clean. There were some stains on the bed and the wall, and the TP wasn't changed, which made me wonder how well the bathroom was cleaned. The kitchen appliances and the television were antiques. Hilariously, the King bed was actually two twin mattresses pushed together.
Pay the extra $30 and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Yes this is an older hotel but not evrything can be brand new... we found the staff helpful and the rooms clean and pleasant. The key here is that you pay half the rate of any other hotel on the harbour so that balances any quibbles I would have about appearance. There are new owners but they had not got the pop machines working. Another odd occurence is that my rental bottomed out on the steep entrance to the underground parking lot - had to unload my grown kids to make the entrance... but given street parking fees, it was worth it. Again, the accessibility of downtown Victoria more than compensated for the older feel of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for harbourview side (north, I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruggadung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to forward and post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
It is good to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will return very soon.
with best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Huntingdon appears to be an older hotel with a new owner, and we all hope it makes a great comeback! It is a marvelous building with great bones, but it needs to be updated to compete in the current market.

This hotel is not handicap friendly, so it is hoped that the new owners will work on that. The location is perfect, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

The future could hold amazing possibilities for this wonderful classic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time and forwarding your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
The new ownership is committed to renovate the exterior and interior of the buildings to meet your expectations going forward.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

the rooms are very old with an unpleasant smell, front desk vey disorganized,
the hotel looks great from the outside but..what you see is NOT what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimiburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, I do apologize for the inconveniences you may have encountered.
We are committed to renovate and upgrade the interior & exterior of our buildings within the next few months.
I am certain once completed, you will find a big difference and will enjoy your next stay with us.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We booked at the huntingdon on expedia by the looks of the pictures it was to be a nice hotel for our honeymoon. Apon arrival the front desk was quite busy with other check in's as we waited in line we walked around the lobby and dining area and started to notice how dated the hotel was.We received our key card and went up to the room.The room was just as dated and not clean the paint was coming off the baseboards and the king size bed was 2 twins pushed together the full kitchen was a dirty stove shoved in a corner and a counter which we were scared to open.I delivery furniture for a living and have deliveried to city housing and halfways houses that are much nicer than this place.The only good thing about this hotel was that there was no problem cancelling the room on the spot at no charge other than from expedia.beware of the picture they do not say a thousand words.

Room Tip: We rebooked at the parkside now thats a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Firstly would not let us check in until after 3pm, we arrived at 11am. Then when we did, our room was not ready so we got given another, when we got into the room, the carpet was the most grubby and grotty carper I have ever seen, we would not walk bear foot on it. We did complain and they did move us and upgrade us so it was not all bad.

Needs a major over all which I believe is due at the end of the summer, so not bad but I expect a clean room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, we very much appreciate your

feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenciences you encountered upon checking in and will

try our very best to ensure your room will be ready to check in upon your next arrival.

We are committed to upgrade our property externally & internally, beginning within a few months,

to ensure your stay with us will be as enjoyable as possible.

With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Manor Hotel

Property: Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Address: 330 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambiance of this classic Victoria hotel. Newly re-furbished rooms, bi-level gallery suites, pet-friendly rooms, and a wide range of amenities and services are available to help make your stay a memorable one. The Huntingdon Manor Hotel, located in Victoria's Inner Harbour, is only a short walk into downtown and directly across the street from the Coho and Victoria Clipper ferries. Featuring 110 non-smoking guest rooms varying in layout and dimensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntingdon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon Hotel And Suites
Huntingdon Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing