We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotwire Hottie”
Review of Ramada Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Victoria
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hotwire Hottie”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This hotel is good value at the $100.00 mark but when you book well in advance with Priceline or Hotwire is is tremendous value. The rooms are small but very functional with good beds a large fridge and good sound proofing. It is close to the gorge water way walk and shopping

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel convenient in both price and location. Although we are not in the centre of downtown we are in a great spot near the Gorge Waterway and Galloping Goose Regional Trail for anyone who wishes to take advantage of the beautiful Victoria weather and go for a stroll. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to being able to be your hosts on another occasion in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    231
    204
    77
    84
See reviews for
278
192
58
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed for two nights in mid september and thankfully after reading the reviews, our expectations were lowered. The hotel is very convenient and for the price was pretty hard to beat. All we were doing was sleeping there as we didn't have much time to waste and wanted to see and do some things in Victoria.

The hotel is very dated and our non-smoking room stank of smoke. The staff were pleasant enough but to be honest i had not much dealing with them. I had chosen this hotel due to the gym facility which is a shocking excuse for a gym. It had 3 pieces of equipment in a small room with no aircon and doing a work out in the heat was impossible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ab097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I apologize for the smoke smell in your room. We are a non-smoking property but in spite of steep extra charges for those who smoke in their rooms and putting rooms out of service that have been smoked in, even with our housekeeping departments best efforts, the unfortunate smell sometimes lingers. We would certainly be have been happy to move you to a fresher room.
I agree that our exercise facilities are limited so we don’t advertise that we have a gym in the hotel but rather an exercise room which is adequate for many guests. There is an air conditioner in the exercise room which was unfortunately out of order during your visit; however the exercise room has sliding glass doors to outside and fans for those who don’t like air conditioning.
We do appreciate your business and thank you for making your thoughts known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were a little surprised that the online rates weren't available in person (which would have saved us about $15 a night), but it was still a decent price. The staff was pleasant and answered all our questions, and were even willing to do a bit of internet sleuthing for us on nearby attractions. It was also a convenient location to get around the peninsula from (but then, most places in Victoria can say the same).

I really enjoyed that the bathtub and toilet were behind a door so the sink could be used independently, which saved a lot of hassle. The room was clean and the toiletries provided were surprisingly nice to use (and I especially loved the citrus smell of the soaps).

The biggest surprise of the stay was the burgers from the pub! They were reasonably priced, their house salad is *seriously good*, and they were made by hand. If you stay here, you absolutely must try the mushroom burger. You can call down from your room and pick them up yourself.

All in all, I would have loved the place more if it had been cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapriciousAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Ramada Victoria. I apologize that we couldn’t offer you the same rate in person that you saw online. If we have the availability we will try to match our online rates for guests who arrive without reservations. Hotel rates change however depending on supply and demand so that a rate seen online for a Wednesday may not be the same rate for a Friday. Also depending on bookings, the rate can go up over the course of a day as the hotel begins to fill up.
I’m happy that you liked the bathroom setup and the amenities, and particularly happy that you found the food in Heckler’s pub to your liking. Thank you for choosing the Ramada Victoria and thank you for the recommendation.
David Woodbury, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This hotel is way overprized! The rooms are small, noisy and definitely need renovation. I would not stay here again, nor would recommend this hotel to anyone. The quality couldn’t meet with the other Ramada hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you didn’t have a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize that you found your room small and noisy. I am surprised to hear that we are overpriced, as we are consistently the least expensive of 20 other major hotels in Victoria. I should explain that all Ramada Hotels like other chain hotel are independently owned and operated, some are newly opened and some like ours were built in the ‘70’s. We certainly follow Ramada standards, but no two hotels are alike. We provide clean, functional, well maintained, pleasant accommodation. The owners have been renovating and updating since they acquired the hotel, with more renovations planned for this winter. I hope that if you visit us again you will notice the changes.
David Woodbury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The room was OK, lot of space and quiet.
The bed was not clean. We found strings of long hair on our bed sheets and pillow cases, so I don't know if the bed linens were changed or the bed was was just made up after the previous guest left.
The shower didn't have enough hot water so I ended up with a cold shower. Actually the water was just a little warm as I got in and in 10 minutes it ran out completely and only cold water was running.
The parking in front of the hotel is limited so we were told to park in the underground parking which looked bad but it was ok.
Overall the hotel was pricey for the conditions offered and I couldn't get a good sleep in a bed that didn't looked clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina08_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Ramada Victoria. We sincerely apologize for the less than immaculate linen on your bed, and the hot water problem. At the Ramada Victoria we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness and service. Unfortunately you experienced a stay when we obviously did not meet those standards.
I apologize for your unpleasant stay and any inconvenience we may have caused you.
Sincerely, David Woodbury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We recently stayed for 10 nights in a suite with a full kitchen. Although not a new property we found it clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful , including the staff in reception and housekeeping. In fact we got a call from reception 10 minutes after going up to our room just to make sure we were satisfied.(thanks Roxie)
The kitchen , although small had all the appliances big and small as well as pots and pans and all the kitchen gadgets you can think of. The beds were fine and made daily for us.
We had a blast in the pool which may be the warmest pool I have ever swam in.There was a computer free for guests to use the internet in a private room just off the lobby.There were laundry facilities on the 2nd and 4th floors and a fitness room on the 2nd. Although we didn't use the restaurants, they looked nice and the portions looked huge.
After reading recent reviews I'm not sure the reviewers stayed in the same hotel as us , but we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good middle of the road accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for making us your home away from home! We appreciate all of our guests very much and will do our best to continue improving the quality, value, and service that we provide. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the heated pool. Thanks for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards, David Woodbury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

carpeting was dirty/oily,sofa had stains all over it, bathroom was dirty,king size bed collaped in the center while sleeping with only the combined wheight 250lbs my wife and I (very sleepless night). I couldn't switch rooms and no maintenence I tried to cancel the next night and get it refunded but ramada inn fought it so I called my credit card co and they helped me get my refund

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. We take your feedback very seriously as guest satisfaction and cleanliness is a high priority to us. We will be replacing our guest room carpets and king beds this fall so that others may not have the same experience.
I would also like to apologize for the difficulty you experienced in obtaining a refund, as at a property level, considering the experience you had we would be more than willing to cancel your next night at no charge. However sometimes reservations are made prepaid through websites and their conditions dictate cancellation policies.
Again, I sincerely apologize that we didn't live up to our standards during your stay.
David Woodbury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
868 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
209 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
282 reviews
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Victoria

Property: Ramada Victoria
Address: 123 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Victoria Hotel provides ideal Victoria hotel accommodation, location, and exceptional value. Our property is just a five-minute drive from downtown, the famous Inner Harbour, and its most popular attractions. Upon arrival at the 3 star Victoria Ramada's 90 room property, you will be greeted by warm smiles confirming that you have arrived somewhere special. We have recently gone through some light renovations have changed the face of our property! Please come visit and let us show you on the great new changes with our rooms, linen, carpet, 37" HD LCD televisions with a generous selection of stunning HD channels and public areas while still providing that excellent customer service! Our full service property offers large, well-appointed Victoria hotel rooms, deluxe kitchen suites, an exercise room, guest laundry, complimentary business center, plenty of free parking, an outdoor seasonal heated pool, on site restaurant, on site sports bar & grill, liquor store and a banquet hall for up to 225 people as well as other conference rooms. Please come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing