We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ramada with Bar in basement”
Review of Ramada Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Victoria
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very good rooms, comfortable and quiet. Check-out easy and the price for a room in town very reasonable. They offer a shuttle tour bus into downtown. Taxi phone in lobby makes a trip into town very quick and easy. Bar downstairs was packed on a Friday night for comedy night, we came in halfway through the show and the bartender/waitress got chairs for us and set us up on the pool table. Great service. Restaraunt was closed down so they had a continental breakfast set-up in the conference room. Food was good, everything you'd want.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornToBeMild5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this very good review of our hotel. You have mentioned some of the advantages of our hotel location, its amenities and pricing. Comedy nights are very popular so I’m happy that the staff were able to arrange seating for you. We hope that our restaurant will be open this fall, and although this will mean the end of the complimentary continental breakfast, it will also mean that guests can again have an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. We hope to see you next time you travel up to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 837 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We as a family of 4 went to Victoria for 3 nights and booked this hotel based on reviews and pictures. The lobby looked decent but as soon as you get in the hallways they stink, the stains on the carpets, the rooms smelled as well.
If I were you I would stay away from this place.
I was really shocked by this place and it made me realize that I was lucky up until now to avoid places like that.

Room Tip: Comfort Hotel was better and yet cost the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We were disappointed to read this very negative review of our hotel. We can account for some hallway odour in one section of the hotel that was directly above the kitchen and restaurant which suffered a fire earlier this year. We continue to take measures to eliminate the traces of this faint smoky smell completely.

Our hallway carpets are cleaned at least a couple of times a year. Because it has been a very busy summer, and many people take their coffee from the continental breakfast to their rooms, inevitable spills happen as they walk down the halls. We clean these on an ad hoc basis and do complete carpet cleaning at several stages through the seasons. The next cleaning is scheduled for this week.

Our housekeepers make every effort to eliminate any traces of room odour, but sometimes with a short turnaround time between one guest leaving and the next one arriving, it is impossible to neutralize the room completely. If a guest notices an odour in their room and inform us of this we do everything possible to remedy the problem, including moving the guest to another room. We make every attempt to make our guests comfortable and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Room was what we have come to expect in these hotels....fairly cramped, but standard features. The continental breakfast was, however, a pleasant surprise. Good variety, including egg, meat and hash-browns.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rareaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Ramada Victoria. I understand your comment on the lack of space in your room…and I’d love to make the rooms larger if I could. Our standards dictate that all of the furniture items are present in every room, from work desk, to activity table, to the number of chairs, and although they are convenient it doesn’t leave much floor space, especially in a room with 2 queen-sized beds. Fortunately most people use their hotel room just for sleeping and are not staying in all day.

We have been offering our complimentary continental breakfast all summer while the restaurant and kitchen are under renovation, and because we can’t provide a freshly cooked breakfast (which was not free) at the moment, we have tried to put as much variety into our continental breakfast as we possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Free bus to city downtown makes up for this hotel being a little out the way. Most comfortable bed we had during just over two weeks holiday. Room had fridge and coffee maker. Basic room but clean and tidy. Breakfast included was nice surprise. Not the safest feeling area to walk at night and some quite drunk and dodgy characters emerge from the bar below. But a good base hotel - would be ideal if you had a rental car, but we made use of the free bus into city and found it just fine. Good clean basic hotel - all you need really.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We’re happy that you took advantage of the free bus downtown and even with just a few departures in the morning and returns in the afternoon it’s a convenient trouble-free way to explore the center of Victoria on foot without worrying about parking. The local city bus also leaves from a stop just near the street entrance to the hotel.

Although we do have a sports pub below one section of the hotel, and its true that some their clients may overindulge from time to time, the downtown area is full of pubs and bars that generate the same type of late night noise and traffic…much more than ours.

We’re pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Everything is clean and the location is good but the rooms are in need of a serious update. The included breakfast was mediocre and served in a room from the 80's. If you are going to Victoria I would recommend springing for a nicer hotel because in this city it is the view that counts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Ramada Victoria. We’re happy to hear that you found the rooms clean as our housekeepers do an excellent job keeping things in good order. We are always in the process of updating our rooms but have to go about this step by step. Beds, televisions, lighting, wall art and furniture are all on our replacement program. Our continental breakfast is certainly not as good as a freshly prepared restaurant breakfast and we will be returning to our proper breakfast when the restaurant is finished renovation. I apologize that you found the temporary breakfast arrangements less than satisfactory.

Victoria certainly does have some wonderful views, particularly if you are somewhere near the Legislature building or perhaps with a view across to the Olympic Mountains in Washington State. Because of where the Ramada is situated, some rooms do have a view of the Gorge Waterway but some guests prefer the quiet location which unfortunately doesn’t include the best views Victoria has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is run down, rooms are not cleaned daily, hallway stank and continental breakfast was lacking in freshness as eggs were microwaved. We were three to a room when booked with only enough towels for two. Even with concerns about lack of towels and bedding it was the squeaky wheel that got the service. Parking difficult as you enter with two route choices and once passed you must reenter the road way to circle around for another try. I for several days I circled around to get a parking spot. The first floor only has a small set of stairs for accessibility which we found an inconvience as a slow walking senior was part of our group. Even though the front desk watch my mother the senior slowly walk up thoughts stairs daily not once did they offer any assistance or a room change. Until this hotel straightens up and cleans up I wouldn't stay there even if it was for free.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

I’m sorry to hear that you found your stay with us so unsatisfactory. We put a lot of time and effort into keeping the hotel pleasant and in good working order. We do clean our rooms daily unless a guest has requested that they not be disturbed.

It’s true that the traffic circulation in our parking lot can be a little confusing and we have been trying new signage and traffic patterns to make parking easier.

I apologize that the front desk staff didn’t offer to help your mother with the stairs, they should be watching out for all of our guests and assisting them if needed. You are right that a room change would have been a good solution as the elevator would have eliminated the stair difficulty completely.

Our breakfast is unfortunately by necessity pre-prepared as we are waiting for our proper restaurant to re-open. Perhaps some of the hallway odour you noticed was still lingering from the fire that closed the restaurant a while ago. Although we have done everything possible to eliminate this, it still persists in some areas of the hotel and we will continue trying to reduce it.

Again I apologize for how badly we let you down on this stay, and hope that you will visit us again, perhaps when the restaurant re-opens, and when our staff have had more training in customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this location and found that although the facilities are showing their age it is the service that really makes the difference. The staff are very friendly and personable. Any request was met with a smile and "how can I help you" attitude. I like that very much. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Beds are very nice providing a wonderful sleep each night. We were on the 3rd floor and found it to be very quiet. We were in Victoria visiting family and found this location very convienent to travel in and around Victoria. The price was very reasonable and would return again.

Room Tip: Check out the hot breakfast eachorning very nice touch!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecometranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Woodbury, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel. I absolutely agree with you that on matter what hotel a person stays in, that good service makes all the difference. Although we have some staff who are still learning how to do this better, going out of our way to make our guests feel welcome is a priority.

We’re happy that you had such a good stay with us, and would be very pleased to see you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
985 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 46 in Victoria
230 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Victoria

Address: 123 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $58 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Victoria Hotel provides ideal Victoria hotel accommodation, location, and exceptional value. Our property is just a five-minute drive from downtown, the famous Inner Harbour, and its most popular attractions. Upon arrival at the 3 star Victoria Ramada's 90 room property, you will be greeted by warm smiles confirming that you have arrived somewhere special. We have recently gone through some light renovations have changed the face of our property! Please come visit and let us show you on the great new changes with our rooms, linen, carpet, 37" HD LCD televisions with a generous selection of stunning HD channels and public areas while still providing that excellent customer service! Our full service property offers large, well-appointed Victoria hotel rooms, deluxe kitchen suites, an exercise room, guest laundry, complimentary business center, plenty of free parking, an outdoor seasonal heated pool, on site restaurant, on site sports bar & grill, liquor store and a banquet hall for up to 225 people as well as other conference rooms. Please come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing