We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
66
117
117
64
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
117
117
64
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool cleaning staff close to downtown full kitchen hojo gorge sauna
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 441 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Clean, simple rooms. Comfortable bed. We where there with a school team and had a great stay. It can be a bit chaotic with a large group but the staff sorted us out with friendly service. The kids enjoyed the pool. The restaurant was closed while we were there but there’s a Tims just down the street.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Ocpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Ocpick,

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your group experience staying with us. First of all, we loved having you and your team stay with us! Every player or team mate trainer or coach were so polite and respectful we were happy to assist each group member with any inquiry or a thoughtful suggestion we could think of. We are so glad you found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms to be simple but well thought out. We are so pleased your group enjoyed our pool and we could offer you the meeting room for free to add a space for your group to congregate and enjoy their time together when not facing an opponent. Yes, even though large groups can feel daunting when the hotel front desk is organized it creates that sense of peace and that "this is going to be OK" experience for the adults, trainers and coaches. We are happy you enjoyed our location and individuals or little groups were able to find many food options in our area and coffee shops within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you again next season!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

Staff were warm and inviting but unfortunately that is where the positive ends. First thing I noticed was the rust, mold and cracked tiles in bathroom. There seemed to be a tile repair attempted with a large amount of white silicone. When I tried to use the shower I soon found that the shower would not maintain a steady temperature which led to the water being scalding hot and then icy cold. I attempted to have a bath instead but found hair floating in the tub once it was filled. I also went to the pool area and found that the change room had hair on the floor right beside the rodent trap that was out in the open. I brought these concerns to staff upon check out and was told that they would look into the bathroom issues. I was staying at this hotel with my sons music festival class (approximately 150 people) and when I reported what my room was like I received similar reports from most of the other patrons in our party. Hotel staff made no effort to deal with my concerns. I most certainly will never stay at the Howard Johnsons in Victoria BC and or any other location. This stay would have to rank as one of the worst hotel stays I have ever experienced, DISGUSTING.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do not have rodent traps; your imagination ran away with you there. Any traps in a pool bathroom will be for small pests such as bugs i.e ants, beetles, june bugs, etc . Where had you seen a rat trap in a similar circumstance; never? Your reasoning is illogical all bet entertaining and we did have a laugh. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the temperature fluctuating in the shower. Did you contact the front desk to have them fix the issue. No, you did not during your stay tell the front desk about the shower issue in your room. When you informed the staff about the pool you went into an esoteric rant including your skewed reasoning that a rat trap existed so I can imagine our staff were trying to understand what you were trying to relate within your rant. We are an 80-room hotel so 150 ppl would be again; illogical as your group did not encompass our entire hotel we can assume this would be your imagination again. Our hotel staff went to the pool area after you spoke with them and you would have witnessed that as you were getting on the elevator with your family as they were walking down to inspect your incredible claims. You would not be welcomed back at this hotel and we certainly hope every hotel review you leave isn't so obviously untruthful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

Great staff, free WiFi, a pool to swim in, muffins, yogurt and coffee in the morning! A kitchen in our room too. Great value for our family of 6. And we can all stay in a room together which is important to us. The building is definitely older and could use some updates but we had a really great experience! Right after we checked in they immediately brought us more blankets, pillows and towels and made sure we had everything we needed. Thanks!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lianajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Liana L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and your experience. We are very happy you found our staff to be great during your stay and they brought you some extra items right away. Our guests are most important to us and we rarely make them wait for delivery of items from the front desk. We are so glad we could impress you with our prompt service. We do offer free WiFi and our signals are individual to each room so generally uninterrupted, reliable service. We are also glad you enjoyed having the convenience of a full kitchenette in your room; we know it can make all the different when you are travelling with a family. We are an older hotel but lovingly maintained and we are under full renovations right now moving forward to a full building retrofit hopefully by March 2019. We are very happy you had a great experience staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Kylie M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews