We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were lucky only to be staying one night here as a stop off from Vancouver to Tofino. The room was not very clean ( none of us fancied taking a bath - grit, hair and mould). It was our first hotel with a pool too, but all 3 kids decided not to go in - like the worst 1960's school pool! The walk downtown suggested by reception was through the industrial area!!! On a positive note, the staff were friendly, the room was a good size with comfortable beds and it was cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Wendy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    104
    99
    53
    63
See reviews for
113
103
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here and had a very enjoyable trip. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We went in the pool every day, the hotel had a room to store bikes that we hired. The laundry facilities were good. The room had a kitchen area which was well equipped. The hotel is a short bus ride from Victoria on the 11 bus route and is next to the galloping goose trail which made it a great location. Also free coffee in a morning and free newspapers and computer in reception. Thank you for an enjoyable stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherineraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After we visited the centre of Victora,we arrived at the hotel. It looks old,and so do the rooms. the window was hard to open, the bathroom was clean although it had its best time too.
Free internet was in the lobby, and a nice touch was the free tea and coffee in the early morning.The staff in the reception was very polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our group of five adults reserved two rooms for two nights at the end of a vacation which we decided to extend at the last moment.
Our check-in was very efficient and friendly. Our rooms, one a suite and one standard we found to be satisfactorily clean and comfortable and provided two nights of a quiet and restful sleep.
It proved to be a relatively easy 30-45 minute walk to the Inner Harbour area, but we would not recommend it to be generally suitable for a family excursion after dark. The hotel, however is conveniently located for any and all activities in the downtown area of Victoria. Parking is free, spacious and reasonably secure.
We spent some time in the pub, which should more accurately be referred to, I would think as a "bar", but we found it to be a lively and enjoyable place to listen to music and mix with many locals. The service staff and bartender were excellent at their jobs.
Overall none of our party had any serious complaints. The building itself is in need of a decorating makeover, something which could easily be done without major structural changes and I would hope that its owners might consider doing this sooner than later.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just happened upon this motel... we ended up with a jr. suite... it had a full kitchen which was a plus, stayed two nights. Free Wifi a plus. Staff was very friendly and courteous, very helpful on what to "see". Free parking. Décor is a little dated, however clean, all amenities available. We were very pleased. Price was very inexpensive compared to other hotels we checked into before booking this one. A Jr. Suite under $100.... pretty good price!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor...very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StargazerMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The past six years we stay regularly at this hotel. The staff are friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable. The rooms we have stayed in could do with an update, but overall good value, good parking spots and in a good location. The restaurant has great wings!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel has a good location, around 30min by walk away from downtown (and it is a easy and nice walk) I did not try the bar, grill or pool.
The staff is very friendly and try to help you in any case. It is quite so you can sleep well during the night. Wifi is working perfect and fast. Parking spaces are enough there and they are very fast to clean your room.
The room himself was clean and big enough, you have a fridge and a microwell, also a loud air con which you usually dont need. No breakfast included but the staff is friendly to show you cafes around the area (Starbucks is not far away)
Would come again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
762 reviews
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
177 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
216 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Address: 310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing