We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bd hotel- bad part of town for walkers and seniors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Arlington,WA
1 review
“Bd hotel- bad part of town for walkers and seniors”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel is very seedy...we had a senior group of 11 for Aug. 20th- was told had refrig. in room as I have insulin..no refrig. Bathroom smelled of urine. One of our members had read online that this hotel had bedbugs at one time- we checked and did not find this.
One room was not ready for our 2 members of the party and when it was ready- was never cleaned- trash in the room- bed not changed and blood on the sheets.
The lobby of the hotel was so hot that I was afraid to leave my insulin in my suitcase there until our room was ready- not all rooms were ready for our party.

The area of town is knows for Hookers and drugs. One member of our party saw a man pick up a hooker and take her into the hotel.
We took the bus system and had to walk every where and we were afraid of this neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    104
    99
    53
    63
See reviews for
113
103
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greater Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked a room on wyndham.com with 2 queens and 1 double bed only to find out on arrival that no such room exists. Same bed options show up on hojo.com. We got 1 queen, 1 double, and one pull-out couch. The desk staff couldn't resolve anything without the mgr who wasn't in till the next day, who offered a discount only if we stayed a second day. We decided to leave to get a room that actually had enough beds for all 4 of our kids. Once we checked out, he gave us a discount on our one night after all.
A hotel mgr who can't be bothered to publish actual rooms that exist on their website is not a hotel worth staying at.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DarrenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Mission BC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I travel quite a bit for business and usually stay at Best Western or Wyndham hotels (primarily due to the rewards programs). I have stayed at most Wyndham Hotels on Vancouver Island but not this one so I decided to give it a try (decent rates/OK location). Service was OK but room was old and shower needed cleaning badly. In the middle of the night I had to get up and felt a sharp scrape on my leg. Turned out the mattress spring had shot right up out of the mattress on the edge of the bed and cut my thigh. I looked at it and it was obviously something that had been there for quite awhile and there is no way anyone making up the bed could miss it. Front desk apologized but I left the hotel a little shocked. In my opinion this was a huge fail and made me wonder what else had been left unattended and in disrepair (room 380). (see attached photo)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckernforde, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed there for three nights in a two bed room. The room was clean as was the bathroom, there was a/c that worked well. Parking was free of charge in the adjacent parking lot. To get to downtown Victoria was about 10 minutes by car. On the 2nd floor they have a guest laundry facility, ironing board was available in the room. We did not use any other hotel services.
One day they left our room uncleaned. The reason was that we had " do not disturb" on the door knob until 11 o'clock and again after we returned at about three. So better make sure to give them a hint when you leave the hotel that the room should be made. Considering the good price ( below 80$ per night) we find this hotel a very fair deal and a good base for a short stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JTDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Easy to find and this hotel provides a most pleasant base for a couple of days exploring Victoria City centre. Good, safe, parking facilites and the lobby staff proved both helpful and polite. The minisuite title was rather misleading since it was in fact a bright, spacious, clean and pleasing room on the first floor overlooking the adjacent park entrance. The kitchenette was well equipped for those wishing to cater for themselves, and the dining area did not impinge into the bedroom area at all. The queen bed was in fact a king bed and exceptionally comfy at that.

It is a 20 minute stroll in to the City, and the route takes you via Government Street and Chinatown right to the waterfront. Alternatively you can cross the road and take the park-walkway by the riverside and walk into the city. Good housekeeping staff who were both neat and efficient in their duties, and quite charming. A good value for money location, if like us, you are on a touring holiday and budgeting for 3-4 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for room 212 if you want a well appointed minisuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent four nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room had a fine ocean view throughout the window and the bicycle trail beside the Hotel attracted kids coming back again with bikes. Cleaning staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean in every inch. My wife advised me the room rates seemed to be too low considering the value they provided the service and facilities surrounding the hotel. Good luck, and we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtleford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault a single thing. The room was neat, clean and had a great view of the park. The front desk staff couldn't do enough to help you, great knowledge of the area and things to do they were even up on the bus schedules.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huskygirl3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
761 reviews
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
177 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
216 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Address: 310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing