We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the greatest Vitnamese I've ever had” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Saigon

Le Petit Saigon
Ranked #227 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the greatest Vitnamese I've ever had”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a fair place near Victoria's Chinatown.
The place is so simple that is almost mediocre, and the food is exactly as you expect: not bed but not good.
Definiitely a place to try once, but not twice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frantziska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try the fondue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This little restaurant is a little bit hidden away on a side street, but it is worth looking for. Prices are moderate and the food is fresh and well prepared. We recommend the beef and shrimp fondue. A large bowl of Vietnamese broth is brought to your table, a portable propane fire is lighted under it, and when it is boiling, your dip your beef or shrimp (you will get plenty of both) into it for as long as you like. It is tasty, and very filling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Wichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Haven't eaten here for a couple of years, but the food today was as delicious as always. The Imperial Spring Rolls are to die for, and the lunch time special of fish curry was flavourful and well balanced. Service was top notch - and the prices very reasonable. Must make a point of visiting more often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slyfoxx24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad80
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

When we visit Victoria we always make a point to have lunch here. Never disappoints! The spring rolls are the best we have ever eaten and the noodles are perfectly cooked and delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The garden curry is a dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Le Petit Saigon is a hidden gem. It's never busy for dining in on a Friday or Saturday night (but they do a ton of takeout, which must keep them in business!). This restaurant showcases the glorious fusion of French and Asian cuisine that Vietnamese food can be. I almost weep with happiness every time I order the vegetarian curry, which has the most complex spicing and a rich velvety French-style sauce. My husband invariably has it with prawns, which is equally delicious. A *huge* portion, too. Excellent value.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Two_Hoots_Gallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Saigon also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Le Petit Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing