We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal BC Museum

Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.40*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 175 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside and experience British Columbia. Since 1886 the Royal BC Museum has preserved and shared the human and natural histories of this province. Discover the famous First Peoples, Natural History and Modern History Galleries – a feast of sights, smells and sounds of British Columbia. The Royal BC Museum is also home to a cultural precinct including the BC Archives, Helmcken House, St. Ann's Schoolhouse, the Netherlands Centennial Carillon, Thunderbird Park and Mungo Martin House/Wawadit’la.
Victoria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

If you are a type of person who read each single explanation.... you must need at least 3 hours! There are so many things to see, especially local native stuff.

If you have kids, you also should be interested in buying a combo tickets for the addmission and the IMAX ticket to save some money. It is such a great education tool for them!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jojo1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,674
    1,114
    228
    29
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Sensitive and Moving Display of First Nations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I know of no other museum on the entire West coast which devotes so much floor space and square footage to honoring the peoples who preceded the vast immmigrations from all over the world. The portrayals of their lives, their arts, and their handwork was wonderful. I highly recommend focusing on this aspect of the museum to anyone, and particularly those who call the Pacific Northwest their home.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Maralina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A LOT of info-study first or take a tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Royal BC Museum has a lot of interesting information housed inside it, so much that you may want to pace yourself when you visit. If you are going with children, I would suggest doing some teaching beforehand on only a couple of exhibits to make it more intertesting and relevant when they see it-in fact this is probably a good idea for anyone! If not, then I recommend taking a guided tour so you don't end up wandering aimlessly; it's hard to concentrate on just one thing when there is so much to take in. I found the Emily Carr exhibit to be particularly good even though I have no previous interest in hyer or art at all. We went to see the IMAX film "Beavers" which I do not recommend at all. It wasn't very informative and it was quite one-sided, conservationally speaking.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must visit - esp to learn about First Nations People and their history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We found that the staff were very friendly and helpful. We are always interested in the history of places we visit, and found lots of information on the history of BC. Visitors interested in literature and art / craft must visit. Information on First Nations People was extensive.
The museum has two sections - one is free entry and there is a paid entry for the main museum. Payment was nominal and a must visit, especially if you are not visiting other places in BC. Museum located centrally, within walking distance from other historic places - including the first school run by nuns. Gardens surrounding are beautiful and the whole experience is very calming

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank esnivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Western Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

There are a lot of tourist trap activities in Victoria to be avoided, but this isnt one of them. We spent 3 hours inside but probably could have stayed for a couple of more. I especially recommend to people who will do any traveling around the province as it gives on an excellent education on BCs past.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Pathcontrolmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing