We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this”
Review of Royal BC Museum

Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.94*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 180 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside and experience British Columbia. Since 1886 the Royal BC Museum has preserved and shared the human and natural histories of this province. Discover the famous First Peoples, Natural History and Modern History Galleries – a feast of sights, smells and sounds of British Columbia. The Royal BC Museum is also home to a cultural precinct including the BC Archives, Helmcken House, St. Ann's Schoolhouse, the Netherlands Centennial Carillon, Thunderbird Park and Mungo Martin House/Wawadit’la.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you like museums, don't mis this one. Simply outstanding. My wife and I have been there twice (from Florida). In 2009 we spent all day, with time out for a great lunch close by. The tickets are good all day. So, you can visit, go somewhere else (like we did) then come back for more. In 2011 we had the opportunity to visit again. There really is too much to describe, so look for their website for a review of their displays. It's also within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, etc. in the very picturesque harbor area. It's easily one of the very best museums I have been to in 60+ years.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rickmac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,802
    1,151
    234
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Totally interesting museum”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A really good afternoon spent here- loads of interesting, informative exhibits, particularly on natural history, the disruption caused by the settlers to the life of the people of the First Nations and - the highlight for me- Main Street (with shops, buildings and industries from the turn of the century to visit).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SueinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This was much better than I expected”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had little time, so we only went to the Mammoth exhibit and the history of Canada halls. The reproduction of Victorian streets and shops is fabulous (I've seen several in York and Millwakee, but this one beats the ones I've seen so far). The Century Hall is a one-room history lesson with clothing and everyday objects illustrating the life in the various decades of the last century, complete with very informative texts and newspaper cuttings. Captain Vancouver's ship is very cool too; it even smells of tar! My only regret is that we didn't have more time to take it all in.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A full day of learning”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

There is enough in this museum to grab and keep you attention. We stayed engaged for 5 hours.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are in Victoria you have to visit the Museum ,”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Museum is a must see, Make sure you leave an entire morning or afternoon as you will need about 4 to 5 hours to see all the exhibits,

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bonitomariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing