We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accomodations and amazing hostess!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newfoundland
1 review
“Beautiful accomodations and amazing hostess!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed in the Sarengetti Suite for two weeks in beautiful Esquimalt, Victoria.
Ilona was the sweetest hostess and was very helpful in suggesting places to sight see including beautiful gardens, beaches and excellent resturants!!! Ilona really knows the city and we would have been lost without her suggestions!

Ilona's breakfasts were phenominal, great apple creppes and organic sausage and eggs!! The common lounge area is also very beautiful and we miss chatting with Ilona over a glass of wine and we miss her tasteful choice of background music playing as the day unfolded.

We are hoping to visit Victoria again and are definately going to be staying at Hemingways again next trip!! Thanks for everything Ilona and you are a prefect hostess and great friend !! Miss you lots!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephNL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
66
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Not downtown, and that can be a plus - no traffic noises, harbor noises, sea-planes. Even in July we slept with the balcony door open and windows open, and it was cool and delightful. Ilona, the hostes, and Laurie, her helper, were superbly friendly and helpful, even to the point of providing us a lawn chair to use for the Saturday night fireworks at Buchart Gardens. Travel around Victoria is easy - car, taxi and bus (#25 bus stop 1/2 block from Hemingways !) are readily available. We loved Victoria, and we felt pampered and well-cared for at Hemingways By the Sea. Thank you, Ilona, for helping to make our vacation in BC so memorable. Breakfast is superb and not to be missed !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzy_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2009

This B n B exceeded all our expectations of what makes a good bed and breakfast (or, rather, in general, any place you'd stay at while on vacation). The hostess was exceedingly helpful, welcoming, friendly and professional. It's very clean (immaculate actually) and it has a great atmosphere. It's close to the harbour and the boardwalk around the harbour which makes for a really romantic walk.
The breakfast in the morning is excessively delicious, the lounge by the fire place very inviting and the patio lovely. I would reccomend this place to anyone that asks as a must if you're staying over in Victoria and want to be utterly charmed and completely relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saylith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERChief
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This was our second visit to Hemingway's and we will be back. Location, cleanliness, and food were all great. Our hostess was also a delight. Being in Victoria was an added pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My wife and I just visited Victoria with my mother-in-law and stayed in the Hemingway Suite. It was plenty roomy for the three of us, by using a pullout couch to compliment the large bed. It had a nice quite balcony as well.

It is just the right distance from downtown if you like it a little quieter. The area is interesting with the water nearby.

We enjoyed nice walks in the mornings before we ate and set out. We didn’t do it, because we discovered it too late, but there is a nice boardwalk along the water nearby that will take you all the way to the heart of Victoria, in a pleasant stroll.

Breakfasts were great and the hostess, Ilona, was super helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petsherk
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We were warmly received my Ilona- the hostess and owner-made to feel at home- the place is immaculate- the room was fantastic- a fridge int he room, private bathroom, lovely garden outside. the breakfast was fabulous- and Ilona had maps and advice as to what to see in the area. a short walk to the sea- and 6 minute ride to downtown.quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

A beautiful home from home within walking distance to the sea. Ilona the hostess was wonderful and kept me fed and watered for 5 days. I stayed in the Key West Room, which had wonderful views and a huge comfortable bed. Breakfasts each morning were wonderful and Ilona was very accomadating.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank helsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosemary Inn
#1 of 1 in Esquimalt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing