We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #23 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2008

The one bad review had me concerned, but one learns to take such things with a grain of salt. I had contacted another b&b and the owner seemed rather bored. Ilona on the other hand was very helpful and friendly on the phone. We booked the Serengeti and Hemingway suites and when we got there, Ilona kindly offered an extra room for my mother at no charge, but we didn't use it because we didn't want to take advantage of her hospitality. The suites were very large and comfortable and the Hemingway had a nice balcony. They're nicely decorated with none of that creepy lacy victorian stuff.
Breakfast was wonderful with organic coffee that was the best I've had in a long time. The table was very nicely set and there was a nice variety of freshly prepared dishes including omelettes and crepes. Somehow Ilona remembered a remark I made the night before about Earl Grey tea and she presented me with my own pot of it at breakfast, which was wonderful. I still can't get over the coffee!Ilona also made special crepes for the little ones in our party. Her assistant whose name I'm sorry I don't remember was very helpful. When we left, there were hugs all around and we took pictures too. While it's not exactly by the sea, it's on a very quiet street and is a nice little walk to a boating pier (look out for the friendly seal!). There is a nice Ethiopian restaurant called the Blue Nile nearby too. If you're leaving in the morning to go to Port Angeles, make sure to make a reservation for the ferry. That way you can enjoy the great breakfast and not have to rush to be the last one squeezed in. ILona is also refurbishing the deck to make it more comfortable for her guests. All in all, a very nice, comfortable stay and I would go back!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank catgirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2008

My new bride and I were looking for a cozy, relaxing place to stay that would have lots of great amenities but still be rather reasonable for our budget. I read one scathing review of Hemingways on this site, but all the other reviews were very good, and the rates were very reasonable compared to other B&Bs in the Victoria area, and the room (Hemingways Suite) had everything I was looking for. So I called and booked my 5 night stay. The innkeeper, Ilona, was very helpful, and I was actually delighted to hear a German accent! Amber and I are non-drinkers, and Ilona of course switched the champagne in our package for something non-alcoholic.
We had a beautiful wedding on April 5th, and arrived at Hemingways the next day. The whole honeymoon was a surprise for Amber, and she was delighted as we drove up and were welcomed inside, and I was very relieved and surprised :-) The room was spacious, had a walk-in closet, a huge two-person tub with double showerheads, and the most water pressure I've ever experienced! The decorations in the room were tasteful, and gave the whole room a lovely ambiance. The meals in the morning were more than enough to eat (a big plus in my book!) and delicious. We had crepes, french toast, egg dishes, and always with a large selection of fruit, tea, coffee, homemade wheat bread, jam, etc.
Ilona was so helpful with sight-seeing plans and showing us on the map which routes to take for a more scenic trip. We were more than pleased in every way with her hospitality and company. However, she was very careful to give a honeymooning couple as much space and alone time as they wanted. She has been there at Hemingways for 10 years this year, and we could very much see that she loves people and loves what she does.
I was pleased to find that the bad review of Hemingways was very flawed and due to misunderstanding on the part of the people who wrote it. There are just some people that are impossible to please. Ilona was very respectful of our privacy, room service was provided, and there is a placard in the bathroom explaining how room service is conducted. There are two thermostats in the room, and wood was provided if we wanted to have a fire.
Hemingways was only a 5 minute stroll to McCauly Point, a harbor and park with a walking trail right along the ocean and only 3 minute drive to Saxe Point, a beautiful park with lots of trails and flowerbeds, right on the ocean. Blockbuster, Pizza Hut, Pizza Factory, A&W, Quiznos, and several very nice restaurants were only about 3-10 minute drive.
We had a wonderful time, and hope that this review might help you in your decision.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JacobThrelkeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

I had been wanting to visit friends in Victoria for a long time and finally had some time free so booked it for January.

I chose Hemingways by the Sea after having it recommended to me by my friends. I checked out the website and I have to say I was not disappointed! The weather was not nice but the room was cozy and warm with a lovely fireplace. My stay began with a hot cup of tea brought to me by the owner, and she also provided me with all the information I needed on what to see and do in Victoria. I found her to be most welcoming, friendly and hospitable!

One of the highlights had to be the breakfast - I had a delicious cheese omellete, fresh fruit, a choice of delicious breads and jams the first day and a fabulous crepe with fruit the next day. The coffee was European - lots of flavour and freshly made!

Although renovations were underway, it did not impact my stay at all. In fact, I can't wait to see the upgrades when I return during a warmer season!

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank Barbie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

This Bed and Breakfast is owned by a woman who's character is an integral part of your stay. The bed and breakfast itself is excellently maintained. The place is spotless, and you get a real sense that there is a lot of love poured into it. The owner, is more than helpful and her passion for what she does is invigorating. The location is a little bit out of the main action area but if you have a car it is no problem. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for something a little bit different, it is not just 'a roof over your head', it is a place where one woman fills the space with her life (literally)
Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delilah-Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Hannelore v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: De hemingway room is de grootste met eigen badkamer en toilet
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
280 reviews
James Bay
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#27 of 92 in Victoria
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
484 reviews
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $121 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing