We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$278
$234
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$178
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zed(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$136
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
85
22
8
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
22
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bernest hemingwayprivate bathroomdowntown victoriaprivacycomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 121 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a charming place. Just a block to two from the sound with a pleasant park to picnic in. It was about 4 blocks from the bus line to downtown Victoria. This was a boon for someone who drove route 3 across BC. Madame Ilona went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. If you miss Hemmingway's by the Sea you miss the best part of Victoria, BC.
Bonnie & Leo-Chicago

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you Bonnie and Leo for the nice comments about our B&B. We are so glad that we were able to make your stay in Victoria memorable. We work hard to make sure our guests thoroughly enjoy themselves, so when guests take time to respond, we really appreciate it. Thanks. Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Love this place, Ilona was a great hostess and made the most wonderful breakfast. It was easy to find and quite. Would recommend to everyone, couples and families, Ilona was very accommodating to our needs and we had a family of four. Ilona was very knowledgeable about the area and had a lot of great ideas for day trips while there. I recommend you call her first to help you plan your vacation to Victoria, she can help you plan everything out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Public Relations Manager at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company too! It is so nice to hear such supportive comments as we do try very hard to look after our guests. It is most appreciative when guests take time to let us know. Thanks, Ilona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My experience at Hemmingway’s By the Sea was comfortable, warm and restful.
Our hostess provided us with a large clean suite, tastefully decorated in period style and a large balcony. The view was breathtaking of the sea, large trees and a beautiful garden. Ilona provided us with Interesting historical facts of the house and adjoining buildings. We had an abundant, healthy breakfast in the elegant dining room. The food, china, crystal and cotton embroidered napkins made the experience feel as if we were in 19th century England.
Our hostess was generous, thoughtful and a pleasure to be with. She exhibited an excellent example of customer service and professionalism in the hospitality business.
For a quiet, clean and comfortable stay I highly recommend this delightful Inn.

Room Tip: The Hemmingway suite was lovely. The entire Inn was quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOuise888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Recommending our Inn to other people is the best compliment we can get. Many thanks! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Hemingways by the Sea was a delightful experience. We were treated so warmly and our every need attended to. Ilona knows Vancouver Island very well and was very knowledgeable in helping us plan our travel itinerary. Hemingways was close to everything and very convenient to come and go from. The breakfasts are very good and the room cozy. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

lovely location with excellent breakfast and interesting anecdotes of the past
very delightful stay
thank you

Room Tip: all seem to be at the same level
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasDerDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews