We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #24 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Little Falls, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Love this place, Ilona was a great hostess and made the most wonderful breakfast. It was easy to find and quite. Would recommend to everyone, couples and families, Ilona was very accommodating to our needs and we had a family of four. Ilona was very knowledgeable about the area and had a lot of great ideas for day trips while there. I recommend you call her first to help you plan your vacation to Victoria, she can help you plan everything out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Public Relations Manager at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company too! It is so nice to hear such supportive comments as we do try very hard to look after our guests. It is most appreciative when guests take time to let us know. Thanks, Ilona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
66
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My experience at Hemmingway’s By the Sea was comfortable, warm and restful.
Our hostess provided us with a large clean suite, tastefully decorated in period style and a large balcony. The view was breathtaking of the sea, large trees and a beautiful garden. Ilona provided us with Interesting historical facts of the house and adjoining buildings. We had an abundant, healthy breakfast in the elegant dining room. The food, china, crystal and cotton embroidered napkins made the experience feel as if we were in 19th century England.
Our hostess was generous, thoughtful and a pleasure to be with. She exhibited an excellent example of customer service and professionalism in the hospitality business.
For a quiet, clean and comfortable stay I highly recommend this delightful Inn.

Room Tip: The Hemmingway suite was lovely. The entire Inn was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOuise888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Recommending our Inn to other people is the best compliment we can get. Many thanks! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Hemingways by the Sea was a delightful experience. We were treated so warmly and our every need attended to. Ilona knows Vancouver Island very well and was very knowledgeable in helping us plan our travel itinerary. Hemingways was close to everything and very convenient to come and go from. The breakfasts are very good and the room cozy. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle Gran Rey, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

lovely location with excellent breakfast and interesting anecdotes of the past
very delightful stay
thank you

Room Tip: all seem to be at the same level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasDerDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our last stay in Canada after à three week holiday. THE warm welcome by Ilona and her caring way of hospitality was warm and wonderfull. Her breakfast was even more surprising! She is a magigan in her kitchen!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We are super glad we could make your visit to Canada complete. It was a pleasure to have you visit our B&B. Thanks for your most generous comments. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ilona was very gracious, warm and friendly. We had a wonderful time at her b&b and Victoria. Her breakfasts were tasty and delicious and She is an excellent cook. We loved to hear the seagulls. Ilona knows Victoria and was very helpful suggesting nice places to visit. We would go back to this warm, cozy Hemingways by the Sea.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbugs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed two nights in Ilona's B&B Hemingways by the Sea. We had a luxourious room with a lot of space. Ilona is a very friendly host and gives good advice where to go; a must go is Butchard Garden and a walk into town via the foot path close by the B&B. Finaly, Ilona serves an excellent breakfast. We would advice our friends to go here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
I am so glad that you feel so good about your stay at my B&B. We try so hard to make our guests happy. It is so exciting when a guest takes time to tell us so. Thanks a million. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Island Suites
#33 of 92 in Victoria
15 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
452 reviews
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#25 of 92 in Victoria
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing