We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My mother and I only stayed there one night and we wished it was for more. They were so welcoming and personable. Sue worked previously in human resources and her husband worked in the hotel industry so they were just perfect for a B&B. The B&B was clean and cute and we really enjoyed our stay. We will definitely return. Sue was so gracious in recommending restaurants for dinner and where to wander about in town. We ended up eating at the Tapa Bar, which was delish, and then walked around the harbour. We saw the Parliment building, which is lit up by white lights at night, and a famous hotel which is also lit up, but more colorfully. In the morning we had a yummy breakfast. We had a yogurt parfait and then a baked egg and croisant dish. YUM! When we left we got hugs and she took a picture of us for her hotel book in front of the B&B. I hate to give a negative after all that but the bed was so hard that I contemplated moving to the couch in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    10
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
117
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sue and Zen are such gracious hosts. They don't miss a detail in their effort to make you feel at home. Sue made sure we were settled in nicely and gave us great recommendations of restaurants for lunch and dinner. The house is beautiful and their garden is not to be missed. Our room was nicely appointed with a huge whirlpool tub, king sized bed and a wonderful view of the garden. Sue is a culinary artist (I asked her if she would come home with us!) The breakfasts she prepared were so beautiful I really thought twice about eating them but I can assure you I ate every bite.
This was our first trip to Victoria and if we ever get the opportunity to go again we will certainly stay at Across the Harbour B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjohnson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a whole week in this beautiful home and were treated like valued friends. Upon arrival, Sue gave us a lovely glass of wine and an orientation about Victoria, including spots we wouldn't have found on our own. For the entire week, Sue and Zen were never too busy to chat or offer advice when we asked for it. We were in the Orca room - very warm and peaceful colours and great bed. The breakfasts in the heated patio room were incredible. From there you have a great view of the bay! Sue is a true chef and the abundance of delicious food started every day off right. This home is immaculate and their dedication to their guests is well beyond what we have experienced in many other B&Bs. We loved their dog, Rundle, a friendly lab, who usually stayed with his owners, but sometimes came out to say hi. Sue and Zen even gave us a very unexpected but wonderful surprise gift when they found out it was our anniversary. These are super people with a talent for making others feel cared for and relaxed. We thank them for a fabulous vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldreamer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent three nights at Zen and Sue's wonderful B & B. The room was wonderfully appointed with a large jetted tub, separate shower and a very comfy bed. Everything was spotless. Sue gave us a great orientation upon arrival and they both were helpful with recommendations during our stay. The heated breakfast room is beautiful with a fabulous view of the harbor and Victoria. We enjoyed the walk to Victoria and the boat ride back. Sue and Zen are great hosts and show great care for all of there guests. The breakfasts were truly wonderful. The presentation was always very unique and the flavor was exquisite. We cannot recommend this property enough. If you are in Victoria you MUST try to get a room at Across the Harbour Bed & Breakfast. You will love it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We stayed on the main floor in the Blue Heron room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonDallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this B&B, in the Blue Heron Room, and our experience couldn't have been better. On arrival, we were greeted warmly by Sue and Zen, and then, over a glass of wine on the beautiful heated patio, Sue gave us a really useful orientation about the B&B and info on Victoria and region; definitely a nice touch.
The Blue Heron room is spacious, tastefully decorated, and looks on to a very pretty flower-filled garden. The King bed is super comfy. I had some initial reservations about being on the first floor, next to the front entrance, but I needn't have worried. The room was really quiet, very private, and I slept perfectly. Don't hesitate for a moment about booking this beautiful room (the big jacuzzi tub is a bonus).
The breakfasts are not only huge and tasty, they are also works of art. You can tell that Sue puts in tremendous effort in their preparation.
Across the Harbour B&B is only a 5 minute drive from downtown, but you should really take the time to do the 30-40 minute sea side walk. It's easy, flat, and has wonderful scenery.
Best of all, Sue and Zen are gracious hosts and just really nice people. The next time we come to Victoria, we'll be staying at this B&B.

Room Tip: They all seem good. Blue Heron is spacious, has a very comfortable King bed, big tub, and pretty vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binderdundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

If we could give a rating of TEN we would. Sue and Zen are both outstanding hosts who make you feel special and well cared for. The excellent breakfasts are beautifully presented. Very relaxing and comfortable. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VE7CKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had an incredible stay with our hosts Sue and Zen. The BnB is immaculate with comfortable rooms and an outstanding view. It is an easy walk to downtown Victoria along the waterfront or a water taxi is handy as well. Our hosts were extremely friendly and provided first hand recommendations for attractions and local eateries. The most amazing feature of this gem is the breakfast. Sue is an outstanding cook who provided top notch, delicious breakfasts not unlike those found in high end restaurants. She was attentive to food allergies and food presentation. We highly recommend this BnB experience!
Bell's & Renz's

Room Tip: Each room are of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorib814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 93 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 485 Head St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our contemporary west coast home overlooking Victoria's outer harbour on the quiet side of Victoria. Relax in your private guest room with 3 of our 4 rooms offering king size beds, jetted tubs and fireplaces. Each of our tastefully appointed rooms offers TV/DVD player, complimentary wireless internet and ensuite bathroom. Enjoy artfully prepared breakfast in our harbour-view breakfast room. Browse our complimentary DVD library and enjoy popcorn, bottled water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple cider anytime. From our door, stroll the picturesque ocean walkway to town or in-season, hop a water taxi and experience the Inner Harbour by boat. Complimentary on-site parking is provided. Sea kayaking rentals are right next door and scenic bicycle trails are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing