We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lisa”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My Husband & I stayed at the B & B Aug 2012 for several nights. Our hosts provided great recommendations on restaurants & sites of the city. We could walk to Victoria from the B & B along the harbor following a great pathway. Oh, and the breakfast was wonderful. Our room was comfortable & quiet. This is where we will stay when we visit again. Sue & Zen were great hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    10
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
117
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I spent the best weekend with Sue and Zen. It started with a wonderful overview of Victoria's downtown and great tips on getting around easily. We had the Orca room, which was very nice and BIG. Our breakfasts were "to die for". Absolutely loved them. You have to say hi to Rundle, too. We want to come back and definetly spend more than a couple of days.
Darla and Erik S

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acrosstheharbour, Innkeeper at Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Rundle says thanks with a big WOOF ... We loved having you and we all look forward to your return visit...Woof, Woof......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I had a quiet get-away at Across the Harbour. The room was wonderful, Sue and Zen were wonderful, and the breakfast was fantastic! Such a lovely location, captivating view and beautiful garden - close to downtown but away from the hustle and bustle. Highly recommended - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family of 4 (husband, wife, and 18- and 20-year old sons) stayed at Across the Harbor last week for 4 days. Not only was the place beautiful, clean, well kept, and comfortable, but Zen and Sue are the best hosts we have ever had. To quote one of my sons, "They are both crazy nice."
More detail:
This is a small B&B with 2 rooms on the first floor (along with the owners' apartment) and 2 on the top floor. Outside there is a lovely little garden with places to sit, and upstairs there is an open-air room that is used for breakfast that is also open to guests all day. It is a lovely place to have a late afternoon tea while watching the harbor or to place a post-breakfast board game with one of the many games they stock the room with.
Speaking of stocking, Sue and Zen think of everything to make your stay comfortable. When you arrive, Sue will show you around, and there is everything. They keep bottled water in the common room fridge for guests to take. There is coffee and tea and even microwave popcorn and a microwave for a snack. There are games, music, and well-cared for, up-to-date notebooks of things to do and best restaurants. In the room, there are ginger snap cookies, candles, and matches, as well as comfy well-decorated rooms with clean, lovely furniture. Our room had an in-bath jacuzzi, and there were even bath salts for that.
As for recommendations, we found that Sue's advice was worth heeding. Everything she suggested was wonderful. And don't dare mention you are thinking of something unless you want her to make the reservation for you. She and Zen truly attend to your every need.
Each morning we were greeted with a homemade, delicious 2-course breakfast that began with something with fresh fruit and yogurts (Sue's creations included a crepe, a parfait, and something with caramelized sugar) followed by an egg creation that includes meat and cheese - though if you mention any food preferences, as we did, Sue will customize - she made 3 different kinds of egg things the one morning we had a full house: 3 veggie, 2 with ham sausage, and 3 with turkey sausage).
The B&B is, as the name suggests, located across the harbor from downtown. That is the only drawback if you want to be able to walk everywhere. Since we did not want to be in downtown and often were driving out of the city, it did not make a difference to us. One morning my husband and I headed out whale watching and our sons were left to fend for themselves in finding a bike place. Well, they certainly didn't fend for themselves. Zen found a place AND then drove them there. (That was what prompted the above-quoted comment by my son.)
Overall, my family loved Victoria - which is not for people who like a night-life - and we truly believe that it wouldn't have been the same without Sue and Zen's care of us and their wonderful place.
If you are looking for a warm, comfortable, charming place with engaged innkeepers who will help you in every way possible (including helping us wash bird poop off our car), this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Talk to Sue. She'll give you the low-down. Personally, I like being on the second floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieKBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acrosstheharbour, Innkeeper at Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous review. We are so happy you have such fond memories of your stay with us. We think of the laughter drifting down the stairs from the breakfast room as you played our "secret weapon of a great game". Loved the great stories you shared daily of your adventures in Victoria as you all made special memories of your time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed for a week at this B & B. All I can say is OMG, the breakfasts second to none. I never had to plan on lunch. Sustaining,and always a picture perfect presentation. The bed comfortable and rooms, roomy. Hosts Zen and Sue friendly and helpful on knowing where to go and what to do.
I would never stay anywhere else. I don't know how they do it! Compared to many others I have stayed in Canada and US, this by far is the BEST ever. Love u guys. Coming back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
Sandy/Toronto

Room Tip: On this B & B, all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineryFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

From the first time I spoke to Sue on the phone, I felt like she was welcoming her own friends. Sue and Zen were terrific hosts! They spent time chatting with us and helping us to plan our time in Victoria, providing maps and recommendations of things to see and do, of which there are many in this charming city! Great location, about a 40 minute walk along the water from downtown. Nice to be out of the hub bub. A water taxi is nearby, if you prefer not to walk. The breakfasts were outstanding, truly a work of art. Sue very kindly catered to my husband's gluten free needs. The coffee was excellent. She went out of her way to make everything beautiful and pleasing, from homemade cookies in our room to welcome us, to fresh flowers on the breakfast table, to immaculate cleanliness. Our room looked out onto the most lovely garden. The bed was extremely comfortable. We definitely recommend Across the Harbor and hope to return soon ourselves!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Heron. It is on the first floor and has a magnificent view of the backyard gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a find! We found this B and B on the internet, and were certain it would be great when we talked with Sue on the phone. We weren't disappointed! Sue and Zen were very welcoming and always helpful. Our room was beautiful and very comfy. The breakfast room was absolutely lovely, overlooking the marina, and the breakfasts were amazing. We also discovered a new part of Victoria, and enjoyed the lovely walkway that took us along the water's edge to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjrGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 485 Head St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our contemporary west coast home overlooking Victoria's outer harbour on the quiet side of Victoria. Relax in your private guest room with 3 of our 4 rooms offering king size beds, jetted tubs and fireplaces. Each of our tastefully appointed rooms offers TV/DVD player, complimentary wireless internet and ensuite bathroom. Enjoy artfully prepared breakfast in our harbour-view breakfast room. Browse our complimentary DVD library and enjoy popcorn, bottled water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple cider anytime. From our door, stroll the picturesque ocean walkway to town or in-season, hop a water taxi and experience the Inner Harbour by boat. Complimentary on-site parking is provided. Sea kayaking rentals are right next door and scenic bicycle trails are nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing