We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a find! We found this B and B on the internet, and were certain it would be great when we talked with Sue on the phone. We weren't disappointed! Sue and Zen were very welcoming and always helpful. Our room was beautiful and very comfy. The breakfast room was absolutely lovely, overlooking the marina, and the breakfasts were amazing. We also discovered a new part of Victoria, and enjoyed the lovely walkway that took us along the water's edge to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjrGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

My fiance and I had booked two nights at Across the Harbour while we were on our first visit to Victoria and we loved it so much we extended our stay for an additional night :)

The location was perfect for us- it was far enough from town to be peaceful but close enough so that we didn't think twice about taking a walk or water taxi into town. Also, just up the street was a pizza place, liquor store, pharmacy and aTim Hortons so quite a bit nearby if you felt like staying close to the B&B.

The house is beautiful- we had the Kingfisher room and it was cleaner than any hotel room we have ever stayed in, plus there were lots of personal touches that made it feel homey at the same time (loved the fresh-baked ginger cookies every day).

Breakfast...... we cannot say enough about breakfast. Sue's meal were gourmet, presented beautifully and good-size portions as well. My only complaint was that my fiance kept asking why I don't make breakfast like that at home (thanks Sue).

Sue and Zen were great! Very helpful as to where to go and what to see and you can tell that they really go above and beyond for their guests. We will be back next time we are in Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcm154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

One note: be aware that all the negative reviews below are years old and from previous owners of this property, so pay no mind...

My wife and I stayed with Sue and Zen back in June, and wow is this place perfect. Very affordable, and you will not feel more welcome anywhere. We were treated to delicious local beer as soon as we arrived, nice private rooms with lovely jetted tubs. About a 30min walk from downtown on the beautiful harbour walking path, and we biked in from the ferry in about 15min. You also have Spinnakers about half way between the B&B and downtown for drinks. The breakfasts were amazing, with both sweet and savory courses, you will not need to worry about getting lunch. We really enjoyed the communal breakfasts, sitting with all the other guests, made for wonderful chatty mornings.

An example of what wonderful Sue and Zen are as hosts, since we were on our bikes and had a day to spend in town, Sue actually met us at the ferry terminal to drop off our bags! Now THAT is hospitality.
You must stay here, I know we will any time we are in Vic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Really enjoyed being at this B & B. Sue was very charming and gracious and does she know how to cook- gourmet breakfasts every morning. I enjoyed the comfortable ambiance and helpful attention I recieved from the hosts. A handy location, close to everything.
Can't go wrong here!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank jillynilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Close to downtown, on the walking path, with great views and Sue- one of the best innkeepers we've come across. She sat us down with a map right away, and let us know the best way to get to everything we wanted to see, the locals favorate places to dine, and some don't miss gems that you may not otherwise learn about. The room was large, well cared for, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Across the Harbour was a real find … we loved it! Sue and Zen were the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced. Breakfasts were over the top beautiful and delicious. If you are looking for suggestions on places to eat, shop or visit Sue is the travel guide with maps and fliers. We took this adventure without a plan and our days just came together to see it all with Sue’s assistance. The location of the B&B is right on the harbor with a wonderful view from the upstairs outdoor dining room. You have breakfast there, can play cards or games, drink a cup of tea or wine or just relax and watch the boats. You can easily walk to town (about 40 minutes), take a water taxi ($20 pp) or drive. We had to catch an early ferry & flight and Sue was so kind she packed us to go breakfast for us to take. We will definitely be back as it was a very relaxing and fun vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I spent a night here last week. We arrived in the evening and Sue received us and showed us around. We wanted to have a nice dinner in Victoria and Sue told us where the locals go and even made us a reservation and drove us downtown an hour before. The restaurant was excellent. We had a nice walk back (about 40 minutes along a charming waterfront walkway) and the room was very comfortable. The place is clean and very well kept up. Our bathroom looked new. The next day, we wanted to spend the day at Butchart Gardens. We had been promised a shuttle by the tour service but on the day they explained that the shuttle only went as far as the bridge. No problem though, Sue again drove us into town. She also drove into town that afternoon to meet us with our bags at the ferry terminal. We will stay with Sue and Zen the next time we're in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 485 Head St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5S1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $102 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our contemporary west coast home overlooking Victoria's outer harbour on the quiet side of Victoria. Relax in your private guest room with 3 of our 4 rooms offering king size beds, jetted tubs and fireplaces. Each of our tastefully appointed rooms offers TV/DVD player, complimentary wireless internet and ensuite bathroom. Enjoy artfully prepared breakfast in our harbour-view breakfast room. Browse our complimentary DVD library and enjoy popcorn, bottled water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple cider anytime. From our door, stroll the picturesque ocean walkway to town or in-season, hop a water taxi and experience the Inner Harbour by boat. Complimentary on-site parking is provided. Sea kayaking rentals are right next door and scenic bicycle trails are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing