We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel right at home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
Summerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feel right at home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Really enjoyed being at this B & B. Sue was very charming and gracious and does she know how to cook- gourmet breakfasts every morning. I enjoyed the comfortable ambiance and helpful attention I recieved from the hosts. A handy location, close to everything.
Can't go wrong here!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jillynilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    10
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
117
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Close to downtown, on the walking path, with great views and Sue- one of the best innkeepers we've come across. She sat us down with a map right away, and let us know the best way to get to everything we wanted to see, the locals favorate places to dine, and some don't miss gems that you may not otherwise learn about. The room was large, well cared for, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas , NV
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Across the Harbour was a real find … we loved it! Sue and Zen were the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced. Breakfasts were over the top beautiful and delicious. If you are looking for suggestions on places to eat, shop or visit Sue is the travel guide with maps and fliers. We took this adventure without a plan and our days just came together to see it all with Sue’s assistance. The location of the B&B is right on the harbor with a wonderful view from the upstairs outdoor dining room. You have breakfast there, can play cards or games, drink a cup of tea or wine or just relax and watch the boats. You can easily walk to town (about 40 minutes), take a water taxi ($20 pp) or drive. We had to catch an early ferry & flight and Sue was so kind she packed us to go breakfast for us to take. We will definitely be back as it was a very relaxing and fun vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I spent a night here last week. We arrived in the evening and Sue received us and showed us around. We wanted to have a nice dinner in Victoria and Sue told us where the locals go and even made us a reservation and drove us downtown an hour before. The restaurant was excellent. We had a nice walk back (about 40 minutes along a charming waterfront walkway) and the room was very comfortable. The place is clean and very well kept up. Our bathroom looked new. The next day, we wanted to spend the day at Butchart Gardens. We had been promised a shuttle by the tour service but on the day they explained that the shuttle only went as far as the bridge. No problem though, Sue again drove us into town. She also drove into town that afternoon to meet us with our bags at the ferry terminal. We will stay with Sue and Zen the next time we're in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 4 great nights with Sue and Zen and would heartily recommend them. Across the Harbour is within walking distance of the centre of Victoria ( took us about 40 mins) and you get a great view of the harbour from their breakfast room.

If or when we get back to Victoria, we'll certainly stay there again.

Thanks, both

Mike & Chris J

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 romantic nights here, and we would have to say that Across The Harbour is the best bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed at. Zen and Sue treated us like part of their family. They went above and beyond pampering us with everything from booking our fabulous fishing trip, to their exquisite breakfasts, to their quaint extra special touches. We found their hospitality so family like that we even called them "mom and dad." The location was perfect, right in the middle of all the excitement at the harbour. There is even a nice romantic boardwalk around the harbour. The B & B was very clean as well. We will definitely recommend this B & B to all of our family and friends, and we will be back to visit again.
Les and Sherry B

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Across the Harbour. Sue and Zen are great hosts. The convenient location made it easy to see a variety of Victoria sites. Walking along the trail that begins beside the B&B and goes along the ocean to downtown Victoria was a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Room is very romantic and has a two-person jet tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acrosstheharbour, Manager at Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks SO much! Loved having you! We look forward to welcoming you again and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your friends and families too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 94 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 485 Head St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our contemporary west coast home overlooking Victoria's outer harbour on the quiet side of Victoria. Relax in your private guest room with 3 of our 4 rooms offering king size beds, jetted tubs and fireplaces. Each of our tastefully appointed rooms offers TV/DVD player, complimentary wireless internet and ensuite bathroom. Enjoy artfully prepared breakfast in our harbour-view breakfast room. Browse our complimentary DVD library and enjoy popcorn, bottled water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple cider anytime. From our door, stroll the picturesque ocean walkway to town or in-season, hop a water taxi and experience the Inner Harbour by boat. Complimentary on-site parking is provided. Sea kayaking rentals are right next door and scenic bicycle trails are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Across the Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing