We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, good value and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed on the third floor, had a standard room for a good rate. Bed was firm but had a good sleep anyway. Front desk was very helpful in providing tips and things to do. Will go again in the future! Because of the great location, we had access to everything downtown within a 2 minutes walk for the most part.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whistlerite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for talking about our great staff I will be sure to pass along your kind words. Please ask for me on your next visit to Victoria so I can personaly thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 456 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights there and felt not bad. Great location in downtown with resonable price and the staff is friendly there as well. If there is better wifi connection and also water kettle in the room, it would be prefect!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrianTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank for for your comments. We are always tring to improve our WiFi as technology improves we are getting better signals to hotel rooms. The new routers are now more friendly towards Apple products and that is helping with better service also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I got a smokin' good deal for the room and was very happy. The hotel is right downtown and is about 5 minutes walk to the Parliament buildings, provincial museum (must see), and the Bug Zoo (awesome if you have kids with you or, like me, find bugs fascinating).

This is an older hotel with high ceilings but smallish rooms. My room was in the third floor and quiet (There is a club in the basement which I could not hear but I don't know what a weekend would be like). It was clean, had a very comfortable bed and full bath with tub, TV, table and chair. My room was non- smoking as, I believe, the whole hotel is. The staff was lovely.

There are several food service options accessible from the lobby, while there is no room service I went down and got a nice beef dip for the Sticky Wicket (well known Pub in town). Ice was retrieved from their private liquor store, which as a bonus gave me an opportunity to discover the best Scotch Whiskey selection I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Auntbeast. Thank you for your very kind comments about Victoria, the Strathcona Hotel, the Sticky Wicket Pub and yes the finest selection of whiskys to be found in Victoria at the Strath Ale Wine and Spirit Menrchants. I will pass your comments along to all the staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed three nights in the strathcona hotel. Partly in the weekend.
Our stay was ok and as expected since we knew about the possible noise. It was at that time the best possible choice for our budget.
Rooms are ok. Sometimes bit dark but at least clean. Breakfast is next door in the pub and was a buffet, also ok.
We would not recommend to stay there in the weekend since the next door pub is then fully crowded and lots of people hang around (on the street, in the corridors of the hotel) and make a lot of noise. One night we even had 7 drunk youngsters in front of our hotel room banging on the door. Next morning we informed the reception and we got a new room without extra charge (other room was much bigger).
Overall not really recommendable but when you are on a budget, place is ok. Great advantage is the central location and the free parking lot (although not next to the hotel, on 2min distance.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarijeK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Marije, Thank you yot your comments and I am plesaed our desk staff relocated you for the second night. I hope yopu enjoyrd ypur stay in our beatiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our third stay at the Strathcona. We knew that it can be a little noisy and that it has the basics. We got a great rate that included breakfast, car parking, a $20 food and beverage voucher and a Queen room. It was supposed to be a premium queen room, but there is nothing premium about it. It was a very basic room with a queen sized bed, but clean and tidy.

Room Tip: No rooms have air conditioning and the nice bright ones on the main street are noisy!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Mere50, Yes location, location and the great value for our location. Thank you for taking time to comment about the Strathcona Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I picked this hotel because I needed two rooms and the price was unbeatable. I was travelling with my 28 year old son and his girlfriend who were looking to enjoy the Victoria night life. This hotel was perfect for both of us. The room rate allowed us to have two separate rooms (still worked out cheaper than most other hotels). The location is perfect as mentioned in other reviews. The "kids" really enjoyed the area and the nightlife. I Parked the car for $10 and walked to everything.
The rooms are small and dated, but clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very professional and pleasant. I was using the computer in the lobby and was able to witness their customer service over an extended period of time and was amazed how they were able to maintain such a pleasant attitude when guests asked very stupid questions and even complained about the weather! Geez people it is October in Canada! If you are looking for a great deal in a classic hotel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the volleyball court. Quiet, but there was nothing going on...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Sarah, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Victoria and tjhe Strathcona Hotel. Yes we have a great location close to the Inner Harbour and Downtown shopping and restarants. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perfect for our high standards on a medium budget. Location is great for a 20 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and plenty of places to enjoy coffee or food close by. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms roomy and clean - would book again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARAH Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#20 of 49 in Victoria
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $68 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing