We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our third stay at the Strathcona. We knew that it can be a little noisy and that it has the basics. We got a great rate that included breakfast, car parking, a $20 food and beverage voucher and a Queen room. It was supposed to be a premium queen room, but there is nothing premium about it. It was a very basic room with a queen sized bed, but clean and tidy.

Room Tip: No rooms have air conditioning and the nice bright ones on the main street are noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Mere50, Yes location, location and the great value for our location. Thank you for taking time to comment about the Strathcona Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    156
    137
    41
    48
See reviews for
68
202
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I picked this hotel because I needed two rooms and the price was unbeatable. I was travelling with my 28 year old son and his girlfriend who were looking to enjoy the Victoria night life. This hotel was perfect for both of us. The room rate allowed us to have two separate rooms (still worked out cheaper than most other hotels). The location is perfect as mentioned in other reviews. The "kids" really enjoyed the area and the nightlife. I Parked the car for $10 and walked to everything.
The rooms are small and dated, but clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very professional and pleasant. I was using the computer in the lobby and was able to witness their customer service over an extended period of time and was amazed how they were able to maintain such a pleasant attitude when guests asked very stupid questions and even complained about the weather! Geez people it is October in Canada! If you are looking for a great deal in a classic hotel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the volleyball court. Quiet, but there was nothing going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sarah, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Victoria and tjhe Strathcona Hotel. Yes we have a great location close to the Inner Harbour and Downtown shopping and restarants. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perfect for our high standards on a medium budget. Location is great for a 20 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and plenty of places to enjoy coffee or food close by. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms roomy and clean - would book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was greatly dissappointed with the service of the front office staff and after suggesting I was to post on Trip Advisor, the comments of the front office Manager was simply "you go ahead and post wherever you want".
Our group booked 7 rooms in total. The room I stayed in was 511. Top floor. We checked in on a Friday at about 5pm. The room was warm, and only one small fan was provided. The windows only opened up 4 inches, which did not allow for much circulation, but we assumed that the buidling ventilation system and open windows would cool the room - after all, we paid for the PREMIUM ROOM and we not warned of "extra warm accomodations" at the front desk.
After an evening out I returned to a very hot room about 11pm. The room became progressively more unbearable through the night. At 3am in a room that was at aprox. 28 degrees Celcius or 82.5 Farenheit as I lied awake covered in sweat I decided to visit the front desk and request another room. At 3:30 I went to the front and was given room 202. It was on a lower floor and was slightly cooler. The window opened up as well which helped. I slept in there (or at least resided in the room) until aproximately 9am, where I returned to the original room.
At 9am the original room 511 had cooled somewhat, and we figured that if we kept the windows open blinds closed and fan on we could should be able to keep the room cooler. After all, we paid for the PREMIUM ROOM and we not warned of "extra warm accomodations" at the front desk.
However, when we returned to the room late that evening the room was hot again, and it would progressively get hotter through the night until about 4am when it started to cool.
At about 2:30am, I got up and had a cold shower, as did my two roomates. I would guess the temperature was aprox. 27 degrees Celsius or 81 Farenheit.
When we checked out Sunday, I was shocked to find a charge of $90.00 plus tax for the tiny room 202 I stayed in for 5.5 hours the first night. After complaining to the reception staff the rate was reduced to $50.00 plus taxes but that was all they would do. They would give no reduction on room 511.
Our room 511 was charged to us at $173.00 plus taxes and parking made it over $200 per night. A few days later I tried to get a hold of the manager - who was on holidays. Upon her return and discussion I was granted a credit of just over $50.00, just enough to cover my room 202 fees.
So it would appear that after we had paid two nights in the PREMIUM ROOM, a room that is near unbearable to sleep in, the hotel feels it is fair to charge 100% originally agreed upon fees, though has certainly not provided the service it would promise.
After reading trip advisor comments, it is clear that I am not the first to have voiced my concerns about the room temperatures. The guest does not know what the temperature of the rooms would be, nor how they would or would not cool/heat. It is not our responsibility, but the hotels to inform its guests of what may, or may not, be of discomfort in the rooms (in the middle of the night). At 9am... or 3pm for example, the room may be bearable. So at that time, we would not come down and request a different room. The request would happen at 3am, and it was claimed by the front office Manager that I myself am the ONLY GUEST TO EVER DO THIS.
The hotel should have provided our group with a credit, or reimbursal, as a way of compensating for the discomfort it placed upon us. We booked 7 rooms in total, and all 7 were HOT.
The ability to make amends with this guest is still open, once the Director of Sales chooses to respond. I would be happy to try the Strathcona Hotel again and give it the chance to receive a more positive review.
Rob Senger

Room Tip: Be prepared for a HOT ROOM
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warmwaterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of August. Having travelled to the Island by ferry, we were able to be dropped off outside the hotel by the express bus (70X) from the terminal. The hotel is very central and is one of the oldest in Victoria. Our top floor room afforded us views south to the US mountains. It was also very comfortable but did not have air conditioning. However, there was a fan and the window did open! Breakfast was good in a spacious bar area. We did not eat other meals in the hotel but it does have a number of bars in it. The position of the hotel meant that we were able to explore all of the interesting areas of Victoria on foot. The Inner Harbour is close as is Beacon Hill Park. There are plenty of places to eat: we chose the Swans Hotel which has a superb brewery attached to it. The Chinatown is small but had interesting restaurants too. We visited Butchart Gardens by catching the bus outside the hotel. We even managed to pick up the hire car from National just down the road instead of having to travel to the airport for it. All in all, a pleasant hotel in a really nice town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasonedtravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Seasoned Traveller. We are very pleased you enjoyed our wonderful city and your stay at the Strathcona Hotel. You stopped by many of the city's highlights but there are lots more to see so we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were very disappointed with our room and cancelled our second night there. Our room was on the fifth floor, hot and stuffy, and the window opened only a few inches. However, a fan was provided. The view would have been wonderful but the window was so dirty it wasn't attractive to look out. The carpets were dirty. The roof top night spot next door is loud but does drowns out the road noise. The continental breakfast was not very good. I like having coffee in my room and there isn't any here. One thing in its favor is the nice central location. We did not stay the second night I had booked. When I told them I was checking out early because our stay had been awful they didn't ask why. Luckily, they did not charge me for that second night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Patti, Thank you for your comments. I have talked to housekeepng and hotel maintanence regarding the carpets and windows. I do aplologise that we do not have coffee machines in the Hotel room but as we are an older building this was not planned for. We offer a very basic continental breakfast at no charge as we know our guests like to have a coffee in the morning. I hope the rest of your stay in Victoria was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

hi - all travellers should be aware that at check in the hotel will place a hold on your credit/debit card for the cost of your stay plus an additional $100, which they will tell you will be closed out when you pay your final account on departure - we fell for this and 12 days after having had the hold placed on our debit card and 10 days after paying the final account we still haven't had the original funds released back in to our account, so we have in effect paid twice plus an extra $100!!
to make matters worse the hotel are not making any effort to resolve the situation!

so if you want to pay twice for your stay then the strathcona is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
The policy for room deposit is stated on all reservation systems and confirmations. The fact is some banks do take longer to release credit card pre-authorizations than others. The guest was told on departure about the policy and once again when they called. We again stated this was an issue with her credit card company and that we did not charge twice for the accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 49 in Victoria
526 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing