We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here only one night but would have stayed more if I needed to. The room was lovely with old charming features. My only complaints would be the TV was too small to see well while lying in bed and the bed was a bit saggy in the middle. Other then that no problems! They even let us check in early. Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsbondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hello Windsor Ontario,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Victoria. We are updating our TV's floor by floorto work better with new technology.

Hope to see you again for a longer stay in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 460 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is very well situated for the harbour and central Victoria. The rooms are basic but breakfast is included with the room. Really our room needed a refurbishment, as did the hallway carpets, the bathroom. Everything looked very tired. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was held in the adjoining Sticky Wickett pub. If your room overlooks the beach volleyball and rooftop pub, be prepared for plenty of evening noise, especially in the summer months.
Our room could not pick up the free Internet, so I had to sit in the corridor to send e mails etc.
The room prices reflect this, I would be happy to pay a little more and to have basics, such as in room tea and coffee making facilities, better showers and a chair in the room would have been nice.
Great for encouraging us to get out and about.d

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Nigel, Thank you for your comments. we are working with our cable/internet supplier to improve our wi fi throughout the property. We do have larger rooms in the Hotel with fully renovated hotel rroms and bathrooms with seating areas. Please check with our reservation staff when booking your accommodations as at to the types of rooms and locations in the property that are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Strathcona in April 2013. We had been reluctant to stay here on previous visits due to the comments about loud guests. We asked for the quiet side of the hotel and had a great room - small but comfortable and clean. Never had any problem from noise either from inside or outside of the hotel. Location can't be beat. Close to everything downtown with restaurants and markets within a block. If you don't stay up late at night make sure you aren't overlooking the volleyball court and party area and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked on Hotel.com, we got a rate of 59.00 per night. The hotel has been partially renovated, but our room was not. It was clean, comfortable, provided free wi-fi, had everything that we needed, as we are not room dwellers, it was about the location. The staff was very courteous upon check in and out. Only down side, if there was one, is that they have no coffee for early risers available in the lobby or behind front desk. We had to go to 7-Eleven one block down, not a biggie, but would help if i didn't have to walk at 5:30 am to get a coffee. So close to the downtown core, totally walkable to most sights, very clean and affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are overlooking Douglas Street, very busy street, ours was facing east on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Barry, I will talk to the Front Desk Manager about have coffee available for the early birds. Good idea. Joel Chudleigh, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was booked through Bookings.com on sale. $55 per night. Ideal location on Douglas street, within close walking distance to harbour, bus depot, Empress hotel, parliament grounds,beacon hill park, tourist info.,great shops on Fort street and many restaurants. Hotel included breakfast which was good coffee and quantity of food, a bit lacking in variety. Room was sufficient but a bit lacking, no comfy chair or table...but for that price totally acceptable. For the younger crowd, nightlife was hopping right beside and below hotel. Would revisit again just because of location and helpful staff.
.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronda008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

the maid service was very spotty- one day the garbage was not cleaned out, another-they never even touched the room until after 4pm!
They provided a no-slip mat for the shower but took it away 2 days later!

Room Tip: Get one well away from the bars/night spots!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Mark, Thank you for your comments I will pass this along to housekeeping. We appreciare the time you took to comment about our property and we will improve our service thanks to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a tough one to review. It could be a "3" for some people and a "4" for others. The hotel is ideally located in the center of Vic. Easy walking distance from the Black Ball and Vic Clipper ferries. We were a group of five guys intent on enjoying the pubs and food and booked three rooms.

The rooms were clean and it seems as though the place has been remodeled in the last 5 yrs.

Getting back to the "certain types of travelers" This place is perfect if you want the center of town at a budget price and a lot of night life close by. Those who are seeking a quiet victorian experience, may be dissapointed as there are a lot of younger and exuberant types who stay here and it can get a little noisy. -Not frat-house fracas, just a little loud.

Though the rooms were clean, they do lack normal bath ammenities, coffee makers and reasonable towels. Seriously, the towels could be closely compared to under-funded, inner city high school locker room towels.

There are several fun bars associated with the hotel.
The "continental breakfast" was pretty lame: Orange juice, an unidentifiable amber colored juice, weak coffee, bagels, muffins and no fruit other than a bowl of apples and a bin of FrootLoops. Didn't seem like they tried too hard on breakie.

The staff were all pleasant; checking in and out was a breeze. I'd stay here again if it was a group situation, but if it was just me and my special lady friend; I'd opt for elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing