We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Can't understand why it's only 2 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel. Can't understand why it's only 2 stars!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Went with it based on good reviews but still surprised with how good it was for a 2 star hotel. It was easily a 3 star and a good one at that.

Free Breakfast of buffet cereals, bagel toast, juice etc was perfect for us

Very nicely decorated throughout and had a variety of nicely themed related pubs, bars within the complex along with the two beach volleyball courts. Smack in the middle of town.

Room was quite small but more than adequate and well furnished.

Excellent value

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simeon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    156
    137
    41
    48
See reviews for
68
202
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

First time staying here.... on a positive note, the location is awesome and the staff is friendly.... great nightlife right at the hotel.....but, yikes.....the room with 2 single beds is more like a closet! Laughed out loud when opening the door! If you're staying here....go for the 2 queen size beds.... TV channels were all fuzzy..... you can hear the party animals roaming the hallways.... No air conditioning, and couldn't open the window more then 1/2 inch because....I suppose, there are guests that would try jumping out of the window to the volleyball court??? Congested when woke up in the morning.... thinking probably the 1st and last time I'll stay there....

Room Tip: Get a larger room with 2 queen size beds....don't go for 2 singles.... you'll end up in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Our room was large and modern, we even had a couch and easy chair. We were here for a wedding and some of our friends did say their rooms were very small, so I think the room size is variable. Everything was sparkling clean and the staff was very friendly. There is no iron in the room, but the staff will bring an iron and board up to your room if you call them. The best part is that we only paid $90 a night!! (I think the smaller rooms are $80). I've paid so much more to stay in much shabbier places. The location is perfect. We took the Clipper to Victoria and we were able to walk to the hotel comfortably, even with our roller luggage. There is a liquor store and tons of fun restaurants and bars right in the hotel. The Wedding was in the hotel and it was lovely. The food was tasty and the staff did a very good job. The continental breakfast is free but wasn't quite satisfying enough so we did go out to breakfast after we got our free coffee and bagels. I would definitely stay here again if I was going to Victoria.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for one of the upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emidolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here once in the last year. The only reason was the price.The location is great and you can walk around the majority of downtown Victoria. That is the positive side to the place. The negative side is the rooms looked more like something you would find on the inside passage of a cruise ship. I actually laughed when I walked in the room. I have never stayed in a smaller hotel room in my life. The window faced Douglas street, right below the night club. The noise was unbelievably loud until about 3:00 in the morning. This is an old hotel and looks it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great location downtown and a nice fixed up older hotel. Food in pub which is very nice, is average. Continental breakfast - only bread and coffee - very meagre. Perhaps food in other restaurant better.
Nice helpful staff.

Room Tip: room we had very quiet - not a great view but no street noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We found this hotel by looking for cheap deals in downtown victoria and have been nicely surprised by the quality of the hotel. Yes, the hotel is old so it doesn't have all the creature comforts or the really nice feel of most modern north american hotels, but it is clean and has your basic amenities and a comfortable bed. Plus the location could not be better. Right on Douglas street you can pick up a bus to go anywhere on the island, you're a few minutes from the pretty buildings and the harbour and the Sticky Wicket (Pub/Restaurant) downstairs is fantastic! Great food and very reasonable prices.
Also, the complimentary breakfast offered by the hotel is "continental" but very substantial - we certainly had our fill. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a weekend Staycation to Vic. I know the pubs/clubs/bars in the Hotel better than the hotel and was surprised at how affordable it was for its proximity to DT and also its flavour.
Its a great venue featuring a bunch of really cool pubs/ bars. The sticky wicket is a great pub and Big Bads johns is something else entirely for a change of pace I suggest it highly.

The room was Small but clean and well equipped, it is not a HUGE room so I would suggest the 10$ upgrade toa superiro if you plan on spending any time in your room

Room Tip: Away from the elevators, get the upgraded room and ask about free parkin options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadAlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 49 in Victoria
526 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Strathcona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathcona Hotel is located ion the heart of downtown Victoria within walking distance of the Empress Hotel and Victoria Conference Centre, Royal BC Museum, Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing